We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,063 London hotels

The Academy

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Gower Street Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HG, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Leisure for longer
The Academy
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Academy to your Saves list
63%
Ranked #574 of 1,063 Hotels in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Dave B Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    172
    90
    49
    30
See reviews for
62
128
52
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (436)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (131)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (107)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (101)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 1 night having booked on late rooms. I was expecting classy but sadly that wasn't the case. From the radio blasting out pop music from magic fm to the tired and stained decor, this place really needs to get its act together as it could have been so much better. That said the room was spacious and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our property is of course an old Georgian building dating back to the 17th century hence the charm and character. I am however sorry that our hotel fell short of your expectations on this occasion. With regards to works being carried out, we have already made significant in... More

Williamstown, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed for 10 nights. The hotel was in the perfect location. My room was on the third floor in the back of the hotel and very private. The staff carried my bags up the stairs and the internet was good. Whenever I needed assistance, the staff was very responsive and kind. Due to the time of the year, the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. With the University College London (UCL) on our doorstep, it is indeed a very popular destination for academics. With a 2 minute walk to the front door of UCL and Goodge Street, Tottenham Court Road and Euston Tube stations all within walking distance, it makes perfect sense. Whilst... More

Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for 3 night and got a upgrate to a suite. The room was quiet ant the W-lan good. Staff was freindly and helpfull. The room was nicely furnished and quiet big for London. Unfortunatley there was no ketlle or Nespresso machine in the room. The hotel is close to the National museum and the Tube station. Wen did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our suite rooms are very generous in size as they are also used for families which is again a very popular feature for this part of London. During your next stay with us please try the breakfast - you will not be disappointed! Thank you once again for... More

Sheffield, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very helpful staff. Room booked as part of a "Show and Stay" deal was more than adequate. Beds were very comfortable. En-suite shower (no bath), plenty of hot water. Mini bar fridge tucked away in wardrobe was difficult to access, if only to chill our own beers in and it didn't chill them. Room was on the 3rd floor up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. The Show & Stay package bookable through a 3rd party agent is very popular with the West End on our doorstep and I am glad to see you found our location suitable for this purpose. Unfortunately due to the age of the building and the fact that it... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were excited about our stay at the hotel, however the standard did not measure up to the promise. Not by a long shot. The air conditioners in the wing we were allocated were out of order- so they put up mobile ones. Jumbo jets generate less noise. Rendering it impossible to actually sleep in the room. My collegue and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. We have a couple of rooms with portable air conditioning units at the moment as we are in the process of replacing all our old systems which I hope guests will find beneficial in... More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My stay at the hotel was only 1 night. The hotels location makes it a great place to stay for short trip to London. You are in the centre of London located just walking distance away from the very centre. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The single room I was staying at was convenient. But a little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As mentioned through a number of other reviews, our location is ideal for all travellers due to its positioning in relation to the university, Oxford Street, West End and all your major transporting links. We have a number of single rooms and they all vary in shape and... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a suite for a joint birthday weekend with my daughter, quite small, dark and stuffy as windows not easy to open (old sash style) beyond secondary sliding glazing. Air -con ok but better to have some fresh air occasionally in such a small room. Bathroom tiny but functional, toilet roll holder broken. Overall despite it being on a weekend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our Junior Suites, also used as family rooms, are normally well complimented for its space due to the high usage by families over weekends - 32 square meters. We are one of the only hotels in the area that actually offers family rooms without charging for two rooms... More

Fajara, Gambia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Academy hotel has "victorian" rooms with a touch of modernity. The room was warm and cozy making it easy to relax after a long day. The staff were with very helpful and professional and were always available to offer assistance. Located with in walking distance to the British museum, theatres and galleries the Academy is the ideal place to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. As highlighted through your review, we are indeed a very convenient accommodation option for business travellers with excellent transport links within walking distance and also having the West End on your door step. Thank you once again for your favourable review and feedback. Kind Regards Andrew van Eeden More

Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights w/o breakfast. Booked directly at a very reasonable price, compared to Central London prices. Asked for a quiet room and h a room facing the back alley. Fast check-in and check-out. Old British style, not renovated recently - but very nice and clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Glad to see you found our hotel suitable for your recent stay and thank you for the favourable review. Hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Andrew van Eeden More

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived quite early and stopped at the hotel to ask if we could leave luggage, room ready so we were able to check in immediately, which was great. Reception staff very helpful and efficient. Also helped me with getting wifi on my tablet, I am a complete idiot with these things, but necessary for finding our way around... Room spotless... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Good to hear the front desk team was able to assist with your early arrival and accommodate you with your room. WiFi throughout the property is free of charge and I hope you made use of the gardens whilst working or browsing away! We have two lovely courtyards... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Academy

Address: 21 Gower Street Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Academy 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Academy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Academy Hotel London
Academy Hotel London
Academy London
The Academy London, England

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (34)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay