We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Academy

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
21 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, Fitzrovia, London WC1E 6HG, England
Special Price
Advance Purchase
The Academy
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #557 of 1,052 Hotels in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
pb56422 Bramley, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

492 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    113
    190
    102
    55
    32
See reviews for
70
156
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (492)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (118)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (119)
All months
Bramley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
79 hotel reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The last minute people told me I would not be disappointed with this boutique hotel but I was. It was a hot day and i had a tiny single room at the top of 6 flights of steps with no lift. I have to say that the aircon in the room worked quite well. No spare sockets for chargers and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

perfectly located we only used the tube on one of our three day stays. our room was located on the ground floor at the front of the hotel and was a good size, it was very clean and comfortable and fresh towels were provided everyday when required. we didn't eat here so am unable to comment on the food. we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the Academy on two occasions during our rent trip to London. We had booked both stays back in November for a June visit - asking for a quiet room if possible. The first portion of our stay saw us placed in a top floor room facing the main street. The room was just average, and did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear brontesassy Thank you for your review of The Academy; we are please your stay was an enjoyable one. It's regrettable that your first stay with us did not meet expectations, especially in regards to the maintenance defects, which have been addressed. Your preference surrounding room assignments and bed configuration have been noted and we have recorded that you prefer... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Thursday 11th June 2015 we enjoyed a formal afternoon tea at The Academy in the heart of Bloomsbury. The have a choice of two secluded and shady gardens to the rear of the buildings. They are a really quiet oasis away from the traffic noise and dusty Gower Street to the front. We chose the garden with a small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear graham934 Thank you for your glowing review of The Academy. We're thrilled that you were able to enjoy our Afternoon Tea in the tranquility of our secluded and private back gardens - indeed, a welcome break from the busy London streets only metres away. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with the team. Your comments regarding our... More 

Dulverton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This charming hotel provided us with a restful haven in the centre of London. Excellent situation for seeing the sights. Our suite was well furnished and every comfort thought of for the traveller. We did not want to use the WiFi facility. The staff were friendly and helpful making each guest feel special. The breakfast included in our O/N stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear collywebb Thank you for your recent review of The Academy. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your Suite was most comfortable. We appreciate all of your comments and it pleasing to know that our friendly staff looked after your every need. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon, and... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very nice rooms the service was good. Great shower and very comfortable bed. No lift only stairs. Central location. 25min walk from kings cross train station. Close to parks and shopping. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Anna P Thank you for your kind review of The Academy. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and you loved our Central London location. We look forward to seeing you again, soon. Kind regards, Michael More 

Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have not stayed in this hotel, but we visited to have afternoon tea with Prosecco. The staff were very warm and friendly and were ready for us upon arrival. Always a good sign! They were attentive to our needs throughout our tea. The sandwiches were beautifully cut and tasted delicious. The scones with cream and jam - warm and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Clowny45 Thank you for your positive review about The Academy. We're thrilled that you and your party enjoyed our Afternoon Tea and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Michael More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

Stayed in a suite (single large room), the room was fine although overpriced I think for the level of of fit - it's a bit tatty. The main issues we ran into were no WIFI and poor service. They do have WIFI nominally but it is time consuming to enter codes every time and in the evening it just doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Jammers-UK Thank you for your review of The Academy. We're disappointed that your stay was less than satisfactory and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore your faith in our services. Our Suite rooms are the largest in the Hotel and all are provided with Nespresso machines, capsules and tea making facilities - it's... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Even before arriving at The Academy Hotel, the General Manager Michael Hewson had emailed me telling me he was looking forward to meeting me. The Hotel was booked via Travelzoo, an offer of theirs which upgraded you to a Junior Suite from a double room, the rate also included a full English breakfast, normally £18.50, The breakfast was absolutely amazing.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear Susan Thank you for your kind review of The Academy. It is always a pleasure to meet our guests and I thank you again for taking time to speak with me in person, during your stay. We're thrilled that you had a pleasant time in London and that you were able to relax and rest in our homely environment... More 

Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We went on April for 3nights. When I first saw the hotel I was kind of troubled. No elevator, no baby bed in the room (we arrived at 22h) and the outside garden was closed! The breakfast had the essentials, but not really a 4star hotel breakfast. Thankfully, my deception was limited. The staff was very friendly and did everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AcademyHotel, General Manager at The Academy, responded to this review

Dear anna0120 Thank you for your review of The Academy. We're really pleased that you and the family enjoyed your stay whilst in London. We're glad that the team overcame the initial problems when you first arrived and that you found the overall experience to be a pleasant one. Indeed our location is ideal for the major attractions in Central... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay