We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Russell

4.0 of 5 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Russell
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Russell
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    911
    602
    292
    187
See reviews for
287
879
242
659
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2551)
  • Mar-May only
    (605)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (689)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (768)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (489)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I booked a room for myself and a friend at Hotel Russell for Aug 19-26, 2014. Upon arrival we found the room had 1 double bed instead of 2. When we asked for the 2 beds we booked, we were told the hotel was fully booked due to a convention, and to check back in the morning. This went on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. All bookings were booked as requested, however I do apologise if this was miscommunicated in anyway. We did our utmost to assist all of our guests with any special requests and accommodate their preferences. Wash cloths are an unusual request... More

Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Hotel Russell for an over night stay in London, Its less than a mile away from Covent Gardens and 10 mins from Euston Train station so for us a perfect location. The hotel has a striking facade, which is carried onto into the inside. Reception was sleek and professional, the half depth lifts not for people... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valley Stream, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have traveled a lot and have never experienced something like this! We were in London to see my boyfriends sister and then had gone to Paris for a few nights. Upon our return from Paris back to London we needed a hotel for one night before our flight back to New York. I booked Hotel Russell because of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointment experienced. I am genuinely sorry for the inconvenience experienced and for the delay in your dinner reservation. Please be assured that this is not a usual occurrence and we ensured that you were placed in a hotel within a 5 minute walking distance and in... More

Saint Saturnin les Avignon, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in summer 2014. Just one night on business. Was well located hence choice, however I won't be going back. Room v small, tiny bathroom, stuffy, dark and unable to open a window (view over light well anyway). Don't wish to be rude but hallways of hotel reminded me of that film "The Shining" ..... A little too impersonal for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. We have a variety of different room shapes and styles to suit our guest requirements. We usually receive many compliments on this as we genuinely endeavour to create a relaxing and comfortable experience for all of... More

England
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

On arrival drinks, (admittedly about 10 minutes early), reception room was not prepared. There was no cloakroom facility. Once doors were open we entered a very cold room (where coats could be hung on a rail, with no security). Sparkling wine for the entire event was seemingly being poured by two members of staff. Our group of 10 was allocated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your dinner. Our Conference and Banqueting team are well known for the exceptional standards and liaise throughout the event with the organisers. A cloakroom can be arranged upon request and all of our tables are meticulously placed for ease of... More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Very Good base in north London for a weekend trip. Clean rooms reasonably appointed, good breakfast with good choices, friendly staff very willing to answer any query, internal decoration adds to experience. Good value for money for London.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell. I am pleased that you enjoyed the exceptional service provided by our team as we genuinely want our guests to have a memorable and relaxing experience. I do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back... More

italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent about 3 nights here. The staff were very very polite, its very clean and beautifull, very unlike most 'modern' hotels. The room we slept in was massive,it even had a tiny kind of living room, very very cosy and the bathtub was just too cute, english style taps ecc. Th ebed too was massive, very confortable. The windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for review. I am absolutely delighted that you had a perfect stay with us at Hotel Russell. We endeavour to create a comfortable and relaxing stay for all of our guests and I am so pleased that this was a memorable experience for you. We do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just spent a miserable week on a business conference imprisoned within the marble and majestic beauty of Hotel Russell. The magnificence of the structure was in complete contrast to the disorganised rubble of the system that runs the whole business conference system. Sadly the chaos also extended into other services such as the dining area and bedrooms. Conference problems were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here with my Husband on a 24hour whirlwind trip to London. Check in was very quick (2-3 minutes) and staff polite, you are given an access code for the wifi on check in. We were in room 440 which looked out of the back of the hotel on to what I assume is a generator. There was a constant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us at Hotel Russell. We genuinely endeavour to create a relaxing and comfortable experience for all of our guests and I am so pleased that this was the case for you. We strive to create and maintain high standards and will certainly ensure... More

Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel, with its iconic exterior makes you feel special as you enter, and indeed the foyer doesn't disappoint with its grandiose staircase and fittings. Staff were helpful, efficient and polite and the hotel is in a great location for sightseeing on foot as well as public transport links for getting further afield. However, like a number of hotels in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. I am sorry to ready that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. We have a variety of different rooms to suit our guest preference and I do apologise that you room size was not to your liking. I only wish you had informed us as we would have... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Russell

Address: Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Russell 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Russell London, England

724 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (618)
Viewed
Room/suite (142)
Viewed
Bathroom (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (152)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (229)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (99)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (19)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay