We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Russell

4.0 of 5 Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Russell
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel Russell
Write a Review

2,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    886
    584
    280
    180
See reviews for
273
845
240
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2471)
  • Mar-May only
    (605)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (689)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (688)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (489)
All months
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here for one night. Very clean, very posh, very nice. I stayed in a superior room which had a little sitting area. I also ordered room service, this was delicious. Nice big comfy bed and a large telly. Nice size bathroom. This is one of the nicer hotel's I've stayed in, in London. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harstad, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at this hotel for4 nights and in general satisfied with our stay. We did a lot of research for hotel in this area (Russell Court), and found all kind of feedback from very positive to very negative for most of the hotels. Anyway, the amazing building and interior was one of the reasons for us to choose the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel through Hotwire, not knowing where we would be staying. We paid very little for the room (*much* cheaper than a 2* hotel) and I was delighted with the hotel. From the outside it's gorgeous - just look at the photographs. The inside is heavy with marble and beautiful little features like the golden dragon at the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. It is with great pleasure I learn that your stay was overall enjoyable. Thank you for your very kind comments as we are very proud of the rich heritage of our hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed it. We are happy to read that our rooms are pleasant and welcoming and... More

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed last night room 650 too small for a double , access to bed only on one side. TV had lines down pictures , shower broken and tile grout dirty, window had mildew on internal paint work. Banging doors continually. Paid £188 No Breakfast, Staff on Reception and Lady in charge on duty very nice but that doesn't really help.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. I certainly empathise regarding the points you mention in your review, especially that... More

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for one night in the deluxe superior suite. Gorgeous room very clean and staff friendly. Wish we booked another night. Couldn't fault this hotel and looking around London we can honestly say it was the most beautiful building of them all. Would highly recommend anyone to stay here and would go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us. We appreciate your positive comments on our central location and comfortable, well appointed bedroom and facilities. We have received so much glowing feedback regarding the rich decorative style and architecture of our building and I am sure you will agree this is a statement piece of Victorian grandeur which... More

Adlington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

As the front door is opened for you (very friendly doormen) you feel like you are walking into the Edwardian era. Cool, brown, mottled marble shines under the huge chandeliers and wide staircase flows upwards on your right. Check in was efficient, confirming all our details correctly and we were directed to our Junior Suite room 705. This proved to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Hosting a multitude of people from all over the world from different cultures, environments and all with unique requirements, we try our utmost to ensure that each and every guest enjoys their stay at Hotel Russell. I am so pleased that you had a fantastic stay... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

On arriving our room was not ready. Was not offered a drink whilst we waited but when we asked, they reluctantly gave us a drink and nuts. Still needed to wait for an hour and a half. Our room had an odd glass door to bathroom. Room was small and the air con and a light did not work. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We certainly appreciate you taking the time to review us. I am so sorry that your room was not ready for you upon your arrival due to the delay caused by the late checkout of previous guest. I do completely agree that beverages in our Tempus Bar must have been provided complimentary during your wait for the room.... More

hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel, lovely place and in a good position for covent garden etc, my wife is disabled so we avoided public transport and used a wheelchair, not too far to visit covent garden, theatre district, south bank etc. Breakfast was good and the room was nice except it was very hot and the aircon... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review and very valuable feedback. I am pleased to note that our location was ideal as per your requirements. It is my understanding that you have gone through a few inconvenient situations during your stay, and I would like to sincerely apologize for this. We pride ourselves on the quality of our... More

Liverpool
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If it wasn't for the grand ground floor of this hotel, would be rated lower. We stayed for 3 nights and liked the location of hotel, nice gardens opposite to walk off breakfast. Our room wasn't ready at check in so we were given free wifi, however I strongly feel wifi shld be free in this day and age anyway!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. Though I am pleased our location was ideal and you found the team friendly and helpful, I am sorry to learn that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Due to the size and age of the building we have a range of rooms each... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great hotel for the price. Very smart decor and efficient staff. Superb location. Even no traffic noise if you ask to stay at the back. Rooms are tiny, but this is London. Only downsides were some brownish water from the taps. My room blind was broken and had to stay permanently shut and tthe plates provided at breakfast were only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Julie H, General Manager at Hotel Russell, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending some valuable time reviewing us. It is pleasing to note that our location was ideal for you and you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Russell. Thank you for commending the team and the standards offered as we are indeed passionate about our service and quality at Hotel Russell. We are constantly seeking feedback from... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Russell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Russell

Address: Russell Square, London WC1B 5BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Russell 4*
Number of rooms: 373
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, LondonMarketing.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Russell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel London
Hotel London Russell
Russel Hotel London
Hotel Russell London, England

713 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (607)
Viewed
Room/suite (141)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (152)
Viewed
Bathroom (54)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (221)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (99)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (19)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay