We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Waldorf Hilton

#442 of 1,049 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
The Aldwych, London WC2B 4DD, England
Special Offer
Book Direct Offer
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waldorf Hilton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Waldorf Hilton
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    682
    442
    205
    104
See reviews for
350
1,001
66
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2191)
  • Mar-May only
    (498)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (573)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (538)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (582)
All months
There are newer reviews for The Waldorf Hilton
See the most recent reviews
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We decided to stay at the waldorf for one night before staying in the Ritz as we were seeing a show and the location was perfect! Shame about the hotel! We got there and waited 20 minutes while reception checked that my bank card worked even though I had already paid for the room. We were then told the floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Simondo123, Thank you for your review. It is always a concern to read when a valued guest has a disappointing stay at The Waldorf Hilton and we would like to apologise for the shortfall in expectations especially in regards to the difficulties experienced upon check in, the room service tray and service as well as the housekeeping department. Please... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Upside; Location is fantastic, staff are very friendly, great executive lounge, good breakfast buffet selection. Downside; Swimming pool and immediate area was filthy and desperately in need of a complete refurbishment (surrounding pool pillars/wall plaster was crumbling!). Accommodation; Our 'Executive Delux' room, which had allegedly been refurbished recently was very basic (Premier Inn standard but 6 x the price and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. It is always a concern to read when a valued guest has a disappointing stay at The Waldorf Hilton and we would like to apologise for the shortfall in expectations. Please be assured that your overall experience is not representative of our usual standards of service and the areas highlighted for improvement have... More 

Ko Samui, Thailand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We arrived at the hotel around 2 pm to check in and the reception said the check in time is at 3 pm. We said no problem we told her that I was very weak and sick because I'm 3 months pregnant and she didn't seem to care. She said you can go sit and wait and the bar. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review through Tripadvisor related to your previous visit at The Waldorf Hilton London. I was really concerned to hear that we did not meet your expectations and we are sorry you were very disappointed. We are constantly monitoring the performance of our hotel against Hilton's... More 

Berlin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014 via mobile

Do not expect a design hotel but a classic and old fashioned hotel in the midst of the theatre district. If you are a tourist the location could not be better. Very lively part of town and safe at any time of the day and night. The rooms are clean but could use an overhaul. They are a bit dusty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear LoboBerlin, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay here at The Waldorf Hilton London. I am happy to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities however I was disapointed to read that we did not exceed your overall expectations.... More 

Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We loved this hotel!! The service was exemplary! The location was perfect! The room was nice and spacious. The club room was well staffed and the food, drinks, and atmosphere was top notch. We loved our stay here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear guest, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London. I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Waldorf... More 

Bedford Hills, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Great location center of everything very close to Covent Garden. Older period hotel have stayed here twice. Nice (but smallish) Executive Lounge. Rooms are good quality and vary in shape depending on what floor. Executive lounge has a nice breakfast and also had a good afternoon tea and snacks. Great base to come back to whenever you need a break... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Dan097, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London. I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. I am glad to learn from your feedback that you enjoyed our Executive... More 

Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We were really looking forward to a special 5 star experience but were really disappointed. The room was at the top of the hotel, you have to walk the final floor as lift doesn't go that far room then a trek around the corridors to a room that was dark, not very appealing and overlooked the back courtyard of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Theresa B, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review through Tripadvisor related to your previous visit at The Waldorf Hilton London. I was really concerned to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I am sorry you were very disappointed. We are constantly monitoring the performance of our hotel against... More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I had arranged a Birthday weekend away to London for me and my Mother. When we had arrived in our twin Deluxe room we were shocked with how dirty it was. There was sweet wrappers and pens behind the curtains, used tissues under the bed and dust everywhere. It was evident that no hovering or dusting had been done in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear J0die1992, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review through Tripadvisor related to your previous visit at The Waldorf Hilton London. I was really concerned to hear that we did not meet your expectations and I am sorry you were very disappointed. We are constantly monitoring the performance of our hotel against Hilton's... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We stayed a week. A beautiful grand hotel, so convenient to the Strand, Covent Garden and transportation to get you anywhere else you wish to go. All in all we had a very nice stay. Room was pleasant and nicely decorated. Bathroom was beautiful, with a huge double window for natural light and air. Brand new fixtures, sparkling chrome. Bathtub/shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear LenandJo, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share such a lovely review on TripAdvisor related to your recent stay at The Waldorf Hilton London. I am delighted to learn from your feedback that you were satisfied with our services and facilities. I would also like to thank you for your comments in regards to... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Visited this hotel for a overnight stay, supposed to be an experience of High Tea and a tour of the hotel, upon arrival went to our room, which I have to say was ok but not the best I have stayed in, no view from window, only two milk sachets for our stay .. so one cup each. Was booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Alison P, General Manager at The Waldorf Hilton, responded to this review

Dear Beverely H, Thank you for your review. It is always a concern to read when a valued guest has a disappointing stay at The Waldorf Hilton and we would like to apologise for the shortfall in expectations especially in reagards to your afternoon experience. Please be assured that your overall experience is not representative of our usual standards of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

367 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (335)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (62)
Viewed
Room/suite (125)
Viewed
View from room (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Holborn

Neighborhood Profile
Holborn
Inner London’s busiest streets crisscross quiet cobbled lanes for an effect that can be urbane or quaint – or an intriguing blend of both – depending on the particular corner you turn. Due to its especially convenient location, bustling Holborn hosts an excellent range of hotels, eateries, and shops to suit practically any taste or budget. With major attractions like the British Museum and Somerset House as well as popular areas such as Covent Garden and Soho all just a short walk away, Holborn is a smart base from which to explore London.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question