We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kensington Rooms

131 - 137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kensington Rooms
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    74
    112
    105
    172
See reviews for
87
142
39
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (496)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (134)
All months
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As nice as the hotel looked its cleanliness was quite poor. We found cold tablets under the bed, no bin in bedroom. The worst was when I noticed I had been bitten by something. By the time I had gotten home my arm, hands and face are covered in red lumps. I've been given antihistamine tablets by the doctor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your comments. We are very sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. I can reassure you that our housekeeping staff are always maintaining our rooms clean to a higher standard and we are truly sorry that your accommodation did not adhere in that regard. We always take every pest incident seriously and... More 

Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Awful room. There was hair on the pillows, crumbs in the bed and hair in the shower. The sheets were stained and torn at the end. The tiles were cracked in the bathroom, the door to the room was destroyed in scratches. Hand prints and paint chips on the walls. The window looked like it had never been washed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your time in leaving a review. We are very sorry that our room did not meet your expectations and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Our hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment in our rooms and exterior, something that might still take some time to complete. We would like also to... More 

Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The reviews are so conflicting for this hotel! However, we booked anyway and we checked into a clean and airy foyer, with polite and chatty staff. Our family room was basic, but did the job for the price and the purpose of a resting place in London! This hotel is a 5/10 min walk from Earl's Court tube, and all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very grateful for your review. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed our foyer. We are currently re arranging some furniture around, to make the lobby even more accommodating and even added a business centre, so the guests could print their tickets. Our staff is trained to provide the best customer service and we... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Booked the family room 4 months in advanced for my wife and two daughters and planned our 2 day trip around this area having travelled from leeds. We arrived at 5pm after taking in a few sites around London. At first they struggled to find the booking but once I showed them my saved email confirmation they produced the paperwork.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time in leaving your feedback. The occasional maintenance issues do happen in the hotel industry and we are always doing our best to re-accommodate our guests in extreme situations. We always try and provide the best possible solution and on some occasions do have to reallocate to our sister properties, as close as possible.... More 

UK
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Basic at best- more hostel than hotel. Please can you re-home to fish to a better tank/home. It's totally unnecessary to have it in reception and I found it quite distressing seeing it there. Our room was in the basement - large but basic -everything needs a good refurb. The bathroom was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time and leave a feedback. We are still in the process of refurbishment, so some of the rooms might still be in a need of an uplift. We are sorry to hear that you have found our fish tank not up to a standard. I can reassure you that we are usually praised... More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed here last night with my girlfriend, initially I thought the room smelled of smoke but my girlfriend didn't say anything so I let it go but after go out for a couple of hours when we got back she noticed it too. There were cigarette butts outside the window so obviously someone had been smoking, when we asked to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you very much for taking your time and leaving your comments. We would like to apologise for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. Our hotel upholds a non smoking policy very seriously and we are sorry to hear that your room smelt of smoke. We would like to also say sorry for our staff behaviour,... More 

essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

After booking this hotel I the. Read the reveiws so was a bit apprehensive on staying here . Booked in our delux room and was pleasantly surprised, nice clean room huge bed nice bathroom all very clean . Bed was very comfortable. Overal for the price of £60 continental breakfast included I couldn't complain.. If you want more than this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your kind feedback. We are glad to hear the praise of our staff as we always try to provide the best customer service. We were also happy to hear you enjoyed the comfort of your bedroom. We do hope you will visit us again and would be more than pleased if you contact us... More 

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

I went with my girlfriend because we needed somewhere to stay for one night and she found, what we thought was, a great deal on booking.com, but even with the deal we got we both thought it was overpriced for what you get. We had a 'deluxe double room' and the bed took up the whole width of the room.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time and write a review. Unfortunately, some of our rooms do have two zip up beds in case we need to use it as a twin, since we provide double and twin room types. We apologise if it was an inconvenience to you. We do, however, glad that you are thinking of booking... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

I booked this hotel as a cheap and cheerful get away for myself, husband and 2 kids. It was relatively cheap and the only reason it was cheerful was because of how comically bad it was. No cot was provided, despite it being requested. When it did arrive it was dirty. The blind in the room was broken and cellotaped... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your feedback. We would like to apologise for not providing you with a baby cot upon arrival. We always take requests from guests very seriously and always strive to provide our customers with what they have requested. In addition, we are still working on uplifting our rooms, a... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I was looking for a one night stay in London and the price of the hotel seemed reasonable and the pictures looked lovely. Decided to treat us and upgrade to a Deluxe Double that "includes fluffy bathrobes and mineral water". On arriving at the room (which we had a laugh finding as it wasn't signposted from the stairs, only the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We would like to assure you that we take every review very seriously. As we are currently undergoing a major refurbishment, some of the rooms might still be in need of a cosmetical uplift. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience we have caused you during your stay. Please contact... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (111)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in South Kensington

Neighborhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question