We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,069 London hotels

Kensington Rooms

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   131 - 137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England (Earls Court)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kensington Rooms to your Saves list
Kensington Rooms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
28%
Ranked #887 of 1,069 hotels in London
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    86
    112
    90
    117
See reviews for
55
107
36
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a small room but I've seen smaller. My room was clean and the bed was comfy. Very basic, but for that price in Kensington, I felt it was ok. I wouldn't stay there if I wanted to treat or impress someone!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate the time taken to share your opinions. Thank you for your positive comments, we were happy to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us. I am pleased to inform you that our hotel is currently undergoing an uplift and we are adding a number of improvements to offer our guests an even more exciting place... More

Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A genuine Fawlty Towers experience - very small rooms, and, having booked a twin, discovered it was a double. Mike at the desk assured us it would get done, but by the time we got back to our room, it still hadn't been done, and in the end we got the sheets ourselves and and made up the beds. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We were very sorry to hear that you experienced problems with your room allocation as a result of which you were offered a double room instead of a twin. Should inconveniences of this kind ever happen we always endeavour to rectify them as soon as possible and offer a room our... More

mannheim
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Non functioning internet, tiny analog TV, mile-long hallway, old & broken bathroom fixtures are among the reasons why I never will come back to this hotel. Nice and helpful front desk didn't help much if the internet connectivity was nearing zero all the time. Location is good, close to Gloucester Rd. tube, Sainsbury and Waitrose supermarket are just a stone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank for the time taken to share your experience. We were sorry to hear that you encountered some problems while staying at our establishment and we would like to assure you that we have done our best to rectify them. The temporary issues with internet connection were due to the fact that our broadband line was undergoing slight... More

Sodertalje, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room was small but clean. The bathroom and halls definitely needed some work. The staff was friendly and the subway was a short walk away. The price was very cheap and the room was comfortable. You get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your time taken to review us. I appreciate all the kind comments and I would like to assure you they will be shared among all our staff. I have also made a note of all your other suggestions. The renovation plan has already been put in action and we hope this will let... More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I never comment but after our experience on Thursday felt compelled to record our findings. First impression - rude man on reception, apartment booked for our ideal home show visit not available - undergoing repairs! Offered a room of equal quality for the night, apartment WOULD be available the next day. First room outrageous, demanded a room change. Second marginally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback. We were truly sorry to hear of all the inconveniences you experienced and we have taken all your comments on board in order to improve the indicated areas of our customer service. We have taken appropriate action towards the unwelcome attitude experienced from one of our Front Office staff and we... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Dont expect a fresh bright hotel.. this place is desperate for some tlc. Holes in carpets, shower head held on with shoe lace and sink plugs that dont fit, just a few things about my double room! I know its cheap, but the price I paid I now considered expensive for a rundown room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Guest S, Guest Support at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking your time to review us. I am really sorry to know that you are disappointed with your stay. I do understand your concern and would like to tell you that we have refurbishment plan in place and we should be done with refurbishment within couple of months I am really sorry once again for not... More

Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our room for three people was very small with a double bed and a sofa bed. The window faced a small gap between two protruding parts of the building and the room was thus very dark. The bathroom was clean with an OK standard. All common areas of the hotel need redecoration. The site photos give a much better impression... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Guest S, Guest Support at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are really sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. I would like to assure you that we are doing our best to give our establishment a fresh and modern look. The renovation process will take a couple of weeks and we would like to invite you to review us again once it is... More

New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Visited recently with a team of high school students. Everyone can read for themselves the multitude of issues regarding cleanliness and shabbiness. So I will skip those points. A triple with 3 of our girls had to be abandoned b/c they woke with bites on their ankles. However, issue with safety: No peep holes on doors. No chains on doors.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback as it is only through this tool that we can review and improve all our areas of customer service. We were deeply sorry to hear of all the issues and concerns that cast a shadow over your stay with us. Please be assured that we have taken all your comments very... More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We booked 2 triple rooms for a half term treat, the website showed a blue chip client list with much satisfaction, in reality we saw a Hotel that was in desperate need of refurbishment, the outside was dilapidated, the reception area was dirty, the first room was on the 4th Floor, this had tatty furniture, grubby net curtains, beds crammed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Dreadful hotel. Don't be fooled by the photographs. We had 2 rooms as the first was filthy & subterranean. The 2nd wasn't much better. Shower filthy, window blinds broken, no safety deposit facility. The 3rd bed in the family room was a camp bed! The receptionist included an unpleasant woman and a disorganised older gent.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8

Been to Kensington Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Rooms

Also Known As:
Kensington Rooms Hotel London
Kensington Rooms London, England
Address: 131 - 137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #887 of 1,069 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kensington Rooms 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four beautifully restored Victorian town houses, combines contemporary decor with original period features; Kensington District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kensington Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.