We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kensington Rooms

131 - 137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kensington Rooms
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    77
    115
    107
    173
See reviews for
93
143
39
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (505)
  • Mar-May only
    (117)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (134)
All months
Catonsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Due to the location and price I made a rookie mistake and did a non-refundable booking and then read the reviews. There were quite a few really bad reviews but I decided to take an chance. The place has issues, but our experience was largely positive. The room was clean, though small. The shower worked. But there were just enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving your detailed feedback. As you have pointed out, we do indeed carrying on a major uplift in our rooms. We are aiming on changing the cosmetics, which includes blinds and curtains, to make rooms more colourful and serene. We do apologise for the inconveniences caused during your stay and hope to improve... More 

Vigo, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

People love bad reviews. Stay at Kensington Rooms if you like decent service, ample breakfasts and airy rooms. We slept well, enjoyed a fine shower and clean room. Awoke to daylight and traffic...but were not bothered by it. Dana at LHC was very helpful and gave us a good rate. Staff were friendly. Pleased for the available computer and printer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. All our staff is trained to provide an excellent service and we always try to help guest with comfort and reasonable prices, when they book with us directly. We are also happy that you have enjoyed our breakfast and our rooms. We are currently undergoing a major uplift in our... More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this for my son & girlfriend for two nights, based on good location. The room was not clean. Shower leaking, hairs in sink loose tiles, stained carpet!!!! They complained and we're moved to a family room which was only marginally better. Extremely disappointed and was a very negative experience!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for you time to leave your comments. We are sorry to hear that the rooms we provided did not meet your expectations. We always try our best and keep our rooms clean to a high standard. As you have pointed out, we did try to accommodate you in the best room we had available. We are... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Deceiving in various aspects: - nice entrance; - messed up in the corridors and several other public áreas; - bad showers and taps; - no wifi available, despite what they say; - bad atitude and simpathy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, We are currently undergoing a refurbishment in our rooms and are trying to elevate the standard of our accommodations. We are sorry if the current standard did not meet your expectations and are grateful for your points on which we can improve. Kind Regards, The Management. More 

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here for one night and picked the hotel due to its location to Gloucester Road tube station. The reception and communal areas are alright - getting to the rooms feels like walking through a maze. I had a double room which was ok in size (compared to other hotels where I have stayed in, it was definitely on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for leaving your feedback. We are happy to know that you have found our reception and lobby appeasing. We are also glad to see you find our rooms spacious. We are currently undergoing a major uplift in our rooms and some rooms might require some cosmetic changes. Kind regards, The Management. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here March 28th - 30th 2015. Had to leave and move hotels after two nights. One of the worst value hotels I have ever stayed in, a glorified hostel at most. The room was filthy with a carpet which had not been hoovered, dirty sheets, a broken hairdryer and a disgusting bathroom - there were even pubic hairs under... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for taking your time and leave your feedback. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. We always maintain a high standard of general cleaningness and we truly sorry the room did not meet your expectations. Once again we apologise for the inconvenience caused. Please contact us at reception@lhcollection.co.uk for further... More 

Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel before reading the reviews for my mum for christmas. I almost cancelled our stay after reading a few of these reviews but left it to late to find alternative accommodation. I am so glad I decided against cancelling as our stay was great! For a London hotel the room (400) was a decent size and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we appreciate the time it took you to leave a kind feedback. We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our rooms are serviced daily and we adhere to the highest standards of cleaningness. We hope to see you again in the future, Kind regards, The Management. More 

Kazan, Russia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location, near to Notting Hilll district if you are interested; as it s famous for the pubs, nice boutiques, walk paths, old bookstores. Kensington area is rather rich part of London, so you would be indulging in checking nice shops. Also the hotel s in walking distance to most to-be-seen places if you can walk 5-10 km per day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, The Management More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

As nice as the hotel looked its cleanliness was quite poor. We found cold tablets under the bed, no bin in bedroom. The worst was when I noticed I had been bitten by something. By the time I had gotten home my arm, hands and face are covered in red lumps. I've been given antihistamine tablets by the doctor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your comments. We are very sorry that the room did not meet your expectations. I can reassure you that our housekeeping staff are always maintaining our rooms clean to a higher standard and we are truly sorry that your accommodation did not adhere in that regard. We always take every pest incident seriously and... More 

Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

Awful room. There was hair on the pillows, crumbs in the bed and hair in the shower. The sheets were stained and torn at the end. The tiles were cracked in the bathroom, the door to the room was destroyed in scratches. Hand prints and paint chips on the walls. The window looked like it had never been washed it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We appreciate your time in leaving a review. We are very sorry that our room did not meet your expectations and would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. Our hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment in our rooms and exterior, something that might still take some time to complete. We would like also to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (115)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in South Kensington

Neighborhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighborhood

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question