We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kensington Rooms

131 - 137 Cromwell Road | Courtfield Gardens, London SW7 4DU, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kensington Rooms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kensington Rooms
Add Photo Write a Review

541 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    80
    122
    116
    190
See reviews for
100
154
41
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (541)
  • Mar-May only
    (128)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (152)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (127)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (134)
All months
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I felt like the boy in the cupboard under the stairs. I stayed here for work and it was not the best experience, the windows are paper thin so the noise is awful so didn't get a great deal of sleep. The beds aren't at all comfortable. The service wasn't the best, apparently I was told that the man at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Decor in need of work, bathroom very poor. Because of the rubbish quality of the mattress I'm now suffering from lower back pain. As for the noise from the roads -shocking! What a nightmare my short stay was - never again.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After issues checking in, we eventually were ushered off in the general direction of the rooms. The room was basic and small but very small. The location isn't ideal, but it's close enough. The staff here, just don't seem to care who you are or what you're doing. There is one extremely abrupt and almost rude elderly man, who works... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Apart from not receiving our online booking and not a wide variety of breakfast choice it was a pleasant 2 night stay in our capital city. Spacious room and bathroom, clean and helpful staff. For a short break I would recommend. Able to leave bags on the day we left, until we left. Close to the science museum

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend and I can honestly say it is the dirtiest hotel I have ever stayed in. The mattress did not have a mattress protector on it, the bed sheet did not fit the mattress properly either so the mattress was exposed. The duvet quilt had stains and 'hairs' on it. There was also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The entire experience with this hotel was horrible for a number of reasons. The rooms shown in the pictures don't exist in the hotel , the rooms in the hotel are extremely small an unkempt. The restrooms in the room had literally no space and did not have hot water running. The hotel isn't maintained well at all as its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our business. We were sorry to hear your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Please note that we offer selection of bedrooms of different sizes depending on the category booked. I would like to assure you that all our rooms meet the UK criteria in terms of rooms size. However,... More 

Leominster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked as a last minute trip away and the rate was exceptional. The room itself was pretty small and narrow but that's the layout of the old building. Bathroom is tiny and shower dribbles. The whole room just needs furnishings improved and uplifted for it to be a pleasant stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you found our rates to be competitive. We do appreciate all your feedback and would like to assure you that our hotel is undergoing a minor renovation to make it even more enjoyable for our guests. We do hope to see you again in the near future and... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This one was actually booked by my ex partner for a wee trip away and was as middle of the road as middle of the road got. The room was fairly small for a "Double" and despite the fact we regularly hung up a do not disturb sign house keeping came in daily. We were told that this was something... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback on our business. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the location suited you as well. We do apologise if you found the service somehow disturbed by the housekeeping team. It is not our practise to open the guest room while the 'do not disturb' note has been placed. However,... More 

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Myself, my friend and our two daughters have just returned from a weekend stay here. What a disgrace! Upon arrival, we naturally expected to check in and be given our room key...NOPE - despite booking for and paying in full for the room almost two months in advance, we were told we could not be checked in because the card... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking your time to review our Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. With regards to the payment issue I would like to reassure you that it has been our standard payment protection policy on non refundable bookings to require either the credit card... More 

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Location of this hotel couldn't be better, 3 short stops away from London Victoria via Tube to Gloucester Rd (Westbound). Staff were amongst the most friendly I've come across anywhere in the UK and couldn't have been more helpful. Our party consisted of 3 rooms, 2 were a little on the small side with the Double Bed taking up the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guest S, Manager at Kensington Rooms, responded to this review

Dear Guests, What a kind feedback! Thank you so much for your kindest comments on staff, service and value of our business, we will surely share them with all our colleagues. Please do accept our apologies for the minor maintenance issues, I would like to assure you they were dealt with promptly. Please also note our hotel is undergoing a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

148 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (141)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#647 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#710 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#574 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#686 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Notting Hill
So Hyde Park Hotel
So Hyde Park Hotel
#702 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Earls Court
Oliver Plaza Hotel
Oliver Plaza Hotel
#485 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in South Kensington

Neighborhood Profile
South Kensington
With its ivied mews, row upon row of Poppins-esque white washed mansions, and placid garden squares, it's easy to see the charms of South Kensington. And with superb access to Hyde Park, Holland Park and Kensington Gardens, as well as the largely child-friendly and mostly free Museum Quarter (not to mention more major attractions like Royal Albert Hall) such charms are easy to make the most of. As welcoming and cosmopolitan as it is reserved and residential, South Kensington is always a hit with visitors.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay