We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kensington West Hotel

2.5 of 5 25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kensington West Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kensington West Hotel
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    93
    85
    31
    48
See reviews for
76
66
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
There are newer reviews for Kensington West Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pros- The hotel is very clean, staff very friendly, neighborhood is safe. About a ten minute walk from Earl Court station. Cons- no AC during a heat wave is rough. Away from all the action Would recommend it overall If you want to be in this area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a kind review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable We are based in the heart of West End and situated just 3 minutes’ walk from West Kensington underground station on the district line having direct connectivity to almost all the major attractions such as the Natural History museum,... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I could say I have no choice and I booked this hotel at last minutes & stayed for 2 nights. Hotel has assigned me to a room at ground floor - Room 2. The Room is very tidy but you could hear the noise from next door. There is no mobile phone signal in the room and you have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate guests taking their time to write good and bad reviews as we take pride in listening to our guests feedback in order to improve our services for future guests. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to receive any mobile signal in your room. Unfortunately this... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The room had no floor between the beds the room was so boiling the window didn't open properly only had 1 small fan for a room of 5 people 1 of us ended up in hospital with heat exhaustion as was constantly sick barely slept at lady there just have me a dirty look when I complained and just sort... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Kensington West. London weather is such that it is only hot for a few weeks a year thus unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised. I... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for one night while attending Imbibe at the Olympia. The room was clean with a nice little bathroom. Location-wise it was great...walking distance to the Olympia and some good places to eat nearby. Other reviewers are right though...there is no breakfast (it says b&b?) and the rooms are very warm. The window was open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are glad to hear that your room was cleaned to your satisfaction. We have a very enthusiastic housekeeping department that take price in ensuring all our guests rooms are cleaned to our company standards. Our premier continental breakfast packs have now been discontinued due to a lack of demand.... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We didn't get any sleep at all !! Doors banging, People arguing & shouting. The people above our room had a shower about midnight and it sounded like rain on a plastic roof !! The TV remote wouldn't work. The kettle wouldn't fit under the tap, in the Very small bathroom sink. ( No cup of tea.) The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your stay We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Kensington West We apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us and hope we can offer you a better service on your next visit Warm Regards from the Kensington West team More 

wiltshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

we stayed here for one night and it was all it said, clean comfortable, friendly helpful staff at reception, convenient to what we wanted, great check in and out times and v.accomodating with leaving luggage etc. my word of warning is - Don't have room 1. its on the ground floor - at the front and right and I mean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are pleased to hear that your room was clean and comfortable. We take pride in ensuring all our guest have a comfortable base to stay while they are away from their homes. Our check in time is anytime after 2.30pm, if our guests arrive earlier and your room is... More 

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is messy. Free wifi disaster. Hotel lift very scary and the rooms have no AC and become very hot. Would only book again if I have to but prefer to spend 20 euro a night more. That is way worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Kensington West as whilst staying in London. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced. We take pride in providing our guests a clean base to stay while in London, majority of the reviews our guests write emphasize that our... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in one of the 5 person rooms, which is perfect if you are all 4 feet tall and weigh 32 pounds. Very, very crowded. No AC, and just one window. The sign outside says "Bed and Breakfast" which was strange since there was no breakfast. However, if you're just looking for a place to stay overnight while you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We are very delighted to know that your overall experience at Kensington West was good and you found our team friendly. Unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised. Our premier continental breakfast packs have now been... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed here on our first trip to London - 5 nights. Overall, it was a fine experience. We booked through Expedia & with the flight, the price was exactly what we were looking for. Positives - very clean & everything you need is provided (blow dryer!, coffee/tea pot, free wifi). Responsive staff. Excellent location - close to 2 different tube... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time out to review us. We are pleased to know that you found our hotel clean and staff responsive. We sincerely apologize for your disappointment with the noise factor. We take utmost care to make sure all our guests are kept happy. Our team are trained to tackle such situations beyond our control. Our aim is to... More 

Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My mother and I stayed here for two weeks in April and really enjoyed it. The room was very small and the bathroom was a little tight for my mom's (American) standards, but it suited our needs. It was very clean and the staff were very friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. It is also very conveniently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a glowing review for us. We feel deeply motivated and inspired with your extremely gracious remarks. It was a pleasure serving you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We cherished reading your comments about our staff and location. Your high recommendation is sure to take us miles. We look forward to your next... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kensington West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington West Hotel

Address: 25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington West Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kensington West
Kensington West London
Kensington West Hotel London, England

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (68)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
3:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay