We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kensington West Hotel

2.5 of 5 25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kensington West Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Kensington West Hotel
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    89
    83
    31
    47
See reviews for
74
64
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (278)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Currently removing ourselves from this hotel after being terrorised by vermin in our hotel room. No help or sympathy was provided by the hotel and our request for a refund was refused. It's safe to say we are never coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited London booking at short notice from the USA for my father's funeral. Booked a 3 star hotel on Priceline. This hotel was revealed, it is not a 3 star hotel. The sign on the exterior states Bed and Breakfast.-there is no breakfast. Other search engines gave the hotel 2 or 2.5 stars. The hotel defines itself as budget hotel.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Leeds, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for two nights at £153 per night. Please note this hotel does not provide breakfast - I found this fact interesting since it had a very large illuminated sign outside which says'Bed and Breakfast'. My room (32) had no effective curtain or blind, just a roller blind that was more like a net curtain - did not block... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

We booked a double room one week before our 2 night visit. As we paid less than 70 per night I was not expecting much of the room, however we were pleasantly surprised! The room had everything we needed with tea and coffee/TV and wifi for one device. Only thing maybe to mention was the bed was very hard but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I had a single room behind reception (layout was as the traveller photo with bunk beds, but with a half wall as your headboard & shelf, and bathroom is on the right behind the TV), which was a bit noisy as stairs were behind it, and it looked onto the road at the side of the hotel, but I managed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a wonderful review highlighting our hotel and its service. All our Bunk Twin rooms that accommodated 1/2 pax have now been replaced with a standard single bed sleeping 1 guests. This was a management decision to ensure our guests get a comfortable night sleep. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable nights sleep at the... More 

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was a young solo traveller and I often worry about staying in hotels alone however Kensington West was very safe and secure! I felt very comfortable staying in this hotel and I would definitely stay again in the future. The staff are very friendly, too! The only down sides to the hotel is that there is no breakfast service,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a kind and detailed review. Your nice and peaceful stay makes us happy. We are glad you found us comfortable, clean and safe. We enjoyed serving you and appreciate your generous remarks to motivate us. Unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised. We do keep some fans that we can... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pros- The hotel is very clean, staff very friendly, neighborhood is safe. About a ten minute walk from Earl Court station. Cons- no AC during a heat wave is rough. Away from all the action Would recommend it overall If you want to be in this area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a kind review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable We are based in the heart of West End and situated just 3 minutes’ walk from West Kensington underground station on the district line having direct connectivity to almost all the major attractions such as the Natural History museum,... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I could say I have no choice and I booked this hotel at last minutes & stayed for 2 nights. Hotel has assigned me to a room at ground floor - Room 2. The Room is very tidy but you could hear the noise from next door. There is no mobile phone signal in the room and you have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate guests taking their time to write good and bad reviews as we take pride in listening to our guests feedback in order to improve our services for future guests. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to receive any mobile signal in your room. Unfortunately this... More 

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The room had no floor between the beds the room was so boiling the window didn't open properly only had 1 small fan for a room of 5 people 1 of us ended up in hospital with heat exhaustion as was constantly sick barely slept at lady there just have me a dirty look when I complained and just sort... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Kensington West. London weather is such that it is only hot for a few weeks a year thus unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised. I... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for one night while attending Imbibe at the Olympia. The room was clean with a nice little bathroom. Location-wise it was great...walking distance to the Olympia and some good places to eat nearby. Other reviewers are right though...there is no breakfast (it says b&b?) and the rooms are very warm. The window was open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are glad to hear that your room was cleaned to your satisfaction. We have a very enthusiastic housekeeping department that take price in ensuring all our guests rooms are cleaned to our company standards. Our premier continental breakfast packs have now been discontinued due to a lack of demand.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kensington West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington West Hotel

Address: 25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington West Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LondonMarketing.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kensington West
Kensington West London
Kensington West Hotel London, England

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
3:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay