We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,055 London hotels

Kensington West Hotel

2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Kensington West Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Kensington West Hotel to your Saves list
49%
Ranked #677 of 1,055 Hotels in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
121Rachel121 Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    82
    78
    29
    45
See reviews for
70
62
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (262)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (79)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a double room one week before our 2 night visit. As we paid less than 70 per night I was not expecting much of the room, however we were pleasantly surprised! The room had everything we needed with tea and coffee/TV and wifi for one device. Only thing maybe to mention was the bed was very hard but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a single room behind reception (layout was as the traveller photo with bunk beds, but with a half wall as your headboard & shelf, and bathroom is on the right behind the TV), which was a bit noisy as stairs were behind it, and it looked onto the road at the side of the hotel, but I managed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a wonderful review highlighting our hotel and its service. All our Bunk Twin rooms that accommodated 1/2 pax have now been replaced with a standard single bed sleeping 1 guests. This was a management decision to ensure our guests get a comfortable night sleep. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable nights sleep at the... More

Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I was a young solo traveller and I often worry about staying in hotels alone however Kensington West was very safe and secure! I felt very comfortable staying in this hotel and I would definitely stay again in the future. The staff are very friendly, too! The only down sides to the hotel is that there is no breakfast service,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for a kind and detailed review. Your nice and peaceful stay makes us happy. We are glad you found us comfortable, clean and safe. We enjoyed serving you and appreciate your generous remarks to motivate us. Unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised. We do keep some fans that we can... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Pros- The hotel is very clean, staff very friendly, neighborhood is safe. About a ten minute walk from Earl Court station. Cons- no AC during a heat wave is rough. Away from all the action Would recommend it overall If you want to be in this area

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a kind review. We are happy to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable We are based in the heart of West End and situated just 3 minutes’ walk from West Kensington underground station on the district line having direct connectivity to almost all the major attractions such as the Natural History museum,... More

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I could say I have no choice and I booked this hotel at last minutes & stayed for 2 nights. Hotel has assigned me to a room at ground floor - Room 2. The Room is very tidy but you could hear the noise from next door. There is no mobile phone signal in the room and you have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate guests taking their time to write good and bad reviews as we take pride in listening to our guests feedback in order to improve our services for future guests. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to receive any mobile signal in your room. Unfortunately this... More

Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The room had no floor between the beds the room was so boiling the window didn't open properly only had 1 small fan for a room of 5 people 1 of us ended up in hospital with heat exhaustion as was constantly sick barely slept at lady there just have me a dirty look when I complained and just sort... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Kensington West. London weather is such that it is only hot for a few weeks a year thus unfortunately we do not have AC in our rooms and thus this is not advertised. I... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for one night while attending Imbibe at the Olympia. The room was clean with a nice little bathroom. Location-wise it was great...walking distance to the Olympia and some good places to eat nearby. Other reviewers are right though...there is no breakfast (it says b&b?) and the rooms are very warm. The window was open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are glad to hear that your room was cleaned to your satisfaction. We have a very enthusiastic housekeeping department that take price in ensuring all our guests rooms are cleaned to our company standards. Our premier continental breakfast packs have now been discontinued due to a lack of demand.... More

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We didn't get any sleep at all !! Doors banging, People arguing & shouting. The people above our room had a shower about midnight and it sounded like rain on a plastic roof !! The TV remote wouldn't work. The kettle wouldn't fit under the tap, in the Very small bathroom sink. ( No cup of tea.) The room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a review about your stay We are sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at the Kensington West We apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us and hope we can offer you a better service on your next visit Warm Regards from the Kensington West team More

wiltshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

we stayed here for one night and it was all it said, clean comfortable, friendly helpful staff at reception, convenient to what we wanted, great check in and out times and v.accomodating with leaving luggage etc. my word of warning is - Don't have room 1. its on the ground floor - at the front and right and I mean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, We are pleased to hear that your room was clean and comfortable. We take pride in ensuring all our guest have a comfortable base to stay while they are away from their homes. Our check in time is anytime after 2.30pm, if our guests arrive earlier and your room is... More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is messy. Free wifi disaster. Hotel lift very scary and the rooms have no AC and become very hot. Would only book again if I have to but prefer to spend 20 euro a night more. That is way worth it

Was this review helpful? Yes
KenWestChisRooms, Guest Relations Manager at Kensington West Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Kensington West as whilst staying in London. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the disappointment you experienced. We take pride in providing our guests a clean base to stay while in London, majority of the reviews our guests write emphasize that our... More

Do you own or manage Kensington West Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Kensington West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington West Hotel

Address: 25 Matheson Road,, London W14 8SN, England (Formerly Aston Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kensington West Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, LondonMarketing.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kensington West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kensington West
Kensington West London
Kensington West Hotel London, England

70 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
3:54
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay