We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cavendish London

4.0 of 5 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Free bottle of champagne
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
The Cavendish London
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cavendish London
Write a Review

2,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,354
    686
    141
    44
    14
See reviews for
321
1,101
100
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2239)
  • Mar-May only
    (537)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (611)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (509)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (582)
All months
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a lovely hotel in a great location, the staff are lovely and very courteous and on this occasion I had a reasonable price for my room. There are other occasions I have stayed when my room rate was precisely double what I have just paid and when I asked why I was told because it was full. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Martyn B, Thank you very much for your great review and your feedback about pricing. I am delighted to hear that we are your choice of hotel in London and that you found the team to be so helpful and courteous and I know how much they will all appreciate your comments. I know as a consumer it can... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel was lovely, room was lovely, got upgraded which was good ... However the rooms are not really refined got woken up several times by idiots slamming doors and being in the centre of London lots of noise from people on the streets. My biggest issue was the car parking which on there website states you get 50% discount... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Chris C, Thank you for your review and your feedback. I am delighted that you found the hotel lovely and really enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear about your disappointment with the car parking. You are correct we do offer a 50% discount on cars with a low CO2 and we use the government measurement of any... More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We love staying in this hotel as the hotel staff, rooms and comfy beds are always a plus. Added to that it was my husband's birthday and on arriving in our room we were presented with a delicious chocolate birthday cake. This little touch is what the hotel is really good at. I was therefor really surprised at the dismal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Jonimevans, Thank you very much for your review and your feedback about breakfast. I am delighted that we are your choice of hotel in London and that your husband had a great birthday with us. I am disappointed about your comments about breakfast service and it is something we are working hard at to get to the level that... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed in the hotel on the 21st February and we were delighted by the service. Chloe the receptionist really stood out and was very personable. The breakfast was delicious and the room was spacious. We loved the location, right in the heart of London and parking was a dream. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Emmahartwell, Thank you very much for your great review and I am delighted that you had such a good stay and that you were delighted by the service you received. I will also make sure that Chloe is recognised for her great service and I know how pleased she will be with your comments. We hope that we can... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Love the location of this place But breakfast service is a no go I have been here 3 times (couple of nights every stay) and breakfast service is maybe the worst in town!! The rest is excellent! Great service in reception, bar, restaurant! Rooms spacious and clean Maybe management will improve breakfast... And than this will get full points I'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Nicosweden, Thank you very much for your review and feedback about breakfast service. I am delighted at the service that you received in the whole hotel but really disappointed about your experience at breakfast. We have a new F&B Manager and I know that there focus is to get breakfast to the level of service that it should be.... More 

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Had a lovely 3 course meal here prior to going to the Theatre. Three courses of lovely presented food by exceptional pleasant staff in a great location in the heart of Mayfair. Would strongly recommend if you are going to a theatre and want a special meal then check out the menu which is available each evening. It's a great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Cathy C, Thank you very much for your great review, our Food and Beverage team will be delighted with your comments. We have just launched our new seasonal menu and I know that the kitchen team will be very happy with your review about the food. We hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Best... More 

Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a relaxing time during our one night stay. There was no bath in the room and no pool/sauna in the hotel but that's fine. Didnt particularly like our tv too - it looked more like a computer monitor Lol..but thats just me being picky. Great location - walked around in the evening to fortnum and mason which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Ibb000, Thank you very much for your great review and for letting us celebrate such a special occasion with you. I know that the whole team will be delighted with your comments especially the Food and Beverage team as we all know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. We hope that we can welcome you... More 

Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a one nights stay here in a Queen Superior room. On arrival my companion and myself were warmly greeted and checked in with the receptionist ensuring the room was suitable as a twin. We were guided to the lift and sent on our way to the room. Once at the room we entered and I was disappointed. It was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Aled H, Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you felt that we had such good service at reception and that you had a good welcome to the hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you felt the rooms were very basic. Our guests feedback is very important to us and it would be useful to hear... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great location for shopping,theatre and dining out. The on-site parking is a definate advantage. The rooms are comfortable and the upgrade to an executive with a view is worth the extra. Restaurant is very good - can be a little quiet in the evening if you decide to eat in - breakfast Is excellent but some staff a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear Peter C, Thank you very much for your great review and your kind recommendations it is really appreciated by the whole team. I am concerned that you felt some of the team in breakfast were indifferent and this is certainly something that I will pick up with the team and make sure that we rectify. I hope that we... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No doubt, the location is fantastic, near to the underground tubes and tourist attraction. I was allowed to check in early at 7am so i'm impressed by the service. I find the bed extremely soft and the room too small. Barely enough space to open my luggage. It has a big study table though, which usefulness is dependent on individual.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Neil B, General Manager at The Cavendish London, responded to this review

Dear meisyong, Thank you very much for your review and your feedback. Thank you for letting other travellers know about our great location and how central we are. As guests have a different preference on firmness of mattress, we do have some rooms with a much firmer mattress and if you can send me your reservation details I will update... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cavendish London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cavendish London

Address: 81 Jermyn St | St. James's, London SW1Y 6JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cavendish London 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Cavendish London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cavendish London Hotel London
The Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish Hotel London
Cavendish London
The Cavendish London England
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#83 Luxury Hotel in London
#104 Family Hotel in London
#124 Business Hotel in London

803 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (490)
Viewed
View from room (57)
Viewed
Room/suite (178)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (48)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
1:53
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (127)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (246)
Viewed
Amenities (12)
Viewed
Executive Twin Room (54)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (33)
Viewed
Superior Double Room #915 (41)
Viewed
Superior Double Room #919 (48)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in St. James's

Neighborhood Profile
St. James's
Perennially fashionable since the days of Henry VIII, the aristocratic “Clubland” of St James's is a premier destination for high end craft and bespoke design. Here you’ll lose count of the Royal Warrants (which indicate that the Royal Family patronizes the establishment) seen in shop front windows, even during a short stroll to bordering Green Park or St James’s Park. With the brightly lit and constantly buzzing junction of Piccadilly Circus at its northeast corner and none of Central London too far away, this is an surprisingly central and accessible part of town, especially given its prosperous demeanor.
Explore this neighborhood