We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Oxford Hotel

13-14 Craven Terrace | Lancaster Gate, London W2 3QD, England
Hotel amenities
The Oxford Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #736 of 1,063 Hotels in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015
Rdefazio Lamezia Terme, Italy
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    70
    52
    32
    28
See reviews for
61
53
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The morning staff are ok but the night shift staff are very rude and uncooperative. Our heater wasn't working the first 2 nights but they kept saying it's working. The room looked clean but the cleaners didn't even bother to vaccum the place throughout the time we were there. The fridge was moldy and the blankets were disgusting. The hallways... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
perlflaghotels, Owner at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

The client's review is full of inconsitencies and made up material. For instance the hotel only have wooden floors and not carpets. The client tried to obtain "freebies" like wifi and luggage storage. When the request was denied the client threatened to write bad reviews. The client is trying to compare the hotel with a completely different hotel. The Oxford... More 

Lamezia Terme, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The hotel is in a perfect location, only a 5 minute walk (even less) from Lancaster Gate station. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff friendly. I stayed with my husband for two nights and we basically only needed a place to sleep and shower, and for the price, we couldn't have asked for more. If we return... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We always aim to provide good services and hospitality. Any comments or suggestions please write to perlflag@btinternet.com Should you wish to book our hotel in future, please contact us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com by quoting "trip advisor special offer067" and we will offer a discounted rate. Best wishes General Manager/Oxford Hotel More 

Bergen, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

i was a single traveller, location was fantastic but i got a room in the basement which was very warm and the heater in room was full heat, had to turn off for entire stay, rooms are well insulated for heat, so it was still too warm, had to open window which had no screen just bars, the walls were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We aim to provide the best possible services at the best prices. Normally a single room in a house or a hotel is a room with a single bed. Therefore if space is what you are looking for, I would advise you to book a double room for sole use and have a double bed. The heating in... More 

Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Stayed overnight while out with friends. The room was clean and appeared to be recently refurbished. Staff were friendly. The location was excellent, very close to Earls Court station. At the price paid, it was great value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very mcuh for your feedback. We are very happy to hear good experiences and also to hear our guests "voices" Feel free to send suggestions to oxfordhotel@btinternet.com We hope to see you and your friends/family at the Oxford Hotel in the near future. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Unhelpful staff and the word rude does not even cover what I experenced. No power to my room and staff refused to flick the trip switch and said to deal with it till the morning as there was no other room available.. Pointless as I only booked for one night! I was then told that room always had that problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Our staff are trained to deal with all requests, but unfortunately the duty staff was faced with a barrage of abuse from this guest, who was extremely rude and seemed angry from the moment the guest arrived. It is always our aim to please our guests and we at the same place offering the best... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2015

Stayed one night after an evening out with friends in London. Good location, staff were helpful & friendly. Room was clean and comfortable at the rear of the building, and so no street noise. Beds (I had twin singles) were comfortable. Linen and towels were of good quality and obviously freshly laundered. Breakfast - a continental - was all that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments. Should you have any more comments or suggestions please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com We hope to see you soon at our hotel. Best wishes The General Manager More 

Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 via mobile

The location is fantastic -good area to be in as a tourist a lot of restaurants and coffewhops around the hotel -and a walk distance from hide park The hotel is clean and they change the towels daily The staff polite and helpful The breakfast need improvement =very poor But it's a cheap hotel = Good value for the money

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and feedback. We rely on your comments to improve our services. Please feel free to send any suggestions to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com Best wishes General Manager More 

Gouda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Overpriced and very bad rooms...lousy bathrooms and as a family your are stuffed into a room! 4th flour and no elevators....few minutes late for breakfast and you dont get any! That was one horrornight, we left as soon as we could!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home. We were sorry to hear that you were not pleased with your stay. Had you approached the management with your queries during your... More 

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

I chose this room because of its location and price. The room was clean although the decor a bit dated and the bathroom had been updated fairly recently. There was a TV, as well as a little kitchen area with kettle and fridge. For the price it was fairly good value - but I have stayed in other hotels in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes. The Hotel Manager More 

Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This place is ok to stay! I mean good not too bad and nothing excellent then again can't fault. The room is very good size and the service was good too. Breakfast was ok bit small portion but never mind. Can try it

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
perlflaghotels, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Should you have further suggestions and comments please write to us on oxfordhotel@btinternet.com We aim to provide the best experience and value for money for our guests, a home away from home. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes. The Hotel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question