We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1,064 London hotels

Mercure London Bloomsbury

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel) (Bloomsbury)
Hotel amenities
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Bloomsbury to your Saves list
Ranked #319 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
The_Sheriff Manchester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    569
    154
    43
    28
See reviews for
189
392
146
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1192)
  • Mar-May only
    (216)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (352)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (299)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (325)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
43 hotel reviews
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW via mobile

Stayed on business in a premium room. There wasn't much premium about it especially on the size. It was a very small room and at best a 3/4 bed. I didn't have a great sleep. Shower was good and the nespresso machine in the room was a nice touch. Breakfast was ok but had much better. Possibly the worst cup... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prestwick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a 3 night stay with friends. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and our friends birthday. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and welcoming - especially the lady on reception when we arrived on Saturday afternoon. There was a gift and card in each of our rooms for our special occasions - a really nice touch and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel to attend the London fashion week at Somerset house. Myself and my husband stayed for 1 night on 28th February. We usually stay in Holburn, or Russell Square but this was the only hotel available to meet our needs at relatively short notice. Having stayed in the Mercure Sydney, I kind of knew what to expect,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a 3 night stay and were very happy with this hotel. The staff were excellent, very welcoming and extremely helpful. The location was perfect for accessing all attractions whether by tube or taxi. The breakfasts were very good with lots of choice from fresh fruits to full english. The beds were very comfortable. One tiny moan...our bedroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Jacqueline T, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will make sure to pass on the compliments to all staff members. We will certainly have a look at the issue you have raised and please rest assured that it will... More 

west yorkshire
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our room was on the 7 floor. We literally 'spilled into it' as so small and the roof height space not for tall people! And ... the TV was hanging off the wall! We complained and offered a free upgrade to two other rooms. We chose the one of the first floor as had 'walk in shower' instead of a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear AmandaTD4, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are sorry to hear that you could not fully enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to deliver a high customer satisfaction and please rest assured that all concerns you have raised will be looked into so we can prevent any future... More 

Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I wouldnt advise anyone to stay here. The service is poor. Some of the staff lack any form of training whatsoever, the rooms are too small and quite noisy. We stayed in room 111 and had to keep all windows closed due to the noise of the hotel generators and the smell of food from a nearby pub. After contacting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear J B, We are sorry to hear that you could not enjoy your stay with us. As you can see from the majority of the comments, customer service is one of our greatest assets. We have done our utmost to make sure that you could have an enjoyable stay with us. A different room was offered but declined. We... More 

Brixham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights at end of February with our daughter in a family room. Hotel very clean. Staff very helpful - especially Catorina in the restaurant. Stayed on B&B rate - breakfast was very good. Had dinner one night, also very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear Cachalot2013, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will certainly share your kind comments with all our staff and specially Caterina. We look forward to welcome you back in the future. Your Team at the Mercure London Bloomsbury. More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was fine and good value but service was poor. Staff were friendly but seemed inexperienced. Had to ask several times for more tea, scones to be brought out, milk for tea, water etc. Requests made politely for these things but kept being forgotten. Restaurant didn't seem particularly busy and there were plenty of staff around, so I put it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GregBlack, Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear KDavies, Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. We are very concerned about your comments and can assure you that they will be looked into and we will certainly take this matter further. Your feedback is very important to us and we thank you for raising this to us. We still hope to be able... More 

Berlin, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wasn't expecting for something extraordinary, but when i came in to the hotel i felt extremely comfortable. fantastic room and super comfortable bed! liks: Two mineral water bottles daily at your room (for free). Tea and coffee at your room (for free). iron in the room (a real one). A very good breakfast. Bed!!! Location. Very kind staff. everything iv'e... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear German-Israeli, Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to see that overall you have had an enjoyable stay. We do take feedback very seriously and appreciate your comments. Please rest assured that they will be passed on to the concerned department and will be dealt with. We thank you again... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel with my mum for one night. We had a twin room, which we requested to be quiet and were therefore put on the 6th floor at the side of the hotel. The facilities in the room were excellent. Plenty of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and water free of charge. Beds were very comfortable. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GregBlack, General Manager at Mercure London Bloomsbury, responded to this review

Dear ClurrrBee, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and that our staff was able to fulfill your requests. We are indeed just a short walk from Holborn or Russell Square stations and within walking distance from many other main points such as... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure London Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Bloomsbury

Address: 130 - 134 Southampton Row, London WC1B 5AF, England (Formerly Waverley House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure London Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Bloomsbury Hotel London
Waverley House Hotel London
Mercure London Bloomsbury England
Hotel Style:
#190 Business Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#233 Family Hotel in London
#297 Romantic Hotel in London

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (134)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
1:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood