We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 522 London B&Bs / inns

The Alma Hotel

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England (Clapham / Battersea )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Alma Hotel to your Saves list
The Alma Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
92%
Ranked #42 of 522 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
garethgreg Weymouth, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (157)
  • Photos (45)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (38)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    40
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
60
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Up from Dorset for a few nights in Wandsworth in the recent July heatwave and recommended by our daughter for some good beer and an evening meal. Couldn't be better - excellent Young's Special and some fine haddock and chips to rival those we get on the Dorset coast. We'll certainly come back for a meal again when we're in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

What's not to like? Situated right by Wandsworth Station (even my gran could hit it with a stone - sorry, gran), this is what hotels in London should be all about. Relatively cheap (I paid GBP 109 for a Saturday night's stay), I was amazed to find all the mod cons, plus more. Good sound-proofing in the room, all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Really glad to hear your stay here at the Alma was relaxing and very enjoyable. Hope to see you soon and all the best More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have had drinks and dinner athe Alma when visiting family in Wansworth but this was our first stay in the hotel. I was concerned it would be noisy- certainly the bar and dining room is always buzzing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was disappointed that the room with a bath that I had requested did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Alma for your stay in London. I’m very sorry that the receptionist did not deal with your request for a bath in your room as you wanted. However very glad to here the room you were provide with did not disappoint. We work hard at the alma to provide the highest standard possible for our... More

Blace, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Used to stop at the Alma before we had children for a drink on the commute home! We liked it then and the 25 years that have elapsed have done it no harm. A great menu, simple but more than enough variety, even for some of our fussy eaters! They do Sunday lunch and by the standards of this meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

The Sunday Roast is a great shout. Beef, pork & chicken served with roast potatoes, seasonal vegetables and double egg Yorkshire pudding. A perfect Sunday on a plate! Hope to see you soon More

Kosice, Slovakia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is a nice and clean hotel, with wonderful staff (receptionists, waiters, maids), very friendly and very helpful. They serve really perfect food, but their restaurant is not formal at all, you can feel at home when you are staying in this hotel. BUT DO NOT USE THE CARS they arrange for you (do not ask the hotel to arrange... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will raise your issues with our taxi company and endeavour for this not to be an issue in the future. More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our wedding reception at The Alma on 31 May 2014 and all our expectations were exceeded. The manager, Sean, is very passionate about his establishment and takes great pride in offering an excellent service. He provided a menu containing four options for each course which we circulated to our guests before the wedding. We took over the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

It was our absolute pleasure to host your special day at Alma. All the staff enjoyed being apart of a day which was a very fun and a joy to work. Look forward to seeing you guys soon. More

Melksham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this because of the rave reviews but have to say it was not as plush as I was expecting, from the reviews on here, and their own website. It was nice, but I had been expecting a little more luxury. The single beds were very close to each other, and very hard - some of the luxury items... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that your stay was below your expectations. The room you stayed ii si under a current review to see if improvements can to be made. Thank you for your comments as we welcome all feed back from our guest. Please do visit the Alma again More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was genuinely surprised at the warm welcome we received at the hotel. Everyone we came into contact with was friendly. We were able to check in at 10pm. The rooms were large and very clean. The bathroom was the size of the room that we stayed in on our last trip to London. The breakfast was really tasty and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Glad to hear the Alma and Wandsworth Town made your trip very enjoyable. Hope to see you soon. More

scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a stay of three nights there, and from the minute we arrived, we were welcomed as though we were returning home. Room was immaculate, no ' city odours' just so fresh relaxing,and after a long day, it was just what we needed. Staff are hard working, always smiling, always have time to make you comfortable, and very professional.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments. Glad you enjoyed all we had to offer and our staff looked after all your needs. Hope to see you soon. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very nice hotel - helpful staff, very clean and comfortable rooms, good facilities, good food. Room rates are a little expensive but this is the case with London in general, so I would still thoroughly recommend The Alma Hotel, especially for a special occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Really glad you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Alma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel London, England

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer