We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Alma Hotel

4.0 of 5 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Alma Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Alma Hotel
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    48
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
30
85
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (191)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

whenever we stay it all seems so effortless. The staff are very attentive but never on your case,they are all positive and genuinely seem to enjoy their jobs. Rooms as are perfect and you feel all is well with the world when staying there. Room service is prompt and always delivered with a smile and the food is excellent. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Billy H, Thank you for your review. We aim to please all our guests on their overall experience of The Alma as you have obviously enjoyed. Your feedback is very much appreciated. Regards, The Alma More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at The Alma for 9 nights in December at the recommendation of a friend based in London. Lovely hotel beautifully renovated - rooms of a very high standard and quiet. Only had breakfast in the restaurant but very good - seemed busy for dinner every night. Very close to all transport links - only 100m walk to Wandsworth Town... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anita, Thank you for your feedback. It is excellent for us to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and you are correct, all our rooms are of a very high standard. Regards, The Alma More 

London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

We booked this hotel for our wedding on a recommendation from a friend as well as the great reviews on this website. It was by no means bad but I must say we were quite disappointed. On arriving the night before our wedding my fiancé and I scaled the many stairs with all our honeymoon luggage and wedding suits etc... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alice, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is much appreciated. We are disappointed to hear that you were offered no assistance with your luggage once you arrived and also with your menu card. We always endeavour to take care of our guests in the best possible manner and assist them with all their requirements so we will ensure... More 

Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Just back in Norway after xmas shopping-weekend in London. We really enjoyed our accomodation at The Alma. Hotel, bar and rstaurant! The hotel has modern rooms - big comfy beds - nice size - minibar and BIG bathroom. The welcoming and servicequality in reception, restaurant and bar was fantastic. Very good atmosphere throughout. Breakfast VERY good - consisting of all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rune, Thank you for your review. Your feedback is much appreciated. We are very pleased to hear that your overall experience of our hotel, bar, restaurant and staff were positive and you enjoyed as well our surrounding shops and amentities as well as our location and access to transport links. Regards, The Alma More 

London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

Another fantastic stay in this great hotel. The rooms are always so clean and comfortable. The breakfast selection is sure to satisfy almost everyone. The bar has a great vibe, full of friends catching up over a couple of drinks. Try the fresh sausage rolls with a pint of Youngs! The Alma is opposite the train station so central London... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Super Nick, Thanks for your feedback. Your review encompasses the type of review we want all our guests to share... in a perfect world. Thank you again and we are pleased to hear back from you. regards, The Alma More 

Bridgnorth
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Very, very smart rooms, a stylish restaurant and lively bar. I arrived early for my room and the staff were most helpful organising the housekeeping staff so that I didn't need to wait long. My lunch wasn't anything special although others around me seemed to have chosen better! Good breakfast too and right opposite Wandsworth Town station so really convenient... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robin, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased we were able to assist you with an early check in and our staff were as helpful as ever. Regards, The Alma More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Great room, excellent food at lunch and breakfast, buzzing bar in the evening, friendly staff, all at reasonable rate. Easy to get to and in a good location, right opposite Wandsworth station. Would certainly stay again if in London.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Di, Thank you for your feedback and recommendation. We are well pleased to hear you enjoyed staying with us. Regards, The Alma More 

Hampshire, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Everything is really good here. Great service, rooms, breakfast and the location is convenient for getting into the central London quickly. I am a little reluctant to tell everyone how good it is as it will be harder to get a reservation probably but then it is seriously good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard, thank you for your feedback. It pleases us to hear that your overall experience of our hotel rooms, breakfast, staff and location meet with your approval. Regards, The Alma More 

Hampshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Bang opposite Wandsworth Station, with buses and taxis passing the door, (and there are Boris bikes just outside too for those who like to combine exercise with sightseeing) the Alma Hotel is a five star hotel with luxury far beyond the price and a breakfast to match! The pub will be very busy, particularly on rugby days, but the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Breakfast was phenomenal. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was elegant and comfortable- and quiet, which was surprising given the lively pub down the hall. The one night we had dinner there it was superb. Two downsides- the refrigerator wasn't very cold but that may be to UK regulations. The one morning we asked for "breakfast on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Dear P Dalgers, Thank you very much for your review. Your feedback and enthusiasm regarding our hotel and your stay with us is what we are always striving for in regards to all our guests. Regards, The Alma More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel London, England

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay