We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 522 London B&Bs / inns

The Alma Hotel

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England (Clapham / Battersea )
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Alma Hotel to your Saves list
The Alma Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
92%
Ranked #38 of 522 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
grannyross north wales
  • Overview
  • Reviews (158)
  • Photos (48)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    40
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
63
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just spent 3 nights in The Alma wandsworth. We had room 17 which was at the side & was very quiet. Our room was lovely, a kingsisze bed with lovely white bedding & 2 lovely pillows each. The bathroom was large with a huge walk in shower all toiletries & fluffy white towels. There was a coffee maker with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was extremely easy to get to - it is directly across from the Wandsworth Town train station. The entrance to the hotel is just off the the right of the main building - it's a little opening where flowers are sold and you can walk into the reception area of the hotel. So cute! The hotel is very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank for stayingat the Alma for you stay in London. More

Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at The Alma for our honeymoon in London from July 10 - 16. We have been raving about it ever since. Each day we went down for breakfast and we were amazed at the breakfast selection. Everything was fantastic. The staff was so friendly everyday. We went into Central London via Wandsworth Town Station which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for chosing the Alma for your speical trip to London. It was our absolute pleasure. See you soon guys More

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Up from Dorset for a few nights in Wandsworth in the recent July heatwave and recommended by our daughter for some good beer and an evening meal. Couldn't be better - excellent Young's Special and some fine haddock and chips to rival those we get on the Dorset coast. We'll certainly come back for a meal again when we're in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Sunday lunch is defiantly a must! Thanks so much guys and hope to see you in Autumn. It was our pleasure More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What's not to like? Situated right by Wandsworth Station (even my gran could hit it with a stone - sorry, gran), this is what hotels in London should be all about. Relatively cheap (I paid GBP 109 for a Saturday night's stay), I was amazed to find all the mod cons, plus more. Good sound-proofing in the room, all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Really glad to hear your stay here at the Alma was relaxing and very enjoyable. Hope to see you soon and all the best More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We have had drinks and dinner athe Alma when visiting family in Wansworth but this was our first stay in the hotel. I was concerned it would be noisy- certainly the bar and dining room is always buzzing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was disappointed that the room with a bath that I had requested did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Alma for your stay in London. I’m very sorry that the receptionist did not deal with your request for a bath in your room as you wanted. However very glad to here the room you were provide with did not disappoint. We work hard at the alma to provide the highest standard possible for our... More

Blace, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Used to stop at the Alma before we had children for a drink on the commute home! We liked it then and the 25 years that have elapsed have done it no harm. A great menu, simple but more than enough variety, even for some of our fussy eaters! They do Sunday lunch and by the standards of this meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

The Sunday Roast is a great shout. Beef, pork & chicken served with roast potatoes, seasonal vegetables and double egg Yorkshire pudding. A perfect Sunday on a plate! Hope to see you soon More

Kosice, Slovakia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

It is a nice and clean hotel, with wonderful staff (receptionists, waiters, maids), very friendly and very helpful. They serve really perfect food, but their restaurant is not formal at all, you can feel at home when you are staying in this hotel. BUT DO NOT USE THE CARS they arrange for you (do not ask the hotel to arrange... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will raise your issues with our taxi company and endeavour for this not to be an issue in the future. More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had our wedding reception at The Alma on 31 May 2014 and all our expectations were exceeded. The manager, Sean, is very passionate about his establishment and takes great pride in offering an excellent service. He provided a menu containing four options for each course which we circulated to our guests before the wedding. We took over the restaurant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

It was our absolute pleasure to host your special day at Alma. All the staff enjoyed being apart of a day which was a very fun and a joy to work. Look forward to seeing you guys soon. More

Melksham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I booked this because of the rave reviews but have to say it was not as plush as I was expecting, from the reviews on here, and their own website. It was nice, but I had been expecting a little more luxury. The single beds were very close to each other, and very hard - some of the luxury items... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
The_Alma, Manager at The Alma Hotel, responded to this review

Sorry that your stay was below your expectations. The room you stayed ii si under a current review to see if improvements can to be made. Thank you for your comments as we welcome all feed back from our guest. Please do visit the Alma again More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Alma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alma Hotel

Address: 499 Old York Road | Wandsworth, London SW18 1TF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alma Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your The Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alma Hotel London, England

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
1:39
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
23

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Alma Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer