We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thistle Hyde Park

4.0 of 5 90-92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thistle Hyde Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thistle Hyde Park
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    202
    55
    27
    18
See reviews for
87
190
30
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (471)
  • Mar-May only
    (111)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (133)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (103)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

It was like the three bears, the first room (4th Floor) the toilet did not work, after asking to move we were given a room on the 2nd Floor, which was far smaller than the room we had left, bed against the wall with a view of the ventilation system which was making a noise. Getting ready to go back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I read in shock and horror the review by "Ask Naresh1410" which was posted on the 11th of September 2014. It clearly reflects more on the person who wrote it than on the Hotel in question and its staff. My wife and I have been guests, and I mean this in the true sense of the word, at the Thistle... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was very interested to read the last review of afternoon tea at The Thistle. I visited today, with three friends, for a 60th birthday celebration and it was clear that the Management have taken on board the previous complaint. From the moment we arrived to the time we left, two hours later, the service couldn't have been better. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a night with my teenage son after a long flight from Australia. Checkin was smooth and the room was comfortable and had good wi-fi. The kitchen was closed when we called for room service but we did manage to get a sandwich and a cup of tea. Breakfast was reasonable, the staff friendly and they were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nameet_Asher, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Sally N, Thank you for your honest feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to make our guest feel comfortable and welcome and I am happy to read that you felt that way. We have limited room service menu after 11pm and that is something we will review in the future. We... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love the location & slightly faded grandure of this hotel. It undoubtedly needs updating to be truly worthy of it's 4 stars but I think the management realise this because they always offer us an upgrade & treats of wine, chocs etc. If you want to in the West End I'd highly recommend it, v friendly & about 1/4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is just a short walk from the station and overlooking Hyde Park. It has a charming , old fashioned façade. We were shown to a table for two and asked if we wanted our champagne to start with, which we enjoyed. The 'tea' arrived soon after. Must say we were rather disappointed with the selection. It looked nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCGM_HydePark, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Tina A, Thank you for your honest review! I am really glad you appreciate the charm of our hotel, however I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the selection accompanying the Afternoon tea. We have taken your feedback on board and we will look into replacing the items you didn't enjoy as much with better ones.... More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had stayed in the hotel on the 12th of October 2014. The location is simply perfect if you want to stay close to Oxford street and Hyde Park, obviously. The hotel is abit dated, and, having visited quite a few hotels around the world I would give it a fair 3-star. The staff were polite and responded generally well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VCGM_HydePark, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear travelmonster2014, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you found our staff polite, although I was disappointed to hear that you were not promptly acknowledged. We always aim to make our guests feel welcome and I am sorry you didn't feel that way. Customer service is of paramount importance to us and we take all feedback received... More

kent
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thanks to a fab discount via Wowcher/Travelzoo....a friend and I spent a lovely hour or 2 sipping champagne and enjoying a collection of chocolate brownies, carrot cake, scones with the trimmings, lemon posset and cute sandwiches....the staff were perfectly lovely...the hotel elegant. Thankyou Caz

Was this review helpful? Yes
VCGM_HydePark, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and that you felt the charm of the Old Times. It is a touch we are very proud of. It would be great if you could come and stay with us, as you could experience the lovely atmosphere of our rooms, with grand chandeliers, marbled bathrooms and elegant sitting areas.... More

Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights and we were quite happy with this hotel. It was great that it provided a iron board and an iron, the location was great, I was surprised by the fact that there was no mini bar in the rooms... You should have your own water for the night...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
VCGM_HydePark, Value Centre General Manager at Thistle Hyde Park, responded to this review

Good Afternoon dkn77! Thank you for your review! I really appreciate your feedback. Our rooms do not have mini-bars as you rightly mentioned, however our Deluxe, Executive and Junior Suite Rooms have fridges where we stock water for our guests. We are also looking into improving our product within the next year with improved facilities for every room type, possibly... More

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I both stayed here as part of his birthday week, where we stayed for one evening and moved on. It happened to be my husbands birthday, the night we stayed here. This was by far our worst hotel, and wouldn't recommend it at all. I left some feedback and I didn't receive any kind of response. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thistle Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Hyde Park

Address: 90-92 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thistle Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Hyde Park London, England
Thistle Hyde Park Hotel London

421 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (278)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Twin Room (48)
Viewed
Junior Suite (47)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (40)
Viewed
Suite (56)
Viewed
The Hotel (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay