We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The William IV

786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The William IV
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was on a business trip and looking for hotels in that area it was good value for money. Big and clean room, nice (continental?) breakfast, quiet although there's the pub downstairs. You can also eat quite good there. Staff was also friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank mirjah2016
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. It is great to hear you were satisfied with standards of your room. Yes, we do serve a continental breakfast at William IV and are glad you did enjoy that too. Hoping to welcome you again once you plan the visit around this area next... More 

Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed 1 night but room was lovely plenty of room and clean. No noise and we would recommend it. I would have given it a 5 had there been a cooked breakfast in the morning but the chef didn't turn up and it was left to someone new to this pub to do the best he could. All... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tashat23
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest What a great beginning of a day for us to read your kind comment. We are glad you had a good rest at William IV. We are trying to improve conditions of our rooms constantly which is noticeable after last guest's reviews, that is important to us that our guests appreciate that. During the week it is always... More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From now on, whenever I visit London, I will stay at the William 4th. Value for money and location wise, I have not found anything better. I had stayed here before and always been happy with the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendly helpful staff. So on Friday 15th Jan, when visiting London for a night out with two... More 

Helpful?
Thank michael c
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Michael We would like to thank you for your kind review, also, for the fact you convinced your friends to stay here as well and hope you had a great night out altogether. We love the fact our guests become our regular ones. We do our best to provide the best service we can and are very happy when... More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent stay, the staff was lovely and the room was very pretty and confortable. There was a lot of choices for the breakfast which is great. I would go back there for sure. And I have already recommend it to my friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissarougeron
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Melissa Thank you very much for such kind review and recommending us to your friends and family. Receiving comments like that is a big compliment, encouraging and motivating us to do our best. We are trying to improve everything at William IV and all reviews are very important to us, also, words of criticism, if not them, guests wouldn't... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015

We always stay here when we go to concerts in London as the location is central to most concert locations. Room is clean and bed is comfortable. Also when we get back from the concert we are always allowed into the public bar area where there is normally a function.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Mandy We would like to thank you very much for your kind review which is not the first one :) It is so nice to hear you had a great stay with us. We really hope you come back to us again next time you plan to go for another concert at Wembley and you are always more than... More 

St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

I spent a night in William IV and I can understand negative reports here. The main thing you need to know is that there is a night club on the ground floor. So yes - it is noisy until 3 am, so if you are traveling with a child or just want a quit place - go somewhere else. On... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alexei P
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. On some weekend evenings our bar area can be lively, and on these nights guests are always asked ahead of time whether they require a quiet room. You are of course always welcome to join the party! However for the vast majority of the time William IV provides a... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015

If you do find yourself here, don't do what I did and pay on arrival like the grim staff ask you to. Have a look around first. The room was dark and dingy and looked out onto a noisy main road. There was plenty of noise from downstairs even early in the evening, too. Worst of all was the smell.... More 

Helpful?
Thank davidU6860YH
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your valuable feedback. At William IV Guesthouse we take all comments seriously and do our best to improve on areas where we may have let guests down. All of our bedrooms are aired and freshened to ensure there are no lingering odours are left after the previous guests have departed. We apologise if your room... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bushey, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2015

Our stay in The William is always quality. However they were recently overbooked and we were moved to The Black lion Kilburn. Rooms were dirty and the glass chandeliers shook all night and kept us up.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bazkill
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It's great to hear that your stay at William IV is always a quality experience, and we are sorry that we could not accommodate you for your recent visit. We're surprised to hear that your stay at the alternate hotel didn't quite match the standards that you're used to at William IV, and will be investigating that further.... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

Bathroom, tiny, mouldy and the whole place was dark, dusty and smelt. Bed sheets had marks on, left within ten minutes of being there and was issued a full refund and we contacted the website we booked with and they managed to find us another hotel nearby. Also the hotel told us there was parking, there is absolutely know where... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ellejon
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review, we take all comments seriously and are always doing our best to keep improving the conditions at William IV. I am sorry for your disappointment; however I feel that it is a little unfair to post a review almost 12 months after your visit, because it does not accurately reflect how the hotel... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

Honestly, the worst play I have ever "slept" in. Advancing Professional Decision MakingWe booked to stay on a Saturday night (through booking.com). Arriving at 3pm we are shown to our room by the receptionist. the first thing that hits you is the smell of grease throughout the building. We then leave our bags and go for dinner with friends, returning... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eamonn B
bm202, Manager at The William IV, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are really sorry to hear you were so disappointed with our place. We do keep informing our guests we have the bar opened on Fridays and Saturdays until 2.00am and that involves music. We do apologise. You also mentioned you could smell the grease throughout the building which is the first complaint we have ever had regarding... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
#691 of 1,059 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#686 of 1,059 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#313 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,564 reviews
Tune Hotel - Paddington
#307 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,422 reviews
Windmill Hotel
#221 of 549 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay