We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
111 Grosvenor Road | Pimlico, London SW1V 3LG, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    191
    129
    29
    12
    0
See reviews for
24
30
163
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (361)
  • Mar-May only
    (89)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (101)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (85)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (86)
All months
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very friendly and helpful staff! Delicious breakfast! Free coffee, soda, and juice all day! Nice, quiet location near Pimlico station. Views of the Thames. Nice outdoor patio and entrance to a deck from some rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travel Joy is certainly the best hostel in London!! If you are with a family or with a friend or solo and if you are looking for a hostel in London, then your search ends at Traveljoy. All the facilities here are excellent! I was solo and stayed at Traveljoy in mid-July, 2015, for four nights and it was definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the beautiful and detailed review of your stay; It makes us very proud and happy that you have had such a good time here. We hope to see you next time you come to London and make your stay even better!! Meli C. More 

Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais, Brazil
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this hostel after a friend recommended it to me. Surely it was a good choice. Good location, with a bus stop right in front of it, which was essential for my visit since I came in one of the days of the worst tube strike in 13 years in London. Very pleasant location next to the river. Walking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Dear Marcela, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review; we appreciate it very much! I am glad you found the amenities and the room you booked of your liking, we hope next time you visit London you choose to stay with us again, and hopefully for longer! Meli C. More 

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at Travel Joy for 3 nights in July. The Hostel is cool, it's in the same building as a pub but it's a pretty chill, quiet sleeping space, I never heard any noise from the pub at night while sleeping! It's clean and secure so I'm not sure what else you could ask for! It's located pretty close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Hi Brittany! Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. I am very pleased to hear you made the most of our good location and big breakfast, too bad you didn't let us know you wanted some extra stuff in your omelettes, we would have done it gladly for you! I am sorry... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hostel was exceptional in terms of customer service and cleanliness. The place is a bit worn out and not very modern, but it is still kept very clean and tidy. The free breakfast is also okay with a wide variety.

Was this review helpful? Yes
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on our hostel. Our building is one of the oldest standing by the Thames after the bombing of WWII, because of this most of the renovations we can do are only internal and mostly decorative unfortunately. Still we make our biggest effort to make people as comfortable... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015

Stayed here on my visit to London. It's in pimlico and I want to say the closest station is pimlico. From there, I was make my way to the main well known tourist sites quite easy. There are bicycles you can access, buses, or simply by foot like I did. The staff is very informative and accommodating. There are teas,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Hi Mai, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on your hostel. I am very happy you found your location so comfortable and that you could enjoy our famous breakfast! Hope you choose to stay with us on your next visit to London! Meli. C More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

The staff were very cooperative and room were nice and clean. The bus stop is just next to the door. Although the wash rooms have a sort of a queue in the morning when the hostel is fully booked. The 12 bedded room i stayed in only had a shower area and not a bath room. However it was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review! We apologize for the morning queue to your shower, to avoid that kind of issues we always point out there are more showers and toilets available. We are very happy you could enjoy our amenities and that you had a good time at the hostel. Hope to... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

If you be affraid to know a real pub in UK, this is a beginning. The hostel is very beautiful, with a vintage face. The people who works there are cool and very lovely. The problems are the Internet, whom doesn't work in the bedrooms, and the fell number of bathrooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Hi Winnie, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts on our hostel. We are very sorry you had problems with wifi; we have a 24/7 IT support at the hostel, we could have done something about it if you had let us know! About the bathrooms, we know it can get crowded at certain times of... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

For a first time hostel experience, TravelJoy was pretty good - I was expecting a lot worse. My husband & I stayed in Rm3 (6 beds) for 6 nights but weren't able to get the same bunk so we had different people move in/out each day which would have been better had they put us on the same bunk. Breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Hi Morgan and Erika, Thank you for spending time leaving us a your thoughts on our hostel. We are sorry we couldn't put you guys on the same bunk, but sometimes it is quite difficult to relocate people within the same room. We are happy you could enjoy our amenities and that your first experience in a hostel was a... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Good first hostel experience in London. Great live music with open mic nights and cheap drinks at the bar. Easy access to underground made travel easy. Was great waking up to a breakfast spread each morning to fill up for a day of exploring. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
senansexton, Manager at Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea, responded to this review

Hi Mikaela, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at our hostel and our free events too. Hope you choose to stay with us again if you ever come back to London Meli C. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

185 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (101)
Viewed
Other (60)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (9)
Viewed
Shared Bathrooms (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#58 of 692 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#106 of 692 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#67 of 692 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#83 of 692 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Pimlico

Neighborhood Profile
Pimlico
Time spent in Pimlico is a slower-paced affair than most other Central London neighborhoods. This largely residential area orderly arranged beside the Thames, is a treasure trove of quaint pubs, subtle architectural charms and local boutiques. Here, art lovers thrill at the chance to visit the world class Tate Britain gallery for its collection of British art from the 1500s to the present. For peace and quiet and some downtime spent along the Thames, Pimlico is highly recommended.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Back to top
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay