We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bermondsey Square Hotel

4.0 of 5 Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    288
    80
    22
    16
See reviews for
73
376
57
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (785)
  • Mar-May only
    (212)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (211)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (213)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (149)
All months
Isle of Man
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at the Bermondsey Square Hotel for 2 nights in November 2014. Before I stayed I had looked at the hotel's website and from the pictures it looked modern, chique, trendy, etc. I think the website photographs must have been taken at the time the hotel opened as my room was starting to look a little tired in terms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we were warned the hotel had been taken over by an Arab gentleman and as a result some Muslim traditions had been implemented. It didnt really affect my stay as i did not require a bar serving alcohol etc. the room was clean and comfortable and ideally positioned for The Shard at a fraction of the price. I had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is great apart from the staff. Lovely rooms and very well appointed. But Staff where rude especially the restaurant staff. I asked for a coffe and was told to wait because he was busy, doing paper work! I waited for about 5 mins while he completed some forms and then a very brusque what do u want! Evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Speedy check in and check out by friendly staff. Rooms and en-suite spotless and a good size. Little fridge, iron, hair-dryer etc all provided. I hadn't spotted the fact that there was no alcohol served in the restaurant (apparently a recent investor doesn't want it) so was disappointed not to sample the food here. (I like to have an alcoholic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Staffordshire, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

First visit to this hotel. Great location short walk from underground and within walking distance of lots of sights and eating places. The staff were very friendly. Room on the 6 th floor. We had a problem with wifi the day before and they swapped rooms for us with no qualms. They could not do enough for you. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Milford Haven
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely three night stay here in October. Fab view form 5th floor and staff so friendly. Have booked to return for New Years Eve, Very worried now after reading reviews. Should we stay or should we cancel?

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FlorenceMilfordH Please rest assured that despite the rather embellished articles in the press and the best efforts of some to discredit us, the only change that has been made is that we have stopped selling alcohol other than to those that have pre-booked meals with us prior to the change of ownership. You are very welcome to consume your... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night at the Lucy Suite in November just after change in owners. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Our room and facilities, including hot tub were wonderful. The restaurant were very clear there was no alcohol being served so we chose to go out to a local restaurant for our evening meal as we were meeting friends and were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Quorndon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very nice hotel. Check in was very speedy, friendly and efficient. I had a room on the 6th floor which was spacious with a large desk area which contained a fridge for personal use. One drawback is the windows are all sealed (or at least they were in the room I stayed in) so no way to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is in a fantastic location, close to a lot of sights and places a visitor to London would want to visit. Many sights are within walking distance. Room was very clean and the staff very friendly. Ticked all the boxes for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dreadful hotel now, have stayed in once before a few years back when it was good. Arrived on 3rd Nov, hotel changed hands now and I was told its run within the laws of Sharia, under the guidance of Islam etc. Asked if we could get a refund on the money which we had paid in advance for the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 79
Robert_Holland, General Manager at The Bermondsey Square Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rpb77 Had you indeed stayed at the hotel as you claim you have you would be aware that contrary to media reports our menu has not changed and we continue to serve pork products, albeit we are looking to change this in the new year. With the change of ownership on the 8th November a week after your alleged... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Bermondsey Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bermondsey Square Hotel

Address: Tower Bridge Rd, Bermondsey Square, London SE1 3UN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bermondsey Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Bermondsey Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bermondsey Square Hotel
Hotel Bermondsey Square
The Bermondsey Square Hotel London, England

505 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (63)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Other (59)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (301)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Club Room (37)
Viewed
Club Room II (40)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (22)
Viewed
Superior Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
The Lily (62)
Viewed
The Lucy (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay