We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 606 London accommodations

Smart Russell Square Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Smart Russell Square Hostel to your Saves list
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
19%
Ranked #393 of 606 Specialty lodging in London
  • Reviews (278)
  • Photos (26)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (27)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    74
    57
    97
See reviews for
7
23
66
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Backpacking through Europe on a budget, we picked this as our hostel for London. The heatwave that swept through London during our stay added to our frustrations with this place. The room we stayed in housed 24 travelers. There is no air conditioning in the room. Our attempts to sleep left us sweating throughout the night. The general lobby area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Ok well I'd never really choose to stay at a hostel but this was on a organised stag trip and booked via chillisauce.co.uk location wise it's very good tube station in the street behind with a tesco express and a pret ideal for breakfast !! We were a large group split between two rooms 8 in ours bunk beds 3... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location, close to Russell Square underground and generally easy to find however i found the staff not friendly and i felt like i was bothering them when asking enquiries. Also showers were terrible (literally a hose stuck on the wall) and my dorm was right next to building construction and the workers walking past my door which made me... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pontevedra, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff wasn't too friendly and our room had people leaving at all times of the night, however the location is great. The main complaint I have is that the remodeling makes the place look pretty dodgy. They should put up a better sign.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for your review. We apologise for any inconvenience while we upgrade, it'll be over soon and we will definitely be looking at better signage. Cheers. More

Split, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hostel is very easy to find. It´s around 10 min by walk from subway. Rooms look like in hospital. Blue courtains and very small space. What i like was locker, which was free of charge and you dont need to use your lock, cause you can open it very simply with your card. For this card you need to pay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Glad you found the Hostel's location helpful. Unfortunately for our current guests we are in the process of refurbishment. We can only apologise for the inconvenience. Fortunately things will be so much better in the near future! More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed at many hostels in my time... So you could call me a hostel-connoisseur. Unfortunately, this one did not live up to the ratings and reviews which I have read. I really do hope that it was just a one-off because my time was not pleasant. First blunder, they did not have any towels to rent. Apparently they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Unfortunately for our current guests we are in the process of refurbishment. We can only apologise for the inconvenience. Fortunately things will be so much better in the near future! Hope you'll come back and compare when we've finished the upgrade. More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Location is the best for this hostel and it is cheap as well. However, there were no sockets in the rooms which was just unbelievable considering that everybody needs to charge at least their cell phones... There was also an extra fee if you wanted a locker. Showers were terrible. Yet, the staff was helpful and breakfast was included to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Glad you found the team friendly and the Hostel handy. Unfortunately for our current guests we are in the process of refurbishment. We can only apologise for the inconvenience. Fortunately things will be so much better in the future, including more power points! Thanks for the review. More

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Despite reading many negative reviews of this place, I thought it would be ok as we were travelling in a large group (11 people) and I always take negative reviews on Trip Advisor with a pinch of salt as many are incorrect and a little snooty. I highly urge you not to read this one in that way. We arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Ill equipped and ill informed, rude staff made my stay appalling. Checking in took over an hour because of various mix ups caused by the greeting staff, one key opening the door of two wrong dorm rooms for our booking (doesn't say much for security). Night staff hassling us as we came back from our event regarding our payment, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hello, i will recommend to do not go to this place, bed are complete boxes, and i had a dispute with the bed, and they say me to find somewhere else and they will refund the money and after 10 minutes they do not wanted, have to say, than even the mistake was for the girl working on there, she... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

We are continuously seeking ways of improving our service's quality, so thank you for your feedback. We have a strict 24 hour cancellation policy so after checking in we do not refund the amount for the first night stay. We do apologize if this rule was not communicated clearly. We hope you will stay with us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Smart Russell Square Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Smart Russell Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Russell Square Hostel

Address: 70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Smart Russell Square Hostel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Smart Russell Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Russell Square Hotel London
Smart Russell Square Hostel London, England

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
60

See which rooms travelers prefer