We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 624 London accommodations

Smart Russell Square Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Smart Russell Square Hostel to your Saves list
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
21%
Ranked #375 of 624 Specialty Lodging in London
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    51
    85
    63
    105
See reviews for
8
27
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Absolute worst hostel we have stayed in so far - we were desperate for a place last minute and this was our only choice. Staff are completely hopeless, as English is clearly a second language trying to communicate a simple thing like extending our stay took over an hour. The room we were transferred too had - no running water,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
aldershot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night in an ensuite twin room when visiting London for a hen do. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was good size and clean. Ensuite bathroom was exceptionally clean. No storage or hanging space or furniture in the room and only mirror was in the bathroom so was a bit awkward and no curtains on the window although... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel is in a good location, just 5mins from tube station. Clean, friendly staff. The only thing I'd say made me score it as just average is there were only 2 plug sockets in a room for 12 people meant I had to sit in the common room each night to charge my phone

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, it is a nice and clean accommodation to stay. The receptionists were kind and helpful. Comfortable to have clean sheets while checking in. Breakfast was simple but it was the value for money. However, the water in the room was not running properly, but not sure the other rooms. Also, the bathroom should have a mirror with a clean... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here quite a while ago (5 years or so). The staff back then were hit and miss, but there were two very nice night staff members, good for a chat. The location is very central. The price in a 16 or so bed dorm back then was approx 10€ pp per night (midweek). I have been to another 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave this review. We are very pleased to hear you were happy with our prices, we try to offer competitive budget prices for our awesome guests! We are also happy to hear about the improvement in our staff. We have implemented new customer service training to make sure our staff can make your... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed in this hostel for four days to explore London. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The beds are incredibly small. I'm 1.73 cm and I hardly fitted in the bed. The breakfast contains toast, jam and cornflakes and that's it, so after breakfast you're still starving so we just went out for breakfast. The rooms are really small,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize if you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. We try to offer affordable accommodation for budget-minded travellers. We hope to see you soon. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great place to stay, friendly visitors and staff, safe secure venue, clean kitchen and showers. easy venue to get to, great transport links for travelling around London with two major rail stations close by.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide your valuable positive feedback. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay and you are more then welcome to come back anytime! More

Mezy-sur-Seine, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very closed to the center, and moving place. You can easily come back by feet. Breakfast was simply but in agree with the low price of the room. Quiet room. Shower was ok. Bed was too little for me (1m85) I recommand it to be close to the center

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This must be the worst place I have ever seen. First of all the beds are too small! For me (187cm) this ment I was unable to sleep in any comfortable position. A major problem is the inability to charge your phone at night. There is no charging possibility at the beds, there might be two sockets in a 9-persons... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, it's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. I am sorry about the lack of charging points but because our buildings are listed we can only modify the buildings interior and exterior to a certain point. For this reason, we have limited charging points in the room. However if you... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

What do people expect for the cheapest central london hostel? It's no frills bed for the night. You're in London, go and explore. Staff are fine, luggage storage good, they have a kitchen. All ok with me, stayed here lots.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing an awesome review. We really do hope we will see you again! Cheers More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Smart Russell Square Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Smart Russell Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Russell Square Hostel

Address: 70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Smart Russell Square Hostel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Smart Russell Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Russell Square Hotel London
Smart Russell Square Hostel London, England

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities