We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 622 London accommodations

Smart Russell Square Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Smart Russell Square Hostel to your Saves list
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
20%
Ranked #396 of 622 Specialty lodging in London
  • Overview
  • Reviews (309)
  • Photos (37)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (31)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    48
    83
    62
    104
See reviews for
7
27
74
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We've stayed in this hostel for four days to explore London. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The beds are incredibly small. I'm 1.73 cm and I hardly fitted in the bed. The breakfast contains toast, jam and cornflakes and that's it, so after breakfast you're still starving so we just went out for breakfast. The rooms are really small,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great place to stay, friendly visitors and staff, safe secure venue, clean kitchen and showers. easy venue to get to, great transport links for travelling around London with two major rail stations close by.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to provide your valuable positive feedback. We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay and you are more then welcome to come back anytime! More

Mezy-sur-Seine, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very closed to the center, and moving place. You can easily come back by feet. Breakfast was simply but in agree with the low price of the room. Quiet room. Shower was ok. Bed was too little for me (1m85) I recommand it to be close to the center

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. Our goal is to provide clean, budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This must be the worst place I have ever seen. First of all the beds are too small! For me (187cm) this ment I was unable to sleep in any comfortable position. A major problem is the inability to charge your phone at night. There is no charging possibility at the beds, there might be two sockets in a 9-persons... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, it's unfortunate you didn't enjoy your stay. Our goal is to provide budget-conscious accommodation in Central London. I am sorry about the lack of charging points but because our buildings are listed we can only modify the buildings interior and exterior to a certain point. For this reason, we have limited charging points in the room. However if you... More

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What do people expect for the cheapest central london hostel? It's no frills bed for the night. You're in London, go and explore. Staff are fine, luggage storage good, they have a kitchen. All ok with me, stayed here lots.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing an awesome review. We really do hope we will see you again! Cheers More

Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is in great location to the bus station, underground and supermarket! It was also walking distance to good nightlife and shopping areas. The hostel provided free breakfast but it ended way too early, 9:30am! The room was fine except for the fact that my sister got bed bugs. There was only 1 outlet in the room that we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caitlin W, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello. Many thanks for staying with us and for providing your valuable feedback. We invest substantial amounts of money in pest control and after 15 years of running our Hostels, we have systems in place to protect our Guests. We have passed on your comment about bed bugs to the hostel to look into. Our guest's safety is our number... More

Boskovice, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We chosed this hostel because it was the cheapest option and we needed just sleep one night. It was quite terrible stay. The were very hot, showers are located in a basement and some of them weren't working. This is place should be your last choice or if you need just sleep in a quite good part of London.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hi. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We note it has been quite a while since you stayed with us. Our team have been busy renovating the premises, which should be finished soon. One of the improvements is the addition of ensuites into the rooms. You would be very welcome to come back to compare. More

Oamaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Well.. the location is quiet and good. The staff are ok... not the most helpful.As for the £10 key charge in cash each well thats a bit much. The curtains on the bunks are good but the lack of electrical points and distance to showers is a bit silly. Overall nothing was outstanding but worth the £15 I guess

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Our aim is to provide clean, safe, low-cost, budget accommodation in Central London for our valued Guests. We do not pretend to be a 5 star venue and really appreciate your feedback. Thanks again. More

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Stayed here on the night of the 24th July as i was out in the city for my 21st as i'd had a bad experience with a London Hostel before i was dreading it. We checked in at 8pm and the staff explained everything. Room was a comfortable size (we were in a 6 bed mixed dorm) and the beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scott P, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Happy Birthday! And thank you for your review.We hope you had a great time for your birthday and hope to see you again. Cheers. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Smart Russell Square Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Smart Russell Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Russell Square Hostel

Address: 70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Smart Russell Square Hostel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Smart Russell Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Russell Square Hotel London
Smart Russell Square Hostel London, England

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Smart Russell Square Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer