We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 580 London accommodations

Smart Russell Square Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Smart Russell Square Hostel to your Saves list
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 3 more sites!
20%
Ranked #374 of 580 Specialty lodging in London
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    68
    53
    93
See reviews for
7
21
65
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Angers, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked here because of the location and the unbeatable price, but those were the only 2 positive things about our experience. Beware, this place is not well-marked, not marked at all in fact. No sign out front, nothing, and the address on the website wasn't correct (at least when we were there), so we spent about an hour running... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guests comments very seriously. We have different types of dormitories to suit different types of travellers depending on their budget. We offer a cheap and competitive accommodation at very good location. First of all I would like to say that our address is correct on our website but still we are sorry... More

Nr brum
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Glad that was all! We booked as 4 people in a six bed en-suite dorm. We were put in 2 seperate rooms. 2 of us on top floor and 2 in basement...in a 9 bed dorm. The two in basement were also made to check out the next day and check in again. The people in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are really sorry you didn't enjoy your experience in our Smart Russell Square Hostel. We take our guests feedback very seriously. Sometimes it happens that there is a need for changing rooms in the middle of the stay and we are sorry for all the inconvenience it's causing. We are undergoing a refurbishment... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, it's not the worst hostel I ever stayed in but it's quite close, and to be the only one I ever stayed at in my home country I am quite ashamed. First off, a sign, or even a note on the door stating that 'this is the place you are looking for!', would be helpful. We had to take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hey there! Thank you for your comment. Some of the things you've mentioned are being resolved right now. The hostel is undergoing a refurbishment and the rooms will all have en-suite bathrooms. Also we apologize for the inconvenience caused by our standard sized beds, 6ft 5in is a height way above average. We do our best to keep the stock... More

Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Typical hostel with typical problems, terrible showers with no temperature adjustment, just a few sockets and just one type of meal for the breakfast. wifi is slow but works also on some rooms, toilets are clean and inside are nice people. Hostels are for young people who usually just need to place to sleep and all day long are outside,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for tour review. We take our guests feedback seriously and we will try to work on the things you have mentioned. More

Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Terrible what else to say... they put 12 of us in the basement with no window to open, then they moved us to another room on the 3rd floor (no elevator!), after that again to basement and they moved our things by themselves (stafff) and touched our things (suitcases, wardrobe..), they broke my phone charger, stole my Hawaiians! the so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience that was caused by the need of changing the rooms. We are located in a beautiful listed building and putting an elevator in is not possible also sometimes there is a need of changing the rooms and the staff do everything they can to proceed as seamlessly as possible.... More

Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is the worst hostel ever! dont go here! they put us in a room with 12 people (that is not the problem) but that was basement room without a window, we told the owner to fix that window and he said that he doesnt care, showers, toilet and everything is soo dirty, the walls are so thin so you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marta K, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize if you weren't satisfied with our service and If you got the impression that our manager doesn't care. First of all we are not responsible of any items lost in the hostel so we always advise our guests to take good care of their belongings. Our housekeeping staff start as early as... More

Trieste, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Ok, you get what you pay: the location is nice (you can visit the city centre on foot), 1 minute away from a tube which brings you everywhere. There are no showers at every floor, but the toilets are almost at every floor, male and female mixed, quite clean (but it depends on the guests!). The breakfast consists in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

I only stayed at this hostel for two nights, which was fine - Any longer and I would definitely have preferred to stay elsewhere. The rooms are very small and crowded, with only two powerpoints (one of which was taken by one person the entire time, they were also in a corner that could barely be reached due to bags... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Terrible, just terrible. Rude staff and a crazy black doorman that would not leave you alone. The rooms where ridiculous. stacking beds 3 high with very little ventilation. You get what you pay for. Never again will I stay here. They nickle and dime everything and the showers in a gulag are better than this place. Never got a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Smart Russell Square Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Russell Square Hostel

Also Known As:
Smart Russell Square Hotel London
Smart Russell Square Hotel
Smart Russell Square Hostel London, England
Address: 70 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury / Holborn , Camden / Primrose Hill , Covent Garden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #374 of 580 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Smart Russell Square Hostel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Smart Russell Square Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smart Russell Square Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.