We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smart Russell Square Hostel

71 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Smart Russell Square Hostel
Add Photo Write a Review

428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    24
    76
    118
    83
    127
See reviews for
17
32
112
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (428)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (136)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed at the Smart Russell Square Hostel several times over the years due to my research at the university, which is near by. What I can say is that the management of this hostel has gone from strength to strength when it comes to the running of this place. Every time I have stayed there it has improved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good access to the underground, eateries nearby, good to have curtains for privacy for each bed. Brekkie was okay. Spacious dining area. Staff were patient. Sound proof was poor, very noisy by the corridor. Bed is too small/narrow, I'm a small person and I hit myself several times during the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate the review and are glad you enjoyed the hostel, we sincerely apologies for the noise. Our reception is open 24 hours, and our staff are well trained in keeping guests noise to a minimum after 11pm. We'll take the points you kindly pointed out seriously and act accordingly. Best Regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here as myself and my friend needed just a roof over our heads for the weekend and the hotels in London are so expensive! As hostels go, this is fairly basic. The common room doesn't really have much character etc and it wouldn't seem as social as others you might come across... so for people travelling/ backpacking I don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the review, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the common room, it will be refurbished really soon, however first we're refurbishing the rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Best Regards, Smart Hostel team More 

Tokyo, Japan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My only complaint are the showers. In the basement it is not possible to change the temperature of the water, it is only very hot with no place to hang your clothes or put your soap and in the first floor the water pressure is so strong, it feels like needles piercing your skin.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We sincerely apologies that you did not enjoy our showers, the hot water is constantly on so that we provide showers for 24 hours a day. We will sort the temperature out straight away, and hope to see you really soon. Best Regards, Smart Hostel Team More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first thing that shocked me were the awful rude staff. They seemed to be staring and not really answering what I was asking, so a helpful guy that was checking in answered my questions. They didn't mention that you needed to pay for a locker or didnt tell us about the area etc.. Very poor staff. What can I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We apologies for the bad experience you had at one of our hostels. The hostel manager will investigate the staff, and we can assure you they will be retrained in customer service. Our company takes pride in the high level of training we provide our staff, so they can give our valued customers a great experience. We have refurbished... More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

+ Its in the centre and close to underground. - Even though there was allowed pay by credit card, at the moment of my check in this option was refused due the not working machine and I needed to withdrawal money and pay extra fee just bcs of them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Sorry about the issue you had at our hostel. Technical problems happen, and we are trying our best to fix them as soon as they come or prevent them completely. We can't stop or prevent everything, as sometimes the credit card company must do that themselves. We will take your point aboard and rest assured we will do our... More 

Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really surprised by the quality of the accommodations here. Used for field school with Canadian students. Great locations, close to Tube. Everyone courteous and facilities clean. Would stay again, highly recommended for both group and individual travel! Can't beat location or prices! Happy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We're very pleased that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. Have a great summer. Best Regards Smart Hostels Team More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

The toilets were clean and toilet paper were in stock but there is only 1 or 2 sinks per floor which is nowhere enough. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and the blanket was warm, I had a great night sleep. I like how each bed had individual curtains for privacy, and the linen were washed really clean. Location is excellent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate that you took your time to write a review, and are happy you had a nice time with us. Recently we've given the hostel some refurbishments and have placed showers on every floor, many of our rooms has ensuites now. We're working on getting most of our rooms to become ensuites and upgrading a number of facilities.... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Excellent! Way better than I expected. Clean, quiet. Had booked single room. Very tiny airplane size bathroom...ok for a small person. Larger ppl will find this bathroom too small to use, the shower in particular. Properly cleaned daily. Nice manager. Helped us store all the bags for a group of 17 people! So convenient to Tube and museums. Will stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We are very pleased that you had a great experience with us. We've installed larger showers on each floor now, for the guests that find our ensuites to be too small. We hope that you'll revisit us soon and look forward to seeing you. Best Regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#128 of 691 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Clink 261 Hostel
Clink 261 Hostel
#148 of 691 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#106 of 691 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#69 of 691 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 960 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78 Hostel
Clink78 Hostel
#195 of 691 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay
Ready to book?