We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smart Russell Square Hostel

71 - 72 Guilford Street, London WC1N 1DF , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Smart Russell Square Hostel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

451 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    25
    81
    126
    85
    134
See reviews for
17
32
119
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (451)
  • Mar-May only
    (105)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (91)
All months
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We absolutely hated our stay here! The staff was unfriendly and unwelcoming, the rooms were tiny and cramped, there was absolutely no air circulation and it was disgustingly hot. The bathrooms were glorified porta-potties and smelled terrible. We would wake up at 6:00 am and not return until as late as possible because we hated it so much.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lodz, Poland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I spent there whole August in 15 people room and it was really good! Stuff is helpful and nice! (it is true that there is a guy with big black moustache, who is not form the stuff, and sometimes has... strange moods, but he can be ignored:)) In the kitchen there is whole cutlery, pots and frying pans, microwave, electric... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Michal, Thank you for the awesome review, we really do appreciate it. Hope to see you stay with us very soon! Best regard, Smart Hostels me More 

Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stay in this hostel about 8 nights in a room with 18 peoples. Overall I have nothing to complain about as you paid what you get. Clean environment, friendly staff, normal breakfast (wish the breakfast could be change once or twice in a week as im eating the same breakfast in 8 days). The only thing I'm not happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the review and we're very happy you enjoyed your stay. The showers are on a timer, as we do not want to waste water, in previous years guests have left showers running, which is why we switched to these types of showers. We will look for ways to improve the showers for our guests. We hope... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolute shanty of a room, with three people being promised single beds we were cramped into a smaller room with a bunk bed featuring a double bed. No air con which wasn't necessarily expected but no fans at all (which was joked about by everyone in the common room which was the only place tolerable in the heat)... The feeling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Chris, We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately you missed read the details of the room, you booked through hostel world and it clearly tells you that the room is a double bunk bed. In addition the rooms you stayed in was recently refurbished, has everything our guests need. We have introduced... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been coming to the Smart Hostel Russell Square and I must confirm that: 1. The place is really changed, for the better. 2. The new bathrooms in the basement and stairways are nice, practical and clean. 3. The wi-fi works everywhere, on all floors of the building. 4. The reception staff is very helpful. The kitchen/cleaning also but less... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for the amazing comment, and we are so happy you came back to stay with us. We're also glad you liked our improvements, there are still more to come. We hope to see you again very soon. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Im sitting at my computer screen struggling to know what to write as everything, and I mean EVERYTHING went wrong. Smart Russell Square Hostel, was the first place I went to coming off from a bug I received on the plane, (bearing in mind, I'm 19, female and just arrived in the UK for the first time - travelling solo)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I only stayed one night as I was continuing my travels the next day, but I was very happy with my stay. Everything is clean, the staff is friendly and the price is good. The location is great, close to both the tube and Kings Cross St Pancreas. Breakfast is pretty basic, and the overhead light in the showers between... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Good afternoon, We're so happy that you had a pleasant stay with us! We will take what you said about the showers on board and work on fixing the issue as soon as possible. Best regards, Smart Hostels team More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night before I went travelling around Europe. It was a quick check in and I chose my bed in a room shared by 13 others. Luckily I was there early and chose the bed next to the window and with the fan blowing air my way otherwise I would have melted...The room was extremely warm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and apologies about the little issues. We are in the process of introducing new beds with a socket in each one and introducing more fans in our rooms. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2015

I have stayed at the Smart Russell Square Hostel several times over the years due to my research at the university, which is near by. What I can say is that the management of this hostel has gone from strength to strength when it comes to the running of this place. Every time I have stayed there it has improved... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for leaving an amazing review with us, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again really soon. Best regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Good access to the underground, eateries nearby, good to have curtains for privacy for each bed. Brekkie was okay. Spacious dining area. Staff were patient. Sound proof was poor, very noisy by the corridor. Bed is too small/narrow, I'm a small person and I hit myself several times during the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smart Hostels L, Guest Relations Manager at Smart Russell Square Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, We appreciate the review and are glad you enjoyed the hostel, we sincerely apologies for the noise. Our reception is open 24 hours, and our staff are well trained in keeping guests noise to a minimum after 11pm. We'll take the points you kindly pointed out seriously and act accordingly. Best Regards, Smart Hostels Team More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#113 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Clink 261 Hostel
Clink 261 Hostel
#143 of 698 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#63 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#120 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78 Hostel
Clink78 Hostel
#194 of 698 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Bloomsbury

Neighborhood Profile
Bloomsbury
Snuggly nestled within Central London is academic and leafy Bloomsbury, an area that boasts walking distance access to many of London's most popular attractions. It is also home to some of Britain's most celebrated museums, including the must-see British Museum. Despite an understandable popularity with students, tourists and day trippers, vast sections of Bloomsbury retain a quiet, residential feel year round and throughout the week.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay