We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

4.0 of 5 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    256
    130
    77
    111
See reviews for
61
293
108
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (788)
  • Mar-May only
    (200)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (194)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (214)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (180)
All months
There are newer reviews for Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here from July 2-July 5th to attend Wimbledon. While its location is very close to Paddington station on the tube, that's about the only pro. We booked a deluxe double room and were tripping over each other, it was SO TINY. The light bulbs were burnt out over the desk, wireless doesn't work unless you connect the cable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you went through while your stay with us. We can very well imagine the unpleasant experience you had. Your feedback is of great importance to us and on the basis of your comments we... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Where to start, from checkin to checkout process everything was great. Staff is welcoming from their soul and always ready to help. I have now chosen my all future stays in London. Only internet line is very bad and drops many times in a day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay & liked the staff service. On the basis of your comments we will improve the flaws you noticed. Please do write to us prior to your next stay as we will ensure... More

Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

First time I stayed at Shaftesbury Metropolis was May 2009 and experienced a very pleasant stay therefore decided to stay 3 nights at this hotel in June 2012, what I could say about this hotel is; - Friendly, polite and extremely helpful staff specially the managers. - Cosy rooms with all the facilities needed. - Excellent location, within few minutes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park for your recent stay in the city. We as a team feel great that we were able to make your stay a comfortable one. Please do let us know in advance about your future visit as we would like to allocate one of our finest and spacious room with... More

Tammela, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Hotel has good location, very easy to find from Paddington. Reception is polite and friendly. We had a "club room" which was very nice, clean and well-kept. Bathroom was small but sufficient. There was enough warm water which is not always the case in old London houses. Bed and pillows were excellent. The fridge was a nice plus, it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park . Your feedback is much appreciated as this will assist us to meet & exceed our guest's expectation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due the transfer situation. We are all the more sorry for not being able to make your stay a pleasant one at... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I had actually booked to stay at the Grand Royale London (opposite Kensington Park) and I'd booked this property via a booking site which I'd previously had good experiences with; this hotel looked beautiful, and I was excited to stay there. I'd researched extensively where I wanted to stay, based on my work in London, where I needed/wanted to go... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park . Please accept our sincere apologies as we were unable to accomodate you at our sister property which you booked to stay at. We can very well imagine how annoying it must have been when you could not stay at the hotel of your choice . It has always been our... More

Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our 2 rooms had some maintenance problem but the way things were handled, I must say "WERE GREAT". At checkin noticed & greeted by a Indian Gentleman where he explained the situation and arranged a merecedes car to drop at other hotel. He arranged the room at 11am at other hotel and also upgraded us with club room & free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you as we were unable to accomodate you at our property. We thank you for your understanding when you arrived to check in . We are pleased to hear that you were impressed by the way you were met & greeted.... More

London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The Rooms were small, but okay. Negative was, that you heard any noise from the other rooms. For shopping trips a good location because Oxford street can be reached in a 15 minutes walk or by bus/underground.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park. We appreciate your valuable feedback . It is great to hear that you liked the location, however are very sorry to hear that you were disturbed by some noise. Please do write to us well in advance about your future stay as we will ensure a nice & quiet room... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Booked in advance and was told I would be given a superior twin room ... Great I thought ... Until we arrive to be given the tiniest room I have seen, went back to reception and explained we were then told that there was no confirmation of the booking even though it was already paid for. Anyway we got put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you went through due to the water dripping down in your room. We can very well imagine how annoying it must have been for you, however it is our prime duty to make it... More

London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Ok hotel, my first room was tiny and with aircon which didnt work in 28 degrees. Horrible but the changed me to a larger club room. My stay was ok, not bad, not good.

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park for your recent stay in the city. We are extremely sorry to hear that the previous room you were in was tiny and not as what you expected it to be. Due to victorian architecture few of the rooms tend to look compact . It is... More

Masham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day stay at the Shaftesbury. We were greeted warmly by the friendliest reception staff and told that we had been given a free upgrade to a Club Room which was a lovely surprise. In the room we found fresh fruit, biscuits and bottles of water which was a real treat given the heat. Facilities in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park for your recent stay in the city. We are extremely happy to hear that we as a team were able to make your stay a pleasant one. It is great to know that you liked the room, hotel facilities & the location. Your valuable feedback has... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England

357 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (148)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (64)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Club Double Room (30)
Viewed
Club Double with Romance Package (28)
Viewed
Club Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Club Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay