We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

4.0 of 5 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    279
    143
    82
    114
See reviews for
65
317
114
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (858)
  • Mar-May only
    (200)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (194)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (241)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (223)
All months
There are newer reviews for Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park
See the most recent reviews
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Same problem many others reviewing here have had. We were upgraded to this hotel due to alleged maintenance works going on at the one near earls court. The time it took the taxi to arrive and get us to the hotel, plus argueing with reception over a payment issue (the hotel charge a deposit if paid in cash, they did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you due to being transferred. We can truly understand how annoying it must have been for you to not have been able to stay at the property you booked originally. We are all the more sorry to hear that there was a... More 

Kiev, Ukraine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise when the Duty Manager offered me an upgrade to a club room without any extra charge, when I checked-in. On request, I was given a fresh new bathrobe & a pair of bathroon slippers..great service. Free internet was a bonus :) Located at a quite place, just a couple of minutes walk for the Paddington... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GurpreetLondon, Front Office Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Let me start with thank you for choosing to book your stay at the Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel for your recent stay in the city. Guest's feedback is precious to us as they help us to monitor and improve our services. I was really pleased with your feedback above and so do the whole team was... More 

United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem, I almost don't want to recommend it so that it doesn't get busy in the future! I was apprehensive initially about booking a hotel from a chain I wasn't familiar with in the Paddington area, as there are a lot of very poor quality town house hotels in the area. Happy to say that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. We are grateful to you for forwarding your valuable feedback . We thank you for your positive comments about the cleanliness & facilities of this property. Please accept our apologies if you faced any discomfort due to the guest elevator being slow. Your feedback is of great importance to us as on... More 

Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Was worried before the trip due to the reviews about being moved to Heathrow. Got to reception, could not find booking, here we go I thought. Once I showed them my email though, straight through and into what yes is a very small room but very well appointed and modern and also clean. Only paid $55 per night for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your valuable comments which have been shared among our team. Please do write to me on the below mentioned email address for any assistance regarding your future stays with us. It will be a pleasure to... More 

bloomington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The room was really nice. It looks like what it shows in the pictures. The room however was really small. I couldn't even open my 27" suit case without touching the bedside or table. The bathrooms were nice with a rainfall shower. You'll see black stuff between some of the tiles in the grout but it didn't bother us. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park & thank you for choosing to stay at our property. Your feedback is precious to us as on the basis of your comments we can improve the areas which require improvement. This is a Victorian style building and due to this reason few of the rooms here tend to look compact. We... More 

Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was looking for accommodation for one night only, not far from Paddington and tube, to see play in West End. I booked a double room for £63 which I thought was an excellent price for a decent-looking London hotel. Having said that I was getting cold feet, thinking that you get what you pay for and we were probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Metropolis London Hyde Park Team we thank you for your feedback which is of great importance to us. We feel good to know that the location of this property was well suited to your requirement, plus you found the facilities appropriate according to your expectation. We will let our Chef & her team know that... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed one night on 3rd January. The rooms are small but very clean,beds are comfy, ensuite was very "tight" but clean and serviceable. In a world where you get what you have paid for, the Shaftesbury Metropolis is very good value for money and we will definitely stay there again next time we must overnight in London. Don't expect... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Metropolis London Hyde Park Team we wish you a very Happy New Year. It was indeed a great pleasure for all of us to be your host. We are extremely pleased to know that you found the room very clean & comfortable. Due to Victorian architecture few of the rooms tend to look compact. We... More 

Dundalk, Louth, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed in a number of Hotels in London, but this was the best. the price was high, but it's worth paying extra for what you get. I have always had a good experience. The rooms are very clean, small but clean, beds are as good as at home, bathrooms are as good as you would get in any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of Metropolis London Hyde Park we thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience at our property & found the location , staff service & facilities excellent, just what you would have expected. Please feel free to write to me on the below mentioned email... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived at around 4 pm on New Year's Eve 2012' looking forward to our long awaited end of year celebration in Central London. One of the receptionists told me that our rooms were not available due to Maintenance Issues and promptly said that we would have to spend the evening at the Best Western Grand Hotel HEATHROW AIRPORT! We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Metropolis London Hyde Park . Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you on the day you arrived to check in. We did have some maintenance issues on that particular day & keeping in mind our guest's health and safety we were not able to sell most of the rooms in this property.... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed with this group of hotels a few times and for the price it has been overall a good experience. But this time is the last I will be staying with them. First the hotel I wanted to stay in was moving me to a "sister hotel" as works where being done on the hotel. At first upset... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AparnaSabharwal, Manager at Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park . We wish you a Very Happy New Year. Thank you for forwarding your feedback which is precious to us as on the basis of this we will take necessary steps to rectify the flaws. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unpleasant experience you had. We have taken each comment... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park

Address: 78-84 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH, England (Formerly Royal Sussex Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Montcalm Hotel (London) Ltd & Precis Properties Ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis Hotel London
Shaftesbury Metropolis London Hyde Park England
Hotel Style:
#312 Luxury Hotel in London

365 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (155)
Viewed
Room/suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (46)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (17)
Viewed
Club Double Room (30)
Viewed
Club Double with Romance Package (28)
Viewed
Club Triple Room (32)
Viewed
Club Twin Room (34)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay