We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA London St Pauls

36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA London St Pauls
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

350 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    161
    92
    29
    7
See reviews for
60
18
121
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (350)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (83)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at St Pauls YHA for 2 night with a school group visiting London. We had breakfast both days which was what you'd expect from this type of hotel, it was still nice and filing. The rooms were not super clean and were a bit dated but I've seen worse, this goes for the bath rooms too. No major... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Conner, Thanks for taking the time to review us at St Pauls. I will pass on your comments to my team especially the Food and beverage team as you enjoyed breakfast. We hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future regards Steve Roberts Manager More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed earlier this month. Value for money is 5* for the location in a fairly quiet back street about 1 minutes walk from the Cathedral. It was an 8 bed dorm. I thought it really needed a night light so the night owls did not disturb everyone else when they entered the room late and switched on the bright... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi 60esque, Thanks for taking the time to review us at YHA St Pauls. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will of course pass on your kind comments to my team. We look forward to welcoming you back Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager More 

Keith
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I came to London for a meeting, and when I do this I usually stay at St Pancreas Hostel. But it was full, so I came to St Paul's instead. My first impression was that the reception staff were brusque and unfrieñdly - and they remained so throughout my stay. The dorm was fine, but the shower room was smelly;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review St Pauls. I would appreciate it if you would contact me regarding your comments about the team in reception. We strive to give our guests excellent customer service and it appears we have fallen short on this occasion. With regard to the showers, we have just had 6 of our showers renovated... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was quite disappointed by the quality of the accomodation and services. First of some dormitories accomodate up to 8 people and the individual and common space is very little. Showers (separate from toilets) are few and very basic. Bathrooms small and with few facilities, A power point is missing in the shared bathrooms. On top of that St Pauls... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to review us at St Pauls. Its unfortunate you were disappointed by the quality and services at the hostel. You are right our showers and toilets are separate and we are unable to put electric sockets in bathrooms (Shower rooms) for safety reasons. You also mention about the cathedral bells, as our websire states... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a first time solo traveller I was so pleased to stay here. Hidden away down a side street it is rather shabby to look at but quaint non the less. Was expecting it to be inundated by people much younger than myself but pleasantly surprised to find a wide mix of ages from very diverse backgrounds. The communal rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi JC, Thank you so much for your review. Great to hear my team were friendly and helpful and you found our communal space commfortable and spacious. Apologies for the showers being out of order, this was because we were renovating 6 of our showers which Im pleased to say are all now in working order. We really look forward... More 

Immingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed in the hostel a few times now so know what to expect. Cheap, no frills, but clean, safe and comfortable rooms and a decent breakfast. This time we'd requested a specific room which we'd been in before but were a bit disappointed to have been put in a 3 bunk room instead of the double bed and bunk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Be.n, Thanks for your kind review. With the tube strike sunds like you had a bit of a time of it!!. Great to hear that your felt safe and the breakfast was decent, Ill pass on your comments to the team. Sorry you didnt manage to get the room you requested, unfortunately at peak times this can prove to... More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here last weekend the reception & lounge were high quality as was the breakfast area. Unfortunately the same can't be said for the private rooms whilst they are clean they need to be redecorated, painted walls already flaky patches by windows there used be tv in room ariale socket there holes left in wall in room. If it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wallasey, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

It is more than 30 years since I first stayed at Carter Lane YHA, as it was then known. I have stayed several times over the years, flashing my gold life membership card. It is a few years since I was last here, but it was very convenient for the Stansted Express that my companions, a couple with pre-teen daughters,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

This hostel is located in central London about 100 meters from St Paul's Cathedral and a short walk from the Millennium Bridge, the Tate, The Globe and much more. We stayed in a 4 bed family room and we had a great nights sleep and a good (all you can eat) breakfast that set us up for the day. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Duncan, Thank you for your great review. Im pleased you enjoyed your stay with and your kind comments about the team, quality of food and friendliness of my team. I will pass on your comments to my kitchen team about you enjoying our all you can eat breakfast. Probably the best value breakfast in the City. Really great point... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

This was very basic accommodation but it was somewhere to sleep and was in a good location. We had a 5 bed private room located near a share bathroom and it was okay but the beds were stacked up and all single, (one 3 stack, one 2 stack),the room smallish. Stairs to the first floor for us and for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Leesha2014, Thanks a lot for posting a review about YHA St Pauls. great to hear the staff were helpful and I will pass your comments to my team. Wifi is currently only available in the communal areas however plans are afoot to change this in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near London
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#189 of 698 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#50 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
YHA London Thameside
#226 of 698 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#89 of 698 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 429 reviews
YHA London Lee Valley
#1 of 2 in Cheshunt
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in City of London

Neighborhood Profile
City of London
From its ancient past as a Roman trading outpost to its 21st century status as the wealthiest square mile in the world, the financial district known simply as “The City” is one of London's most historic and fascinating neighborhoods. Here high rise office towers such as Norman Foster’s Gherkin mingle with Roman ruins and architectural marvels from virtually every era in between, including Christopher Wren's glorious St.Paul's Cathedral, and John Soane's dauntingly classicist Bank of England. This neighborhood is also home to some of the finest restaurants and plushest hotels in Europe, in addition to an assortment of watering holes, upscale shops, and Tube stations. During the week, the City is abuzz with white collar workers going about their business; the weekend sees this area turn into a quiet haven for sightseers.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay