We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 633 London accommodations

YHA London St Pauls

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Hotel amenities
YHA London St Pauls
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added YHA London St Pauls to your Saves list
66%
Ranked #119 of 633 Specialty Lodging in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
lazypigcess Singapore, Singapore
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    116
    71
    23
    6
See reviews for
44
18
87
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (65)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

it's a old heritage building. location is great, not far from the tube. very near to St Paul's I stayed in the girls room. quite noisy at night then, due to a big group of kids travel. I dint get to have breakfast either. there are nearby pubs for good drinks and dinner. lockers for backpackers in the rooms. limited... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel is brilliant. The tube is 3min away by foot and you are 5 min away from millenum bridge and st pauls cathedral is around a corner of your street. Its very clean and not so noisy as some people say at least not our room. The only thing is we found a mice last night of our stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The YHA St Paul's was alright and they took great care to make sure we were prepared for our stay with a very informative email. All the details went smoothly but the stay itself was just not enjoyable. The area was convenient to the Underground stop (which was only a couple of stops from a major train station), which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We wanted a private room for three being two adults and one child. They only had a six bed and unfortunately for us we booked it online before seeing the room. There was no bathroom and toilet in the room. One of the guests has an issue with her knee and the way the beds are grouped , with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi ivyrose1967, Sorry to hear that you describe the hostel that way, please rest assured that we take all feedback constructively and strive to improve where at all possible. The issue with the booking - we have rooms sized from 1 to 11 beds. You made a booking online, ordering a 6 bed room and paying in full, so this... More

Richmond, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had and excellent night! My first time staying in a hostel and it was not what I was expecting! It was perfectly clean and felt relaxing as soon as we walked in. I was expecting there to be a lot of noise with the number of people staying but it was actually very quiet which was great after a full... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good value, very friendly staff, who was helpful and kind. A lot of events and things to do in the nearby area - discounts to some of those events offered onsite. Bookshelves stocked with various reading material. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gdansk, Poland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel has a really great location, just a few blocks away from the tube station at St. Paul's...not much more than that. The rooms are quite old and outdated, we were 5 people in the room with only 1 plug to charge our electronics. They do have Wi-Fi but it is available only for members, so if you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

the staffs are rude! the room & shower are dirty, I was book a 4-bed female dorm, but when I got there, they put me in a 7-bed dorm without inform me! That room only have one electric plug, and it's broken! I told the staff that and the response from them is "oh, it's been like that for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review us, I have made 3 attempts at e mailing you so I can investigate your comments. We take all reviews seriously and am concerned you felt my staff were rude. I do need to fully investigate this but can only do so if you respond to my e mails, my direct... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2014

very good standard of accommodation. very central and easy to reach tubes and buses. BUT because it is so close to St Paul's Cathedral you will hear the bells chiming every quarter of an hour right through the night!!! Also, as it was warm during my stay all the windows in the room were open and we could hear revellers... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Front Office Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, Kathy. We are glad to know you were so satisfied with our hostel facilities, cleanliness and meals. As you mention, our privileged location right opposite St. Paul's cathedral also means you can hear the cathedral bells chiming; most of our guests find it charming but for those light-sleepers we have earplugs available at... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

Wifi not free, food average, noisy because of the church nearby. Location is very good otherwise. Chillroom is allright, books to read and a few computers available as far as I remember. Wouldn ' t mind staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

HI, Thanks for taking the time to review us at St Pauls. Wifi is free to YHA and Hostel International members and of course as a member it entitles the holder to £3.00 per night discount on top of many other benefits. Unfortunately we cant control the bells of St PaulsCathedral but most of our guests find it doesnt bother... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA London St Pauls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
YHA London St Pauls England

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay