We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 624 London accommodations

YHA London St Pauls

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA London St Pauls to your Saves list
YHA London St Pauls
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
66%
Ranked #113 of 624 Specialty Lodging in London
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kathry2014 Cardiff, United Kingdom
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    113
    68
    22
    6
See reviews for
43
18
85
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (253)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the staffs are rude! the room & shower are dirty, I was book a 4-bed female dorm, but when I got there, they put me in a 7-bed dorm without inform me! That room only have one electric plug, and it's broken! I told the staff that and the response from them is "oh, it's been like that for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi, Many thanks for taking the time to review us, I have made 3 attempts at e mailing you so I can investigate your comments. We take all reviews seriously and am concerned you felt my staff were rude. I do need to fully investigate this but can only do so if you respond to my e mails, my direct... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

very good standard of accommodation. very central and easy to reach tubes and buses. BUT because it is so close to St Paul's Cathedral you will hear the bells chiming every quarter of an hour right through the night!!! Also, as it was warm during my stay all the windows in the room were open and we could hear revellers... More

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Front Office Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, Kathy. We are glad to know you were so satisfied with our hostel facilities, cleanliness and meals. As you mention, our privileged location right opposite St. Paul's cathedral also means you can hear the cathedral bells chiming; most of our guests find it charming but for those light-sleepers we have earplugs available at... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wifi not free, food average, noisy because of the church nearby. Location is very good otherwise. Chillroom is allright, books to read and a few computers available as far as I remember. Wouldn ' t mind staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

HI, Thanks for taking the time to review us at St Pauls. Wifi is free to YHA and Hostel International members and of course as a member it entitles the holder to £3.00 per night discount on top of many other benefits. Unfortunately we cant control the bells of St PaulsCathedral but most of our guests find it doesnt bother... More

Abergele, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is really good. Easy to find, centrally placed. We stayed here for one night. Such a good price. It's not fancy, but just what you'd expect from a YHA property. If you want a posh Hotel, then this is not the deal. BUT, if you want a chilled, relaxing place and a very cheap price, go ahead and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Alison, Many thanks for you great 5 star review. I see you are a frequent traveller with 63 reviews under your belt so you have some great experience to say whats good and whats not. I will share your great review with all of my team and hopefully you will be back with us very soon. Thanks again for... More

New Jersey
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family and I booked one of their private rooms downstairs for an amazingly fair price. We were able to check-in at 2:00pm and came down to a room that was neat and tidy, linens that were crisp and clean and a room that basically had all basic amenities, including a sink and mirror in the room with the toilets... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi bukpauden, Wow, what an extensive and thorough review. There is not much more I can say but thank you for your very kind words and fantastic information about YHA London St Pauls for prospective guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Kind Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hostel is great it you are a mouse, the population seems to be thriving. One little fella seamed to be enjoying his stay on my room makes you wonder how often they find their way to peoples bed or even the kitchen! There is only one plug in the room and the reception has no scheme to rent any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Dear Alan, Thank you for taking the time to review YHA St Pauls here on Tripadvisor. I have looked at your comments and although you state you saw a mouse in the room I have checked the Duty Manager Log you didnt report it to myself or one of my team. As with all respectable businesses in London we have... More

Pamplona, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

I spent over 10 days in the hostel. The good things I would say are: it is very well situated, with underground, bus and train facilities very close. The staff is really nice, and they know everything about how to get to places and stuff, and always ready to help! On the other hand, it is true that other things... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi SaioaArza, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. Glad to hear you had a generally postivie 10 day stay in the hostel. It's a shame to hear that you found the cleanliness below-par, our cleaning team have been here for 10 years and pride themselves on picking up every spec of dust! I will pass... More

Channel Islands, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Perfect location. 24 hour reception with Awesome staff. Building may be old but that gives the place it's own character and charm. Beds were also unique and comfy. Hostel is well maintained and clean. And the luggage storage facility for when you check out is really helpful! Many thanks. It's our first time staying in a hostel and I gotta... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Millie20142014, Thanks for your great review of YHA London St Pauls. We really do appreciate you comments about our friendliness and the hostel cleanliness. This is so important for visitors to be aware of when booking. Also good to hear you will return so look forward to welcoming you back very soon, Regards Steve Roberts Hostel Manager More

Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed at this hostel with a group trip. Pros location easy access to Tube station from Gatwick - clean rooms; hostel felt safe (which was important to us as we were traveling with young children) - good breakfast in kitchen. But kitchen is not self catering - friendly staff who responded to email very quickly Cons. It's no fault of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi Jengweng, Thanks for the review. Good advice for prospective guests, easy access from City Thameslink station (from Gatwick) or a couple of minutes from St Pauls on Central Line. Im pleased you found the hostel safe and clean, our priority. You are right about the bells of St Pauls but we do have ear plugs at reception which is... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This was my second visit to St Pauls Yha and I was not disappointed, the hostel staff are polite and friendly, the dorm was clean, some facilities need to be updated but for the price you pay you cant ask for more. Its great value and the location is great for exploring the city. Will be staying again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YHAStPauls, Manager at YHA London St Pauls, responded to this review

Hi BlkM, Great to see you visited us again. Thank you for the kind review and am pleased all was good. I will of course pass on your comments to all of my team and ,,see you next time. Steve Roberts Hostel Manager More

Do you own or manage YHA London St Pauls?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA London St Pauls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London St Pauls

Address: 36 Carter Lane, London EC4V 5AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA London St Pauls 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your YHA London St Pauls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha London St Pauls Hotel London
YHA London St Pauls England

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Near YHA London St Pauls

Enlarge Map