We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 622 London accommodations

Clink78 Hostel

2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England (Islington / Clerkenwell)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Clink78 Hostel to your Saves list
Clink78 Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
53%
Ranked #174 of 622 Specialty lodging in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Punkpossum
  • Overview
  • Reviews (826)
  • Photos (423)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (104)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    307
    221
    97
    88
See reviews for
39
83
222
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

A friend and I recently stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom. The room itself was small but fine for a night or two. It only had a tiny window though and there was no air flow, the room was like a hot box and we both had a terrible nights sleep, luckily we were only there for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean rooms Cheap on weekdays but cost goes up over weekend Wifi in common areas Basic breakfast included- toast and cereal I was in 'birds nest' room- on ground floor but had to be accessed by 3 flights of stairs! Friendly, helpful staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
73 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Second visit and enjoyed it immensely. This time I was in London on business and could easily have stayed in a top-end luxury hotel on expenses. Why? This is friendly and filled with interesting people having a good time. The court-room and decor put a smile on my face, the place has real character. Wi-fi works fine for me and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I understand that this is a hostel, and you shouldn't expect a whole lot from most hostels, but this place may have been one of the worst places I've ever stayed in. Travelling with a friend, we got a private room with bunk beds and an ensuite. First of all, these rooms are barely big enough for 1 person, let... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've been in london many times and my choice has always been... clink hostel :) Never visited the new one, so can't compare. But honestly, nothing to complain about! The building is huge and awesome! Every floor has different colors, which makes everything so funny and happy. The bar downstairs is always a good place for party without going out.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello traveler! Thank you so much for your nice words and time leaving us a review! It's always a pleasure to see (or hear) happy guests. We hope to see you again many times in the future. Enjoy your trips! Best Regards, Indra Clink78 Team More

York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel i was expecting to be a higher standard than it was. Serious lack of lockers, i enquired at reception if there were additional lockers available for larger items, they pointed me int he direction of the 3 locker areas in the hostel, they are about the size of a shoe box and have about 20 at each location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your time leaving us a review! Our free lockers are big enough for a small backpack, if all of them are taken you can lock your valuables in the room - inside the overhead locker. If yours was broken we are always happy to find you a bed with a locker that you can use.... More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's just a ordinary hostel with nothing special but people there were definately very kind. They told us how to get to places very kindly. The location was also quite good since th tubes were quite clcose to the hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your time leaving us a review and all the positivity! We are excited to know that you had a pleasant stay at Clink78 and definitely are looking forward seeing you again :) Pleasant journeys. Indra Clink78 Team More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in London for 3 nights, costing a total of £51 each. Other than couch surfing, where else can you get to live in kings cross, London for that price? Used as a base, we lived in an 8 person dorm. Yes there was snoring and it was a bit cramped, but people were friendly and beds were basic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you so much for the review! We are happy to hear that Clink78 has met your expectations and you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for understanding the concept and taking it easy :) We hope to see you again soon! Best regards, Indra Clink78 Team More

Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel was quite a walk from kings cross but easy to navigate. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Great breakfast! Room however should be limited to like 2 persons especially those with luggages. Bathrooms were ok as hair dryers were provided, but the toilets need to be cleaned every now and then as it can get very dirty especially... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78 despite the room size. We have staff at the front desk available 24/7, you are always welcome to express your concerns, ask for a room swap or inform us about cleanliness. Our housekeeping team cleans all the showers and toilets few... More

Burleigh Heads, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Did not enjoy my stay at all. The whole concept is what sold me when I booked it however I hated it when I got there. I guess I had not prepared myself well for hostel accommodation. My first room was in the basement which was not well vented adding to the khaki green walls which really dulled the mood.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, First of all we would like to thank you for your time leaving us a review. We are sad to hear that the hostel didn't meet your expectations and you didn't enjoy your stay with us at Clink78. Guest experience is very important to us therefore we always try to solve all the problems our guests might be facing.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Clink78 Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Clink78 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78 Hostel

Address: 78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Islington / Clerkenwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 Hostel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Clink78 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 Hostel London, England

423 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (165)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (93)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in London with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Clink78 Hostel and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brooklyn, NY
29 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Clink78 Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer