We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clink78 Hostel

2.0 of 5 78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Clink78 Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clink78 Hostel
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    321
    235
    104
    92
See reviews for
42
88
237
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (867)
  • Mar-May only
    (205)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (252)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (224)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (186)
All months
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A comfortable stay within easy walking distance of Kings Cross Station. The facilities you expect from a mega hostel in London. If you're happy to share with loads of young travellers (seems to host a lot of tour groups) and be served by international staff (don't expect local knowledge) than this is a great, social place to stay in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Western Australia, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

this hostel "The Clink 78" is by far the worst hostel i have ever stayed in, these are the negatives Because this is a hostel, the staff think they dont have to help you!! wrong attitude guys !! the rooms are mouldy smelly and in need of a paint 10 years ago. you will find stains on just about everything... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Clink 78 was located in a great location, 10 minutes walk from King's Cross Station. Room was adaquate for our stay and was very clean, shower and toilet facilites were also good. The breakfast was good especially with it being included in the price. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay at this hostel again and would recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although it is well located and very beautiful, don't hope to find large rooms. The kitchen area is the exception, it is well equipped, with a lot of tables, but on the downside the breakfast they offered is for sure the poorest one I've eaten in any hostel I've been. There isn't a single slice of ham, in a country... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Terrible. Can't imagine that I found a cigarette stub on my bed after I back to my room. I requested to change the room but the staff said it's full already. Fine! As I think the place is not secure already, I decided to check-out immediately and ask for refund. But, the staff refused and said he can't make the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello there, We are terribly sorry that you didn't have a good experience staying at Clink78. Our housekeepers change all the bed linen in the morning between 10am and 2pm. After that our fellow guests are responsible of keeping their room tidy, which in some cases is hard to achieve. We are sorry that you found an unpleasant "surprise" on... More

Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed my week stay at Clink! 10 minute walk from Kings Cross station, lots of places to eat nearby and a few supermarkets. Rooms are a little small but you don't spend much time in them anyway! People coming in and out did wake me up most nights but I was in a large dorm and it's to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello :) Many thanks for your positive and great feedback! We are really happy to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed the building and it's atmosphere! We hope to see you again shall you return to London! Wish you safe travels! Anna More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here and wasn't advised that the bed was allocated- I wasnt told which y bed was or how to find out! I got in any bed that was free and at 3am was turned out of my bed when the girl checked in whose bed I was in. A man from reception came in and woke me up-... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clink261_Hostel, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! Many thanks for your review. We are really sorry about this whole situation. We do have allocated beds to ensure that everybody stays in right rooms for the right amount of time and also to advise our Housekeeping team when to clean a bed for the next person arriving! The allocated letter of your bed it on your... More

Buenos Aires
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed only two nights. The place was sooo crowded. It is definitely not a place if you want to relax or enjoy the silence. People on the reception were nice. The rooms were big but a little bit dusty, although the sheets and pillows looked pretty cleaned. Breakfast was good, toasts, cereal and coffee. I would have expected a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thank you for taking your time and leaving your feedback with us :) We know that the place get a little busy and crowded at times - we have 500 beds. But our little sister Clink261 is smaller and quieter if you are looking for a quiet place to stay :) Sorry about the incident with the lights... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

*Location is really good.Very close to king's cross and st. pancras. Lots of metro lines to choose from *The service was good, very nice people. *The rooms are really really small. You can't be all in the room standing, just enough space for the bunk beds and the suitcases *The showers in the basement were hot. So so so hot,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello :) Thank you for taking your time and leaving your feedback with us! We are sorry that the overall of your stay doesn't make you want to come back to the Clink 78. We know that some of the rooms are smaller that others - it is due to the size and shape of the building. However we take... More

Portland, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

what's average: 1- location. a tad of a walk to KK, if you're looking for a station around the corner, not so here 2- bar is downstairs, no smoking. 3- smoking is done on the stairs outside 4- breakfast 5- bathrooms and showers are shared in a hallway

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there! Thanks for taking your time and leaving your thoughts with us! We are sorry to hear that your stay was only "average" when we try to make it amazing for our guests. We hope we will do better next time though :) Hope to see you again Anna More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clink78 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78 Hostel

Address: 78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Islington / Clerkenwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, HostelBookers, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Clink78 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 Hostel London, England

443 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (185)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay