We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clink78 Hostel

Hotel website
78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Special Offer
Get 15% off this Summer
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Clink78 Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clink78 Hostel
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    394
    293
    131
    108
See reviews for
52
118
293
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1066)
  • Mar-May only
    (291)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (252)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (266)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (257)
All months
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My stay was short but the accommodation was tidy, clean and very quirky. Lots of fun! I would stay again. I only had one concern that a couple of the internal door locks requiring a keycard weren't locking properly. External security seemed sound tho as was the level of manning on the reception desk. Very reassuring.

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barletta, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very close to King's Cross and St.Pancras station,it was a courthouse and now it's a nice hostel,with a peculiar interior design (some rooms are cells) and colourful walls. Showers and toilets are quite neat for a busy hostel,breakfast is included and staff is kind,but we booked a 10 beds dormitory and there were two beds more.The room was cold.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great atmosphere with young people from different background , negative point ; not flap or curtain, so full of cum light at 5 am . Nice Staff Specially the Sup Aziz If I return to London I will do it again with Clink78

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hostel was well located not too far to kings cross and sounded like a cool idea- as a converted police station/court house, but it was way too large to meet anyone, everyone was coming and going at different times, making it busy and loud all the time and the rooms themselves certainly retained their original cell-feel. Plus the wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There! Thank you for sparing some time and leaving your feedback with us! We are very sorry to hear you didn't have the best time while staying with us here at Clink 78. It is true that due to the size of the building and the amount of people some times can be hard to interact with fellow travellers.... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed 6 nights which was too long. I think a shorter stay would have been more enjoyable. Pros: The location was great, 5 min walk to Kings Cross station. The neighborhood wasn't anything special although was not touristy and it felt safe. Cereal and toast for breakfast was fine. The staff were really nice. Cons: You could here every... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Victoria! Thank you for your review from your stay here at clink 78. We are happy to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us although there was a bit of downsides to it. It is true that, as it is really busy, the building is sometimes quite noisy. We have a reception team on 24/7 and our... More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a terrible night (emphasis) - almost did not get any sleep for the night I was booked with Clink78 (!! - no kidding). Unable to find an empty bed when I came back to the dorm in the evening, so I had to flag this up to the reception. Only to realise that there is a bed allocation to... More 

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front of House Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello there happy traveller Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. When you are checking in there is a lot of information being given to you: breakfast times, being able to use the kitchen to cook your own food, bar opening hours, free wifi, free walking tours as well as your room number and bed. So... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night in a private double, which was perfect for us, basic, clean and big enough with a mirror/sink. Went to the bar downstairs in the evening which was quite busy and it was nice to just have a few drinks and relax there. We used the lockers while we were there which we had no trouble... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there!! Thank you so much for sparing some of your time and leaving us such an amazing review!! We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay with us here at clink 78! It always good to have a feedback from the private rooms as they have just been refurbished :) Good to hear you liked... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clink 78 isn´t much of anything. It´s too large for a good atmosphere, and if you´re looking to meet and hang out with people, you´d better to look elsewhere. We stayed in a 16 bed room; the beds were OK, but the room and the halls were pretty dirty with water running off the toilets. Terrible showers, too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Erica! Thank you for leaving your feedback with us! We are sorry to hear you didn't overall had a great stay with us here at clink 78 but we always appreciate and learn to improve so thanks again for your review. Atmosphere is a bit a tricky thing in a big hostel which is true, and depending on when... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not the first time I stay in this hotel and after trying so many, it is still the best pick for my preferences. Super cheap, great location, standard rooms but perfect for a short stay on my own and the staff is super friendly. Will keep coming back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Francis! Thank you so much for sparing your time to leave us such a great feedback :) We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay(s) with us here at clink 78 and we really appreciate your words towards our staff and the value and location of our lovely converted court house into what it is now Clink... More 

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It is not only the low price that marks out Clink 78, its the friendliness of the staff. The quality of your stay is dependent on your companions, so far I've not had many problems but the staff do there best to make your visit as enjoyable as possible. I'll be back in June, bringing my partner for the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi John! Thank you so much for sparing some time and leaving such a great review with us!! We are really happy to hear that you always enjoy your time here at clink 78!! Really appreciate your kind words towards our staff team that are here to ensure everyone has the best experience whilst in London town :) Very glad... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

487 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (221)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (113)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighborhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities