We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 578 London accommodations

Clink78 Hostel

1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England (Islington / Clerkenwell)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Clink78 Hostel to your Saves list
Clink78 Hostel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
54%
Ranked #141 of 578 Specialty lodging in London
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    258
    186
    77
    71
See reviews for
28
72
191
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here with a friend for a few nights before we started a Topdeck tour a few years ago. We wouldn't usually stay in hostels so we got a double room with an ensuite, which suited us perfectly. The bar was great fun each night, met some awesome people there!

Was this review helpful? Yes
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately, I am one of those travelers who had a very poor nights stay her at Clink78. Its a beautiful building, great customer service and great prices but not for someone looking to get any sleep. I was in a mixed dorm of 10 and on the front facing side of the building, it was very noisy from the street... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My friend and I had stay there for four days and it was a really good stay. We met a lot of French people, but also British one and people were very comprehensive of our accent. The room and the shared bathroom was very clean. There was elevator and I really appreciate that because of my big luggage. The kitchen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've travelled to London quite a bit (I'm from just across the pond in Ireland) and stay in hostels everytime I visit London and have to say this hostel by far has been my favourite! In saying that, I was far from impressed with my room on the first night. I was staying along with 3 friends in a 4... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paralimni, Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hostel with an ancient style! It's in a perfect place (near King's Cross Train Station) for those who want to travel the next day and take the train to the airport. Friendly Staff and good entertainment!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for taking time and giving us a feedback, yes indeed as you realized Clink has great Location that makes the trip easier, kings cross is connected with trains to 2 airports another two airports connected with underground and one by underground and bus, we can't get any better :) Best Regards Clink Team More

Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for a few nights in this big hostel. It is a nice old building with the common areas well separated from the rooms, this is good when you want to rest. The location is not the best when you have just a couple days to know London

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

hi there, thank you for your feedback! we are happy you enjoyed your stay and liked the hostel and its common rooms :) We hope to see you again shall you come back to London! Kind regards The Clink Team More

Harwich, Essex
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed in a double room with my boyfriend for 1 night. This hostel is further fromthe tube than their other hostel but was easy enough to find. We paid £89 for a tiny room with really tiny shower room. Room was clean, staff friendly enough. We both think that £89 is very expensive for what we got, if i stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

hi, thanks for this review! We are glad you liked the hostel in general! As per the price, it changes everyday and we are getting really busy and more expensive, especially during the weekends. We would advise you to make your reservation a fair bit in advance to make sure to get the best price possible :) We hope to... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a total of two nights on a research trip with university. The accommodation is nice and the room I stayed in had eight beds (although there was only five in my room). The showers are nice and warm and there are a good number of toilets on each floor. There is breakfast provided each morning and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Clink. As for the spare sheets in the room, we're sorry they appeared to be dirty, but feel free to come to reception and swap them for clean ones :) We hope to see you again should you return to London. Kind regards,... More

Stewarton, Ayrshire, Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a cracking hostel for the young - and young-at-heart - in London on a budget. I stayed in one of the en-suite dorms and it was very comfortable although there was no shade over the window meaning that daylight could easily waken you if you were on a top bunk. Just remember to bring an eye mask with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello there, Thank you for your feedback, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Clink. We hope to see you again should you return to London :) Kind regards, Clink Team. More

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I would like to say thank-you very much for assisting me with everything including organsing the best taxi service I have ever used.. There were 14 of us (forty- somethings) and to be honest we were a touch apprehensive about staying in a hostel. Wow..weren’t we amazed. The friendly staff, INCREDIBLY CLEAN eating areas and the whole ambience. Truly amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Clink261_Hostel, Front Office Manager at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for the excellent rating and nice words about our staff. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay. We remember you and you were amazing guests and we looking forward to see you again at Clink hostel. Clink team. More

Been to Clink78 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78 Hostel

Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 Hotel
Clink78 Hostel London, England
Address: 78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Islington / Clerkenwell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 578 Specialty lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Clink78 Hostel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clink is an amazing backpacker hostel in a converted court house! Experience an heritage building with a modern twist: internet and TV courtrooms, prison cells, pod beds, self-catering kitchen, funky bar... Judge for yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Otel, HotelsClick and EasyToBook so you can book your Clink78 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clink78 Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.