We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Clink78 Hostel

2.0 of 5 78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Hotel website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clink78 Hostel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Clink78 Hostel
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    361
    269
    122
    101
See reviews for
46
106
268
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (980)
  • Mar-May only
    (205)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (252)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (266)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (257)
All months
Willunga, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

I liked many aspects of this hostel, the wifi worked in the common areas, they had all of the facilities i needed, free breakfast and a bar! I made lots of friends too! But the negatives: it was a bit hot sleeping as there was no aircon and 9 other girls in my room and if we opened the window... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alesund, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Name: Jim André Age:19 Stay: 7 days Travel: Classtrip I love staying in a place with sounds (read noise) and cheap beds. After returning home I would halfway recommend it to another earthling. It has its ups and downs. This place is social, easy going centeral, crowded and cheap. The main areas have a awesome youth-ish outlook. The bedrooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jim Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy that you enjoyed the atmosphere here at Clink78 and I do understand that staying in a room with your classmates could be noisy. We have free ear plugs at reception available for our guests, so in future if you have a problem or any... More 

Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

In September I stayed here for one night. My luggage from Oslo was delayed so they should notify when it arrived. Got to know a good while after I came home to Oslo that they had received my luggage. I had no opportunity to retrieve it until January so they kept it in a luggageroom until I should get it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Traveller. I must admit we are disappointed to receive your review and to read your implication that staff may have interfered with your belongings. Your baggage was lost by your airline. You stayed only 1 night and your bags were delivered after you left our hostel. We agreed to hold your luggage for you for 4 entire months after... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hostel as a solo traveller back in July for about 5 days in a 10 bed dormitory after completing a tour. The hostel has a cool vibe and is a very social place to stay (however was very loud throughout the night with music and people talking loudly outside the room drinking pretty much all night).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Traveller :) Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our location, however in future if you are finding it noisy please do not hesitate to come down to reception and let us know. We have free ear plugs available and our security is more than happy... More 

Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the first hostel I had ever stayed in and it had such a great atmosphere. The staff were nice and helpful. The rooms were so small though, considering the price compared to other hostels. The lift was broken and I was on the 5th floor, which was annoying. There is no WiFi in the rooms which is very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Julia Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are so glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere here :) You will be happy to hear that the lift is now fixed and if it is possible we are more than happy to change floors for you. Hopefully we will see you soon Jacqui More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rudest staff you'll ever experience, none of them cared about their job. A change of staff with better attitude will make this place 100xs better. The rooms were ok (I've had better in London), breakfast was good, showers didn't work, elevator didn't work, but generally the accommodation was doable for a one night stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review Clink78. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We would like to ask you to contact us with more details about the staff member/members that left you frustrated as we take all the complaints very seriously. Hope to hear from... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

We had a private room which was like an awesome self contained oasis after a day walking around the city. Comfy beds (some may find them too firm), great little shower room in the room. Very small, but quiet (we didn't hear a thing from the bar even though it was super busy) and just perfect for a great nights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello travelers, Thank you for your time leaving us such an amazing review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and hope to see you again soon :) Safe travels, Indra More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015 via mobile

Clink 78 has a good location ,fair service and is a pretty clean hostel with a good commonspace. However there is no room for luggage and the water for the shower was cold. Ok value for money, breakfast was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your time leaving us a review. We are glad that all in all you have enjoyed your stay at Clink78. We would like to apologize for the lack of hot water. This issue has been resolved now and hopefully we won't have problems like that ever again :) We hope to see you again soon.... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Everything about this place is pretty average. The rooms are tiny, with no where to put your luggage. The showers are just awful. Nothing like an ice cold shower in the middle on winter. It is however nice and clean, and a really Good location. But I won't be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your time leaving us a review. Sorry to hear that you didn't have a pleasant stay at Clink78. It's true that we were experiencing some issues with hot water lately but it has been resolved and things are back to normal now :) I hope you will consider Clink for your next visit to London. Safe... More 

Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

It surprised me that the kitchen was so clean for a large hostel like this. There are helpful staffs keep it tidy. The dorm are quite horrible....that I would call it a 'coffin'. So small and you don't have enough plug for your phone. The locker was just enough for your purse.... If you want a quiet place to stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hostel_Clink261, Front Office Supervisor at Clink78 Hostel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your time leaving us a review. We are happy to hear that you liked how clean the kitchen was, we'll pass it on to our lovely housekeeping team :) Please bare in mind that Clink78 is a busy backpackers hostel - perfect to meet new people. If you are looking for something more chilled out and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Clink78 Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clink78 Hostel

Address: 78 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clink78 Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Clink78 Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clink78 Hotel London
Clink78 Hostel London, England

462 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (201)
Viewed
Room/suite (44)
Viewed
Family/play areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
1:19
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (95)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (251)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Eight Bed Dorm Basic (20)
Viewed
Prison Cell (28)
Viewed
Private Room Ensuite (28)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (44)
Viewed
Ten Bed Dorm Ensuite (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighborhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighborhood