We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Victoria Inn

77 - 79 Choumert Road | Peckham, London SE15 4AR, England (Formerly Wishing Well Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Victoria Inn
Add Photo

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    8
    20
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
7
22
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (54)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Takes a lot for me to write a review but today our dinner was awful. Three of us ate & 3 of us weren't happy. Fish & chips - fish bland & tasteless. Chips - hard & old. Sweet potato and bean burger - bland & lacking In bean. the last time I came I didn't like the food either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my second stay at the Victoria Inn. I stayed two nights in single room with an ensuite shower room. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, I was very happy with the welcome I received from all members of staff. My kettle was leaking and it was replaced with a brand new one with zero fuss. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sedanger, General Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the review and of course thanks for staying with us! Really glad that you enjoyed your second visit and that we are scoring well on our warm welcome, we really do try our best. We have a fantastic refurbishment that is being planned for late summer that is going to have us looking beautiful and with all... More 

Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm sure this is a perfectly nice pub but the rooms are dreadful. We stayed here last summer for a nearby event and we were appalled by our stay. As other reviewers have said - rooms were tiny, filthy and incredibly hot. I know you pay a premium for rooms in London but this really was an absolute pit at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedanger, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for the review. We are under new management since your visit last year and we are due for an amazing refurbishment this summer that is not only going to have us looking beautiful and rooms stocked with all the up to date amenities that you can think of, we are even going to be knocking down walls... More 

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely slow cooked Pork but ruined by terrible roast potatoes, tasted about 5 hours old, dry hard, tasteless. Such a shame, veg was equally poor, watery cabbage and carrots (no expense spared!) Gravy no better, decent YPs, good music, friendly service, won't be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedanger, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the review and feedback. Ah, sorry that you didn’t enjoy your roast, it really is one of those dishes that everyone loves the way that they make it, and we love ours and lots of happy guests with full tummy’s left her last Sunday. Come by and say hi another Sunday and I will make sure you... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The pub does nice food and has a good selection of ale We stayed for one night. And felt instantly that we had made a big mistake. For 100 pounds we could have stayed somewhere nicer. The room unfortunately was very tired with mold all over the bathroom ceiling. The shower head was disgusting. And there where stains all over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedanger, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hey guys, really glad you enjoyed the food and we do love our ales especially with being in South London we have access to so many great breweries. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay, the room that you were in really did need some love, since your stay it’s been deep cleaned and the bathroom has been repainted, as... More 

Stoke on Trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Stayed there recently, clean & tidy room but absolutely tiny bathroom. The pub is generally full of pretentious knobs & expensive. Also staffed by a surly barmaid / manageress who has an attitude problem. She could benefit from attending a social skills course. Located in the better end of Peckham but only a short walk to "Slumville USA" AKA the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I just moved to Peckham and needed somewhere to stay while waiting to get the keys to my new flat, so i booked in here for a week, wasn't to sure what to find but the place was great, the staff are really cool guys and they helped me to find the best places to go and things to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedanger, General Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for the review, really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really enjoyed meeting you, you were lots of fun! Hope to see you in the pub soon…… Shaun More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

We booked a room here after not being able to find an airbnb in the area at short notice. A twin room was £100, very small and basic - more basic than a Premier Inn for example - and as others say the photos on the website do not fairly represent the rooms. The rooms could do with a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedanger, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review, we always appreciated feedback! We are having a full hotel refurbishment that is going to have the entire place looking amazing, especially that hallway and entrance that we agree needs a little sparkle adding to it. Glad that you enjoyed the shower and you are right it is the little bits that matter and a... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Popped in for a few drinks and ended up staying longer than expected with my partner. Decided on getting a bite to eat and that's when the experience took a turn for the worse. My shoulder of lamb consisted of bits of lamb made into a burger like patty with over seasoned mash and gravy. My partners fish and chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

My husband and I stayed here for a little weekend getaway in London. The food was good, the room was clean and cosy, and the manager and staff were hospitable. The location is convenient to public transport to get around other parts of London. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sedanger, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jasmine, thanks for the review, really glad that you enjoy your stay with us, hope to see you again sometime soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay