We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Victoria Inn

77 - 79 Choumert Road | Peckham, London SE15 4AR, England (Formerly Wishing Well Inn)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Victoria Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Victoria Inn
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    9
    21
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
8
23
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I need a place to stay for a few weeks while waiting to move in to my apartment. Victoria Inn was a great place as the staff was very helpful when needed and the location was convenient, only a short walk to the overground. There's also a great market across the street to pick up items and the rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We made a reservation in April for 8 rooms for guests coming to our wedding in September. We received a phone-call from hotel management 6 weeks before our booking stating that they were cancelling our reservation due to closing for a refurbishment. We had been aware that the pub was planning a refurbishment and were in contact with hotel management,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying for one night, our room was on the top floor the room was completely average and in some cases quite grubby the tiles in th bathroom were yellow and black, the shower was grubby and the glass door was hanging off. We found a stale cake in one of the drawers which was just the icing on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015 via mobile

Have been a customer of the pub for quite a while now and recently also stayed at the Inn for a night last time my mother came to visit and both me and her absolutely loved it. Such a welcoming and quiet little place to get away from the chaos of central London and have a relaxed time. Great location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015 via mobile

Takes a lot for me to write a review but today our dinner was awful. Three of us ate & 3 of us weren't happy. Fish & chips - fish bland & tasteless. Chips - hard & old. Sweet potato and bean burger - bland & lacking In bean. the last time I came I didn't like the food either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

This was my second stay at the Victoria Inn. I stayed two nights in single room with an ensuite shower room. The room was clean, the bed was comfy, I was very happy with the welcome I received from all members of staff. My kettle was leaking and it was replaced with a brand new one with zero fuss. However,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sedanger, General Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the review and of course thanks for staying with us! Really glad that you enjoyed your second visit and that we are scoring well on our warm welcome, we really do try our best. We have a fantastic refurbishment that is being planned for late summer that is going to have us looking beautiful and with all... More 

Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

I'm sure this is a perfectly nice pub but the rooms are dreadful. We stayed here last summer for a nearby event and we were appalled by our stay. As other reviewers have said - rooms were tiny, filthy and incredibly hot. I know you pay a premium for rooms in London but this really was an absolute pit at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedanger, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hi guys, thanks for the review. We are under new management since your visit last year and we are due for an amazing refurbishment this summer that is not only going to have us looking beautiful and rooms stocked with all the up to date amenities that you can think of, we are even going to be knocking down walls... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Lovely slow cooked Pork but ruined by terrible roast potatoes, tasted about 5 hours old, dry hard, tasteless. Such a shame, veg was equally poor, watery cabbage and carrots (no expense spared!) Gravy no better, decent YPs, good music, friendly service, won't be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedanger, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hey, thanks for the review and feedback. Ah, sorry that you didn’t enjoy your roast, it really is one of those dishes that everyone loves the way that they make it, and we love ours and lots of happy guests with full tummy’s left her last Sunday. Come by and say hi another Sunday and I will make sure you... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015 via mobile

The pub does nice food and has a good selection of ale We stayed for one night. And felt instantly that we had made a big mistake. For 100 pounds we could have stayed somewhere nicer. The room unfortunately was very tired with mold all over the bathroom ceiling. The shower head was disgusting. And there where stains all over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sedanger, Manager at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review

Hey guys, really glad you enjoyed the food and we do love our ales especially with being in South London we have access to so many great breweries. Sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay, the room that you were in really did need some love, since your stay it’s been deep cleaned and the bathroom has been repainted, as... More 

Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Stayed there recently, clean & tidy room but absolutely tiny bathroom. The pub is generally full of pretentious knobs & expensive. Also staffed by a surly barmaid / manageress who has an attitude problem. She could benefit from attending a social skills course. Located in the better end of Peckham but only a short walk to "Slumville USA" AKA the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Peckham Lodge
#696 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Church Street Hotel
#246 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
Pimlico
Victoria Inn
Victoria Inn
#590 of 1,052 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#650 of 1,052 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,052 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,888 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#80 of 536 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Back to top