We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fox & Anchor

#102 of 549 B&Bs / Inns in London
Certificate of Excellence
115 Charterhouse Street | Clerkenwell, London EC1M 6AA, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Fox & Anchor
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

130 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here four nights and location is great, only 5 minutes from the Barbican tube station yet tucked off a side street near Spittalfields market. From here much of London is easily walkable. Room rates were comparable to chain hotels but it was nice to stay somewhere unique. Rooms have been done out well with some nice design touches.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Becksloves2travel
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We went to the fox and anchor between Christmas and new year . When we got there the pub had only just opened . We went in to find a lovely bar like you had stepped back into old London . Really lovely . We was taken up to our room which had a separate door outside . On entering... More 

Helpful?
Thank p66wal
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

My wife and I recently embarked on a two week trip through the UK, starting in London first. The Fox and Anchor was our first stop after arriving. It's a wonderful little place, with terrific decor in both the Pub and the hotel rooms. The staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms are immaculate, and the food is very good.... More 

Helpful?
Thank James B
FoxandAnchor p, Manager at Fox & Anchor, responded to this review

Good evening James, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay in November. I was really pleased to read that you had a good start to your holiday and that you appreciated the decor of our hotel and pub, the cleanliness of our rooms, friendliness of our staff and that you found our... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2015

If you want an old school pub in an old central area of London then this is a great place to consider. I only use the place as a meeting point for a race day I organise annually. It's open early (7am) for beers and breakfast and is an ideal place to start a long day at the races. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank PAUL N
FoxandAnchor p, Manager at Fox & Anchor, responded to this review

Dear Paul, Thank you for the review of our pub and the excellent score you gave us. We are delighted that you and all 50 of your guests had a good experience while visiting us on the race day and that you found our breakfast to be excellent and good quality. I was happy to learn that you returned to... More 

Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

I was looking for something different (from the impersonal big chain hotels) for when I have to be in London for work. I found this place and I am so glad I did. I got the St Pauls room which is just lovely. Fabulous bathroom with gorgeous big bath and rainfall shower, huge smart tv, little sitting area with desk,... More 

Helpful?
Thank KatrinaIreland
FoxandAnchor p, Manager at Fox & Anchor, responded to this review

Dear Katrina, Thank you for 'fabulous' review and score you gave us following your stay at the Fox and Anchor in November. I am really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and found the St Paul's room to be lovely. It sounds that you really appreciate a nice bath and a bit of 'telly' so I recommend you... More 

Merseyside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

We arrived on Saturday lunchtime for a single night’s stay .We were well looked after from the moment we arrived. We stayed in the St Barts room above the main entrance to the front of the property; a little noisy at night but not noisy enough to spoil our night sleep, the big bed was very comfy! Friends we were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charlie G
FoxandAnchor p, Manager at Fox & Anchor, responded to this review

Dear Josiah, I am pleased to read that you found our hotel bedrooms to be comfortable and well appointed. I was even more satisfied to learn that you found our team to be beyond helpful and friendly. We, indeed, are always more than happy to share the knowledge about our area and help the 'first-timers' with getting around London. I... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The Pub is delicious and the staff is beyond helpful and friendly. Before going to London, I was warned by my English homies that Londoners are rude and short and mouthy. My experience at The Fox and Anchor was the exact opposite. Friendly and helpful staff with some really good suggestions for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Josiah S
FoxandAnchor p, Manager at Fox & Anchor, responded to this review

Dear Josiah, I am pleased to read that you found our hotel bedrooms to be comfortable and well appointed. I was even more satisfied to learn that you found our team to be beyond helpful and friendly. We, indeed, are always more than happy to share the knowledge about our area and help the 'first-timers' with getting around London. I... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

I have been a regular diner here over a number of years. On my last visit the service was very slow. I had ordered chicken which was completely raw inside. I pointed this out to the waitress who stated that another customer had complained also and the message back from the kitchen was that this was normal! I did not... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JayDeeee2015
FoxandAnchor p, Manager at Fox & Anchor, responded to this review

Dear JayDeee, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your visit in October. We aim to delight our customers which you would have experienced over the past few years during which you had been visiting the Fox and Anchor regularly, however, sometimes we do not get everything right so I really... More 

Manchester
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2015

Spent three nights here while on a city break with my wife. Had a bit of initial difficulty getting a room as it is a popular place. Found one room available on secret escapes, then called the place direct to see if they could beat that price, they couldn’t, in fact they added an extra £100 on top! So booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank rangestormer
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

It's the second time we stayed here. It's a fantastic place in a nice area. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet, which you shouldn't expect in a pub and in such a lively area. We plan to stay here once a year!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk D
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Rookery Hotel
The Rookery Hotel
#101 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#138 of 1,059 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#241 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#452 of 1,059 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Holborn
The One Tun
The One Tun
#61 of 549 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Clerkenwell

Neighborhood Profile
Clerkenwell
Owing to its proximity to Smithfield Market – the site of an ancient meat market which remains in operation today – Clerkenwell boasts a plethora of globally renowned restaurants, fabulous local eateries, and some of London's favorite pubs. This isn't merely a focal point for all things foodie though. Spend enough time wondering through the area's maze of streets and you might become accustomed to the litany of slinky models passing between Clerkenwell's handful of fashion houses. Far outnumbering the models are craftspeople and designers, many of them are more than happy to welcome visitors into their studios and showrooms.
Explore this neighborhood
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities