We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Childwall Abbey Hotel

Childwall Abbey Rd. | Merseyside, Liverpool L16 5EY, England
Hotel amenities
Childwall Abbey Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #66 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015
Sal1437 Liverpool, United Kingdom
Add Photo

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    16
    24
    15
    17
    5
See reviews for
15
33
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (21)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you enjoy a meal in this establishment, all I can say is that you are'nt use to much. The food and presentation is absolute rubbish, not even cheap and cheerful. It is a shame because the building is nice not allowing for the ghost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wilko4661, Manager at Childwall Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Joan E Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal with us on your recent visit. You say the food and presentation are rubbish and for this I must apologise. If you would like to give me a call I would be very interested in a more detailed feedback. Regards Brian More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Contrary to previous review, I took my good lady today for an early dinner and we had the sirloin steak followed by the sticky toffee puding mmmmmmm brilliant is all I can say. I would reccommend this place to snyone. Thank you chef

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Pros: location great/ pub nice/ beer good. Cons lets GO We went having been several times before but today was very disappointing. I ordered ribs and steak at £14 and when it eventually came out it was over cooked dry and served with wilted rocket it was awful. No chips or sauce. Sent it back. The carvery was only Luke... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

Having been here before and the food being okay we came again for my nans birthday. The food was awful. My elderly nan wanted fish and chips which they had ran out of. Every meal we ordered was below average. We only expected pub grub but it was hardly edible.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2015 via mobile

Drove to the abbey for lunch , totally disappointed staff where dull and totally void of any personality Food for the price was disgusting place was dank and carpets so need replacing . Menu choice was Ok , no offers on for family's ... Wrong choice off venue .. Will never return unless weather spoons take it over .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

My self husband and son visit for lunch the table was not clean but we ordered food. My son order from the menu chicken masla . The lady who took the order young not happy in her job inform us there was no nama bread . Could not believe the chef could send out the meals which were served. A... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Should have checked trip advisor as I usually do but was only for overnight stay. Very busy pub diner not best idea arriving at 18.45 when people ordering meals! Might have had forethought to put heater on to take off chill. I booked through bookings.com and was looking forward to something a little more up market. Not a case of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
wilko4661, Manager at Childwall Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Nellius Sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you were expecting. As you say in your comments the bar area was very busy as you checked in but I hope that you did not wait too long for a member of the team to check you into your room. Good to hear you thought the... More 

Blackpool, England
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

We booked this hotel as it was convenient after our late flight in from Dublin. It was a 12 minute drive from John lennon airport. Easy to find. Very impressed with first impressions as the hotel is a stunning building and it was beautifully lit. It was quite noisy as there was an anniversary party and an elvis tribute in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wilko4661, Manager at Childwall Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Debandez Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It's always good to get feedback on guest stays and I will be sharing your comments at our next staff meeting. We hope to see you again when you next visit Liverpool. Brian More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The hotel is located in a very quiet area, which is almost like being in the countryside. There is a real buzz about the place with a very active pub/restaurant which is always a good sign. The food is excellent value for money and the Staff are very warm and friendly. My room was an excellent size and more than... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
wilko4661, Manager at Childwall Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Hi 9481234 Glad to hear you had a good stay with us on your recent visit to Liverpool. It's good to hear you enjoyed our busy bar and excellent food. As you rightly say it does get a bit busy but that's the way we like it. I will let the team know your comments and thanks for taking the... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

On arrival the outside looked very welcoming but its a shame the staff we're not. It was unclear where to go when we first arrived and then when we were told to stand by the bar hatch we were repeatedly asked to move making us feel in the way. On being shown to our room it was like a fridge... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wilko4661, Manager at Childwall Abbey Hotel, responded to this review

Hello rachelfox99 Please accept my apologies for the disappointing stay you had here at The Chilwall Abbey. Can I assure you this is not our usual standard and it is totally unacceptable. I have taken all the points you have raised in your review and will be working hard with the team to make sure all our guest have a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay