We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HOAX Liverpool

Certificate of Excellence
54 Stanley Street, Liverpool L1 6AU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HOAX Liverpool
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
HOAX Liverpool
HOAX Liverpool
HOAX Liverpool
Add Photo Write a Review

182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    95
    54
    19
    4
    10
See reviews for
10
15
52
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (43)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (43)
All months
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 night. 3 of us in private 6 bedded room with bathroom. Room good. Beds clean and comfortable. Bathroom spotless. On 2nd floor overlooking Mathew street so noisy , but we knew where it was and expected this, we slept OK ! Staff helpful. Website said towels provided but on arrival discovered needed to hire. Not a problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Dear FionaS366 Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We have updated our website with reference to the towels. I do apologise that the bar was not up to our usual high standards of cleanliness. I was pleased to read you found our staff helpful they certainly do offset us from the competition. Hope to see you again... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On a visit to the city, a hearty breakfast was in order, so our party of 7 happened upon a sign saying all you can eat breakfast for £5. After paying our £35, we realised what a mistake we had made, firstly all you can eat is a little exaggerated when every food container was empty and every table occupied... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Dear Chris N Thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am very sorry that you did not experience a great breakfast. Our new all you can eat breakfast buffet has proved to be very popular offering great value at just £5 and some days have been very busy as you have highlighted. I have passed on your... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately I didn't read any reviews before booking a room here! It all looks quite nice trendy and new, but that's about it. When I had to sign something at the reception to say I would pay for any damages I should have guessed something was up. We had a room on the corner opposite Matthew Street. It was small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Dear Andrew Thank you for taking time to leave a review. I am very sorry ear plugs were not available during your stay. We don't hide the fact that we are based in the prime location of Mathew St which is surrounded by bars and clubs that are open late and produce loud music. The very competitive rates we offer... More 

Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I believe hoax hostel and smart city liverpool is the same hostel chain (isn't it?). I booked hoax hostel for 2 nights private rooms sleep for two. The location is superb! 2 minutes away from Liverpool One, liverpool shooping area, and many other attractions, and also 9 minutes away from Liverpool One Bus Station. The room was clean and comfy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Dear summerlilybee Thanks for the great review, we are now part of the Euro Hostel Group and not Smart City, check out our sister properties in Glasgow, Newcastle and Edinburgh. See you again soon Emma More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely place to stay. Stayed for 2 nights including a Saturday night where being surrounded by bar's can be very noisy i was put in the basement room so didn't here much except for the people in the dorm next to me as the walls are extremely thin and could here them talking. The room had 8 beds and its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Dear Louise E Thanks for the great review, pleased to read you would stay again we look forward to welcoming you back. Emma More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night with my husband for a birthday treat. Fantastic location, our room looked out onto the street with they Cavern Club on. Room clean, comfy and warm. We had a private double room, which was well decorated, not just a standard looking hostel room. Will happily visit again. Value for money very good. Staff friendly and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi Emily M Thanks for the great review, we agree our double rooms are great value and offer fab views of the famous Mathew St and Cavern Quarter Look forward to welcoming you back soon Emma More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed as a group for two nights, occupying a total of three rooms. The place looked nice, smart reception area and a bar downstairs. I was in a room of four, bunkbeds down one side and a separate toilet and shower room on the other. All nice and clean, worked really well. The room had a little wear and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi sparkplugs Thanks for taking time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback reference the towels and pillows and we will take this on board for the future. We agree our bar is far superior to those around us. Hope to see you again soon Emma More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Although not really for couples as rooms are based on people sharing,we came as a stag party and had booked a cheap option,but was well pleased with this hotel,it was clean,rooms were ensuite ,there was a very good bar and a resturant ,although we ate at wetherspoons which is about 50 yards away,and there are helpful staff at hand at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi Clayton J Thanks for the positive review, great to read you enjoyed your stay. The hostel fits all travellers from couples to groups to individuals. Hope to see you again soon Emma More 

Onchan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Stayed at HOAX with a group of mates. What a great place and for the price you can't go wrong. Slap bang in the middle of Liverpool and close to everything. Staff and room were great and for being next to Mathew street was still quite enough to sleep of a hangover.

Was this review helpful? Yes
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi TurnipIOM Thanks for the great review, glad you enjoyed your stay and you managed to sleep off the hangover! See you again soon Emma More 

northern ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

had 1 night at the hoax , great place right in amongst the nightlife. best hostel I've ever seen . staff where fantastic, place is spotless. handy to the train station.. have to call this a boutique hostel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
GM_Emma_HOAX, General Manager at HOAX Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi ericNorthernIreland Thanks for the great review - we agree we are defiantly a boutique hostel. See you again soon Emma More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay