We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Block

Kings Dock, Keel Wharf | City Centre, Liverpool L3 4FN, England
Hotel amenities
The Block
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
czyK8tie St.Helens, Merseyside
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    88
    41
    20
    34
See reviews for
45
52
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (265)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
St.Helens, Merseyside
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night as we were going for a meal at Sapporo then onto a concert at the Echo! Ideal location, really couldn't be better if your going to the Echo or visiting the docks area. Check in was easy, though staff not the most efficient (far better when we had a young gent on check out, his efficiency... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hull
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

These apartments are great, clean, functional and in a brilliant location right next to Albert Dock. Lovely views and staff on reception very helpful. Would definitely go back. The 2 bed apartments have two bathrooms too,

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although these apartments are in a good location, I would not book to stay here again. The beds were the most uncomfortable beds ever - considering you can stay in a king size in the premier inn for half the price! Also, there was no hot water on the first morning we stayed. Finish of the flats was poor, with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here in September 2014 for 3 nights. The apartment was clean but quite basic. No pictures or homely effects anywhere, very clinical. The apartment stocked everything we needed, crockery, cutlery, kitchen utensils etc, but we would have liked to have seen some toiletries in the bathroom. The bed, however were another story. We barely got any sleep as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed at the Block for 2 nights over Valentines weekend - great location next to Echo Arena with parking easily located. Our room was a 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the Kings Docks. Very spacious with everything you need to cater for stay. Very quiet location so great nights sleep and very relaxing. A 2 min walk to Albert Dock and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A group of six of us stayed to watch a football game in Liverpool. Had no issues with checking in and our apartment was clean and had great views of Liverpool. The location is also excellent, walking distance from central Liverpool and right on the docks. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Definitely better than staying in a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The location is brilliant certainly if you are attending the Echo Arena. There's many places to eat nearby from Italians to Indian restaurants. I stayed in November with three other friends so it was great value for the two nights. The room was standard as expected how the mattresses on the beds were so hard I was barely able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor. It was disappointing to read your experience was not 100% satisfactory. Please allow me to offer my apologies. I sincerely hope this does not deter you from staying at The Block again. As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Arrived late afternoon to a cold and uninviting block, however the architecture , cold as it was did not prepare us for the physical and very real coldness of the apartment. Rather than cough up for central heating, the owners have fitted each room with a wall mounted electric heater of sorts. The one in the living room was far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with the decor of your room. The rooms are designed in a minimalistic and modern way, and I can understand that this was, unfortunately, not to your taste. I am also sorry to see that you have marked us low on service in the hotel, we pride ourselves on providing... More 

Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We stopped weekend 12-14 December. The accomodation was pretty good although there were defects in the room which I did not find until the next day after arrival. I would advise people to check room carefully. After paying £200 pound deposit I was a little worried these defects would be found and the money retained. This did not happen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor. It was disappointing to read your experience was not 100% satisfactory. Please allow me to offer my apologies. I sincerely hope this does not deter you from staying at The Block again. As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly... More 

blackpool
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Terrible service and that saying a lot for self catering apartment We paid for the apartment on arrival by a mix of cash and card the staff insisted on a deposit of £200 that i put on my debit card. but 5 days later and i still have not had the money back. i have rang them several times and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all comments whether they are positive or negative. The deposit was a security deposit all hotel's take, in case of damage while staying. We don't hold this money, it stays in your account and after a number of days is released by your bank back to you. the number... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question