We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Kings Dock, Keel Wharf | City Centre, Liverpool L3 4FN, England
Hotel amenities
The Block
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Block to your Saves list
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Darren M Swansea, United Kingdom
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    86
    40
    19
    34
See reviews for
45
50
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (260)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars NEW

A group of six of us stayed to watch a football game in Liverpool. Had no issues with checking in and our apartment was clean and had great views of Liverpool. The location is also excellent, walking distance from central Liverpool and right on the docks. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Definitely better than staying in a hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Interested in Liverpool?
Get deals, advice and ideas on what to do.
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

The location is brilliant certainly if you are attending the Echo Arena. There's many places to eat nearby from Italians to Indian restaurants. I stayed in November with three other friends so it was great value for the two nights. The room was standard as expected how the mattresses on the beds were so hard I was barely able to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor. It was disappointing to read your experience was not 100% satisfactory. Please allow me to offer my apologies. I sincerely hope this does not deter you from staying at The Block again. As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Arrived late afternoon to a cold and uninviting block, however the architecture , cold as it was did not prepare us for the physical and very real coldness of the apartment. Rather than cough up for central heating, the owners have fitted each room with a wall mounted electric heater of sorts. The one in the living room was far... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with the decor of your room. The rooms are designed in a minimalistic and modern way, and I can understand that this was, unfortunately, not to your taste. I am also sorry to see that you have marked us low on service in the hotel, we pride ourselves on providing... More 

Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We stopped weekend 12-14 December. The accomodation was pretty good although there were defects in the room which I did not find until the next day after arrival. I would advise people to check room carefully. After paying £200 pound deposit I was a little worried these defects would be found and the money retained. This did not happen and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor. It was disappointing to read your experience was not 100% satisfactory. Please allow me to offer my apologies. I sincerely hope this does not deter you from staying at The Block again. As mentioned in other reviews, your feedback is extremely important to us and is shared directly... More 

blackpool
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014

Terrible service and that saying a lot for self catering apartment We paid for the apartment on arrival by a mix of cash and card the staff insisted on a deposit of £200 that i put on my debit card. but 5 days later and i still have not had the money back. i have rang them several times and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all comments whether they are positive or negative. The deposit was a security deposit all hotel's take, in case of damage while staying. We don't hold this money, it stays in your account and after a number of days is released by your bank back to you. the number... More 

Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I spent a weekend at the block with four girlfriends. First time in Liverpool. I was severely assaulted the first night there (nothing related to the block) but was given amazing support from the staff and they went above and beyond to ensure my comfort and safety. The apartment was furnished to the highest standard with everything we needed. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

May I take the opportunity of thanking you for your comments in relation to your stay with us here at The Block Liverpool. It is always very pleasing to receive such positive feedback and your comments will be passed on to the team here at the hotel. All the staff hope you had a speedy recovering from you assault, we... More 

Sale, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Horrible would be a generous description. Dirty, poorly equiped and definitely not as described by bookings.com. Parking and check-in was arduous. Reception staff/management were disinterested until they were asking for a trip advisor review when we were checking out the next day. The apartment was cold, dirty, with a clothes dryer missing, one shower not working and very shabby. Blinds... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Dear I was very sorry to read that you did not find your stay with us at The Block Liverpool satisfactory or enjoyable. Customer satisfaction is of paramount importance to us. I would be grateful if you contact me directly so that I can obtain further details in order to fully investigate this matter and hopefully rectify this situation to... More 

Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

We were looking for an accommodation for 3 persons for 1 night in central Liverpool at a Champions League evening. All offers found were super pricey. The Block offered us a great price, Having read the comments here we were a bit skeptical in the beginning, but it everything was totally fine. Location: great - just next to the Albert... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and am pleased that you found the hotel good value for money. We continue to strive towards improving our standards and hope that you will return at some point in the future. Regards, Carol O’Brien More 

Kerry, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

With hotels at premium prices on the weekend that we visited Liverpool, we opted for an apartment stay instead. The Block is very centrally located adjacent to Albert Dock and a short walk to the city centre. The apartment was clean and staff were helpful and accommodating of requests for additional bedding and towels. The apartment was well equipped but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and am pleased that you found the hotel good value for money. We continue to strive towards improving our standards and hope that you will return at some point in the future. Regards, Carol O’Brien More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

We stayed for two nights for 40th birthday celebrations. The apartment had two bedrooms, one with a wet room and a large separate bathroom too which was perfect for four girls sharing. The apartment was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. Fully equipped with every utensil you need, plus towels, hairdryers etc. Its in a perfect location,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBlockManager, Manager at The Block, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We value our guest comments and they assist us in improving our standards and quality of service which we provide. We continually review our standards in order ensure that high standards are maintained at all times. Regards, Carol O’Brien More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Block? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Block

Address: Kings Dock, Keel Wharf | City Centre, Liverpool L3 4FN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Block 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Block reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (89)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay