We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Liverpool

25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Hotel amenities
YHA Liverpool
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
lil_ta_2011 York, United Kingdom
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    11
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
4
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here on 18th April 2015 for a friends hen do (we are from York). Great idea as there was 11 of us so we got two rooms next door to each other. Great fun with the bunk beds, beds were clean and comfy but only one pillow each. The bathroom was basic but has toliet sink and shower as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here as a family in a private room with an ensuite . Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi worked great in the communal area and our room. Bar service was great and enjoyed the use of the tv room. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds . The rooms are a bit tired looking and carpets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We book for one night before liverpool vs newcastle game The room is big and clean, the staffs was nice. They also guide me to the place to go and how to get there - 5 minutes walk to albert dock and other museum near there - 7 minutes walk to liverpool one bus station - 15 minutes walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback. I will pass it on to the staff. Please come and stay again! More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a group of 16 we needed a good location and well priced rooms! This was exactly that! We spent a very little amount of time in the room! But it was ideal for what we needed bunk beds were a decent size and rooms were clean! Could do with some new carpets however! Breakfast was included and was great!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks very much for the review. Apologies about the shower- I will look at replacing any broken fittings as soon as I can. In regards the carpets, we are due some new ones! I can't wait for them to be fitted! We hope to see you here again. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was here on a stag weekend. Hostel is in a very good location. Rooms are basic but you get what u pay for. Best feature in the rooms was that all the beds even bunk beds had their own socket and light. Free WiFi too. The staff on reception were the best thing about the hostel, Steve in particular... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I think you may have drank too much, as we don't have a Steve working here. James, however, I believe would be your man in question mentioned what fun you guys were and were a great stag group! We'd love to have you again. Cat More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Would recommend to family and friends. Staff very friendly...... Isn't that what scousers are known for??? Rooms are basic but are clean could do with updating but apart from that everything that I needed. I stayed in a room with a double bed which is a bonus I thought it would be bunk beds :) I did note a hole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, thanks very much for your lovely review. Michelle will be pleased with the comments about breakfast! In regards the rooms, we are actually about to have a small renovation of the rooms which should be completed in the next couple of months... so if you come back, hopefully these issues should be fixed! Thanks again Cat More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed in this hostel before but returned to stay the night in a grubby and dirty room. The sanitary bin was not emptied, there were stains on the bed sheets which looked generally quite old and a very dirty carpet. Also I know it's a cheap hostel but it would be nice if soap had been provided. All in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your room. It would be useful to know which room and exact date it was so that I can look into who cleaned it. You could email me on: liverpoolmanager@yha.org.uk if you would like to pass on that information. As feedback in the... More 

Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at YHA Liverpool when I went to the Liberal Democrat Spring Conference in March 2015. It was about 15 minutes' walk from Lime Street Station and 5 minutes from the conference venue. The 6 bed ensuite room was fine, the reception staff were helpful and friendly. I used the self catering kitchen but having seen the cooked breakfasts... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are due a small refurbishment in the next 3 months, so we hope to see you again in the future and show you our new look... you will be able to try the breakfast if you visit again too! More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a hostel they have a clean room and a very good customer service. They'll tell you everything you need to know clearly like how to take the bus etc. the open pantry is great too with hot water and cups ready to use. Very satisfied with my stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are due a small refurbishment, so it would be good to see you again in the future so that we can show off our new look! More 

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

had a girly overnight stay here at the weekend.rooms (we had 2) were quite big and private wc with shower.however the floor in the rooms was dirty very badly stained.I found sweets at the back of the main door which must have been left there by the last guests.beds were clean but not the most comfy.breakfast was ok.it was fresh... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that you found sweets in your room. I have spoken to the Housekeeping Team and address that they need to check behind doors! We do usually do a room check at the end of the shift, so I will make sure this check is added... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question