We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Liverpool

25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Hotel amenities
YHA Liverpool
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015
lil_ta_2011 York, United Kingdom
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
12
4
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (94)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was very disappointed with the hostel. I was staying with my school. When we arrived we had to stand freezing outside for half an hour because the rooms were 'not ready' After that we walked into the rooms. We walked in and the floor outside our bathroom was wet. We asked for assistance and they placed towels on top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Felt like a school trip Bright green room bunk beds Minging bed linen very dirty! And old Dirty floor Bog standard room It Was ok as we only slept in there for 5 hour as out all night but was like a tramps house very scruffy Staff were nice though There was no towels in the rooms mate used a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here with hubby and two young children. The position of this hostel and the parking spaces is fab. The welcome is good and downstairs looks inviting. However, it went downhill fast as we were given a room which had a filthy carpet and this made the room stink, even though the window was open. It really put me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, I am very sorry that your issues with the carpet affected your stay so much. Our housekeeping team do their best to keep the rooms clean, but we understand our carpets are very old. We are awaiting replacement at the moment as part of a small rennovation project. However, in the interim we have just had all of our... More 

Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a group of 40 college students we stayed in this Hostel in April 2015, in the room I was in there was 4 of us staying and 6 beds, it was a simple room, but rather dirty. The floor in the bathroom of our room was leaking with water and that was leaking by the bathroom door, when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. Our carpets are old, we have had them all cleaned professionally within the last 7 days. However, we are waiting on getting them all changed throughout the hostel- so that issue should be resolved shortly. In regards the service you recieved at the front... More 

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Stayed here on 18th April 2015 for a friends hen do (we are from York). Great idea as there was 11 of us so we got two rooms next door to each other. Great fun with the bunk beds, beds were clean and comfy but only one pillow each. The bathroom was basic but has toliet sink and shower as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. We hope to see you again here in the future :-) More 

glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Stayed here as a family in a private room with an ensuite . Staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi worked great in the communal area and our room. Bar service was great and enjoyed the use of the tv room. The rooms were spotlessly clean and very comfortable beds . The rooms are a bit tired looking and carpets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come and stay again. More 

Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

We book for one night before liverpool vs newcastle game The room is big and clean, the staffs was nice. They also guide me to the place to go and how to get there - 5 minutes walk to albert dock and other museum near there - 7 minutes walk to liverpool one bus station - 15 minutes walk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your feedback. I will pass it on to the staff. Please come and stay again! More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

As a group of 16 we needed a good location and well priced rooms! This was exactly that! We spent a very little amount of time in the room! But it was ideal for what we needed bunk beds were a decent size and rooms were clean! Could do with some new carpets however! Breakfast was included and was great!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks very much for the review. Apologies about the shower- I will look at replacing any broken fittings as soon as I can. In regards the carpets, we are due some new ones! I can't wait for them to be fitted! We hope to see you here again. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

I was here on a stag weekend. Hostel is in a very good location. Rooms are basic but you get what u pay for. Best feature in the rooms was that all the beds even bunk beds had their own socket and light. Free WiFi too. The staff on reception were the best thing about the hostel, Steve in particular... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review. I think you may have drank too much, as we don't have a Steve working here. James, however, I believe would be your man in question mentioned what fun you guys were and were a great stag group! We'd love to have you again. Cat More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Would recommend to family and friends. Staff very friendly...... Isn't that what scousers are known for??? Rooms are basic but are clean could do with updating but apart from that everything that I needed. I stayed in a room with a double bed which is a bonus I thought it would be bunk beds :) I did note a hole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, thanks very much for your lovely review. Michelle will be pleased with the comments about breakfast! In regards the rooms, we are actually about to have a small renovation of the rooms which should be completed in the next couple of months... so if you come back, hopefully these issues should be fixed! Thanks again Cat More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay