We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Liverpool

25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Liverpool
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    30
    48
    12
    13
    5
See reviews for
14
5
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is probably the cleanest hostel I stayed in during my UK backpacking trip. The beds were a bit flimsy but the comforter's looked very new and clean! The hostel is so close to everything. I walked everywhere and far!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We liked this hostel very much - modern, clean, well laid out, reasonably spacious, only 10-15 mins walk from main attractions/city centre etc. Friendly & helpful staff :-) Good self-catering kitchen with lots of utensils, great cooked breakfast with good selection of hot & cold items & drinks for only £5.25 (adult), £2.99 (under 10's). Comfortable clean room & beds,... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here 3 nights while traveling around the world. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Beds were comfy. Good water pressure and hot water in showers. Nice lobby and cafeteria and a kitchen to cook for yourself if you want. Plus it's close to everything so you can walk everywhere. Doesn't serve free breakfast but that was fine by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I haven't stayed in Youth Hostel for years. It was a great way to show 16 year old son what it will be like when he is traveling in his own. They have a full service cafeteria. Wifi only works in lobby which is a great way to get people out of their rooms. All ages accommodated. Our bed was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

We stayed one night. On a wed it says that its 4 star hotel but apparently its a hostel. The staff was friendly but the rest was awful. Bad smell since you enter into the building, and same in the room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations... and in fact were not a hotel! I would be interested to know which website you used to book so that we can address how the hostel is advertised... if you want to give me more detailed feedback, please drop me an email on: liverpoolmanager@yha.org.uk More 

Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Stayed at the yha with 11 friends last week. Great rooms, we loved the bright colours. Minor complaint that the plugs next to 2 of the beds didn't work but the staff were extremely helpful, quickly bringing an extension lead. Thanks to Andy for your help. Good value, we will definitely stay again. However to improve, the shower was broken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for leaving your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and Andy sorted your plug problems out for you! We have taken your constructive critisism and will see what we can do... we are currently undertaking a small rennovation of the hostel, so hopefully some of the points will be addressed then. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

Stayed here with 13 others on my stag do. We were welcome and check in was swift and stress free. rooms were very clean and beds were more comfortable than ones I've stayed in a proper 'hotel' Great stay! Great location for the ever improving and interesting 'baltic triangle area', but close enough to walk to and from town centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you here again soon. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2015 via mobile

I planned to stay here for a hen do. I am so glad we did, its a great location, comfy beds, so clean and best of all the staff. One I would like to name is a lady called Terri I think it is. She couldn't do enough for us. She made us feel welcomed and important. Thanks so much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your lovely review. I will ensure Terri reads it. Hopefully we will see you here again soon. More 

Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2015

I stayed in a 6-bedroom female dormitory in YHA Liverpool a few weeks ago and had no complaints. It was my first time staying in a dorm room in a hostel and I was very pleased with my experience of it. YHA was in a fantastic location, a 2-minute walk to the Echo Arena and Albert Dock and also very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. We appreciate all feedback, but it makes us smile knowing someone has had a good stay. We are (slowly) replacing the carpets in the rooms, with two rooms being done so far... so hopefully if you stay again, your room may even have new flooring! However, I am glad to hear it didn't impact... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

I've always been a big fan of Liverpool and what it has to offer and this hostel was no different. Quality location near the Albert docks and not too far from Liverpool One made it easy to get about by foot. The bar was quite busy and was the starting point for our night out and for many others it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks very much for leaving us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you here again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Campanile Liverpool
#60 of 100 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Staybridge Suites
#3 of 100 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassie Independent Hostel
#26 of 84 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
#33 of 84 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Central Liverpool
HOAX Liverpool
HOAX Liverpool
#16 of 84 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay