We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Liverpool accommodations

YHA Liverpool

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added YHA Liverpool to your Saves list
YHA Liverpool
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
saralou37
  • Overview
  • Reviews (33)
  • Photos (11)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
1
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just stayed here this weekend for a hen night. Prices were great, on arrival from outside we was abit sceptic but as soon as we walked in our minds were put to rest. Very clean very friendly and superb service. Food was great too. Would definitely stay again. Thanks Sara

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in this hostel for one night with a few friends. It was a great place to crash for the night in a very central location. Although it is located on a main road we didnt hear any traffic from our room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am glad that your experience with YHA Liverpool was a positive one. Liverpool is a fantastic city and we hope to see you again in the near future and that your stay will be here at YHA Liverpool. More

Croydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Being someone who regularly stays in hostels when visiting cities I totally recommend this as a great place to stay. I chose this place especially for its central location and everything you could want to experience in Liverpool is only a short walk away. It is almost opposite the Albert Dock and about 10 minutes by foot from the city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind comments and feedback. All of our staff work hard to ensure all of our guests have a great experience and I will pass on your comments to them. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us here at YHA Liverpool and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Kolobrzeg, Poland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

It was the first time I was sleeping in a hostel. It was packed of people who came back from a party, but were not noisy at all. The service was not too friendly and helpful, when asked about really general issues such as the location of the public library... even though bathroom was clean, I have serious doubts if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, I apologise that we did not fully meet your expectations in this instance. As you stayed in September last year it is very hard for me to follow up on your comments further. However, I can assure you that all of our departed beds... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Fiend booked this for a girls weekend so all 18 of us could be close. I tried to book another hotel when I saw it but all were booked up with it being a Saturday. At £35 each..that's £210 per room for 6 we could have got an apartment! Never been to prison but felt like I was in one.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience and please accept my apologes for your disappointment. Your comments have been shared with my team and we will review them internally. I am glad that you enjoyed our recently refurbed bar and reception area. We are now looking forward to a small general hostel refurb and decorating project which will also address some... More

liverpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 4 friends. As a couple of us were running in the rock and roll liverpool half marathon. And to be honest i was a little apprehensive as ive never stayed in a hostel before. But my fears were soon dispelled. The recetion area was modern and super clean. And the people on the desk were very friendly.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I am glad that your first experience with YHA was a positive one. Liverpool is a fantastic city and we hope to see you again in the near future and that your stay will be here at YHA Liverpool. More

Flint, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay in the 6 person private en suite dorm. A few of my friends were very apprehensive about staying in a hostel, so I'm pleased to say they all enjoyed their first hostel experience and had a brilliant time!! Reception lovely & cheap breakfast, pub grub tasty, room & bathroom were clean. What more can you ask!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. I will pass on your comments to the staff. Liverpool is a fantastic city and we hope to see you again in the near future. More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The rooms were clean, beds and linen clean and the bathroom in the room is a plus. Was a very nice breakfast for a good price. Staff were friendly and helpful as well. Recommend this yha if you want to stay in a hostel in Liverpool for sure.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Terrible experience. Don 't pick this hostel! First of all Where can I start?, the whole place looks like a hospital, the atmosphere is just weird, doesn 't feel like a hostel at all, very depressing. Everything seems to be about money! Internet is ridiculously expensive, when most other local hostels offer it for much cheaper or free. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YHALiverpoolManager, Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for taking the time to write your review, we’re sorry you didn’t have a great experience here. We do charge separately for most things, this gives our guests the chance to pay only for the goods and services they require and also means we can charge as little as £10 per bed on some nights. For HI and... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed here for a Uni reunion for one night, we hired a private dorm of 6 of us. The bathroom smelt pretty bad and wasn't the cleanest, slightly dated. But the rooms were comfy and the hostel lobby area has a nice bar and cafe area the staff were friendly too. The location was good, very close to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YHALiverpoolManager, General Manager at YHA Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback which is always appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed our recently refurbed bar and reception area. We are now looking forward to a small general hostel refurb and decorating project which will also address some of the issues that you raised, hopefully beginning this winter. I hope that this will not put you off... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage YHA Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Liverpool

Address: 25 Tabley Street | off Wapping, Liverpool L1 8EE, England (Formerly International Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Liverpool 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your YHA Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Right at the heart of everything Liverpool has to offer, this backpackers' hostel is just a stone's throw away from the historic Albert Docks. Close to the city centre, this newly refurbished Youth Hostel in Liverpool is perfect if you're looking for a cheap city break. YHA Liverpool at a glance: £70,000 renovation Extended bar - perfect for relaxing with friends over a drink! Fully refurbished reception area with brand new furniture, lighting, flooring and decor Updated lounge and games room Enhanced CCTV security Not far from the Tate and the International Slavery Museum, Maritime Museum and the famous Beatles Story, there is plenty to do in this city of culture. Don't miss out on the ferry across the Mersey - the terminal is just a short walk away. Just minutes from city centre shopping, live music venues, clubs and bars, including the famous Cavern Club, YHA Liverpool is the perfect location for a budget weekend break. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere at YHA Liverpool makes this a perfect venue for catching up with friends and seeing what this beautiful city has to offer. YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Liverpool! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

See which rooms travelers prefer