We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devonshire House Hotel

293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Devonshire House Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

546 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    92
    162
    114
    75
    103
See reviews for
80
190
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (546)
  • Mar-May only
    (134)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (147)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (127)
All months
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having read other reviews we had some concerns about staying here but did not want to stay in town. It is very convenient for the town centre and all attractions and there is plenty of parking space which is a real bonus. The gardens are beautifully kept but the same cannot be said for the main building which id badly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emwal Thank you so much for your comments on trip advisor, the hotel is just 1.5 miles from the city center, and an average cost of a taxi is £5.00 in to the city center, much cheaper than car parking. I am sorry you didn’t feel our menu did not live your to your expectations we do review our... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Okay we got married on Sunday 12th july this year I'd been planning my wedding for 2 years. Everything seemed to be going well until we left the cenomoney room to my horror no one was waiting to guide us to the next room it's quite a big hotel so me my husband and my guests kinda went where we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachelle H Thank you so much for leaving your comments; I am so disappointed you have chosen to express your dissatisfaction on trip advisor. I personally wrote to you last week after investigating your complaint in detail without bias, my findings where, details you requested for your wedding day had been adhered to the letter. As you can imagine... More 

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value for money. We attended a Reunion over the weekend and we had a fantastic experience. The rooms were good, the function suite was excellent and the staff very attentive, nothing was to much trouble. The Front of House staff, Lucia and Daisy, deserve a special mention for their all their help and advice with all queries resolved with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave64b Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, I am so pleased you had a wonderful time at the Devonshire House Hotel and you had a fantastic opportunity to meet up with all of your old friends. Lucia and Daisy do their very best to welcome all our guest and assist we necessary. it’s so refreshing when people... More 

Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked on-line, after all the photos of the inside and outside looked good. Upon arrival, the outside certainly looked good and the Reception area was also quite good. However, upstairs was a different story. The room I was originally given was hardly large enough to "swing a cat" - and the plastic door keys did not work!. The Housekeeper... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

PaulFabia Thank you for leaving your comments on trip adviser, though disappointing to read, i am so sorry you felt you had a bad experience with your stay, we really do try to keep our guest comfortable and happy, please accept my apologies as we did not meet with your expectations. Kind regards John More 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I took my work experience at the Devonshire house hotel, and would recommend this hotel for parties weddings events and a place to stay ,it's a warm welcoming hotel with a friendly atmosphere ,I had a tour around the whole place and would say it's one of the best hotels I've been to in Liverpool the staff are amazing and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Micarenee Thank you for leaving your comments on trip adviser, i am so happy you took the time to leave such positive comments about the hotel and the team. I do hope your work experience was in valuable to you, we endeavor to work with local schools and collages as we recognise young people need all the help they can... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for my daughter's hen party - There were a few hiccups with the booking but these were quickly sorted without a fuss The hotel itself is not luxury but I felt we got good value for money Breakfast was not included in our rate but was available at £7 if we wanted it The hotel is quite a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

SusyQzee Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor, i am so happy you took the time to leave such positive comments about the hotel and the team. I am so happy we met with your expectations, and i do hope the Hen night was as fun for you all not mention memorable. I do hope you get the... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had been here a while back and wasn't overly impressed but if has changed immensely. I was attending a mate's wedding at cannot fault the place. The venue, the grounds and the rooms were all top notch. It would have been 10/10 if they had had Jamesons's on the residents bar but apart from that it was excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dave H Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor, nice of you to mention how nice the hotel and function rooms are we have invested a lot of money in to the business, and continuing to do so. I am so pleased we managed to exceed your expectations and i will pass your disappointment comment on to the... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The moment l entered the hotel was welcomed warmly by thd staff. made feel at home The room was big, brght clean and welcoming, looking onto the beautiful gardens All my disability needs were met loved my stay and will be staying there again Lovely conference centre for days aways,mtraining,, corporate meetings and weddings

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol J Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor, your for kind and honest comments about the staff and the hotel were such a pleasure to read. We really do take care of our guests to ensure they receive the same levels of service as you did. The gardens are wonderful and there are lots of little... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic day on 29/5/15 my wedding coordinator was fab looked after us through all the planning but was away on the day :-( so Dave looked after us he was amazing nothing was to much trouble. Food was good room decoration was amazing thanks to ambience! All my guests had a good time which was main thing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Louh31 Thank you so much for your positive and honest feedback it always makes the teams day when i feed back all of the positive and honest comments. The team at the Devonshire House Hotel always go that extra mile for our guest to ensure their event goes just how it’s planned. Shame you missed breakfast best meal of... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Devonshire House in May 2015 and had our wedding there. The whole day was magical from the moment we booked the wedding to the actual day everything was made so special by all the staff and management. Jerri our wedding co-ordinator made sure everything went according to plan and can honestly say that everyone including all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carolyn287 Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, I am so pleased you have taken the time to leave you kind comments on the high levels of service the team provided on your special day. Our staff are consistently receiving commendations on their high level of services. Jerri is one of our stars she works so hard to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Beech Mount Hotel
#52 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
Park Hotel
#61 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Campanile Liverpool
#59 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#10 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay