We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devonshire House Hotel

3.0 of 5 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Devonshire House Hotel
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    149
    101
    65
    90
See reviews for
66
176
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (489)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (110)
All months
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location, scenic and quiet surroundings, nice rooms and best of all very nice and friendly staff especially John brown who's one of the management team and the lovely receptionist who was so helpful and pleasant who made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her. Value for money and yes I will return 😃

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we went for a night out with a club to the devonshire for a meal and entertainment the meal was ok but the entertainment was so loud i sat with my fingers in my ears all night. I would have enjoyed the night but for the noise. we were not the only people to complain about it. Even the background... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was lucky enough to stay at the Devonshire from Monday to Friday for a period of 8 months whilst working away in lovely Liverpool. I cannot express how wicked the management and staff are - It was like a family, such lovely people. The room was so comfortable the views of the gardens are great given this is only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shell098 thank you so much for wonderful comments on trip advior i am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. i do hope you get a chance to come and stay with us again soon Kind regards John Brown More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at the hotel because there was very little affordable accommodation closer to the city centre. The hotel was a short drive to the city centre, but no taxi would give us a ride back. In the end we had to beg a taxi to give us a lift and pay well over the odds (not the fault of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ricky637 Thank you so much for leaving your comments n TripAdvisor, I am disappointed to hear you did not get a cab back to the hotel, the hotel use a preferred cab company we could have arranged to get you a cab back to the hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards John More 

High Peak
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night on 21 November 2014. I chose it based on the budget price, the free parking and its proximity to the town centre. We arrived at about 9.00am, told the lady on reception that we'd arrived. She advised us that we could book in any time after 2pm as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DucknUmp Thank you so much for leaving your kind and honest comments on trip advisor, it’s always a pleasure to read such kind comments it was lovely to hear you we pleased with your stay and the free car parking, Getting into the city is easier and cost effective using the bus or a taxi. Once again thank you... More 

Lancashire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Chose the Devonshire as being the only one I could find that had its own car park rather than having to park in a multi storey and then find you way into the Hotel, and It proved to be a find. Rooms are budget hotel type i.e fairly basic , but spotlessly clean , quite large , airy , and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear WestLancastrian Thank you so much for your lovely kind comments on trip advisor you are so right about choosing the things that matter when looking for a hotel, The Devonshire house hotel has over 300 free car parking spaces, and most of our rooms are very spaces we are currently undergoing a soft refurb programme on our rooms which... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014 via mobile

Grew up around here so felt weird staying so close to home but we had booked this for my 50th my nieces 30th and she also got married so it was a fabulous venue . The rooms where clean and perfect, the staff where unbelievably friendly and helpful, the function, food and room dressing where outstanding, we could not if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear libs48 Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us it really is nice to hear positive comments about the team, thank you for taking the time to leave such wonderful comments. Kind regards John Brown More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My twin room was very spacious and the beds were quite comfortable, the overall look of the hotel from the outside was lovely but interior could do with a lick of paint, my stay was booked late so the normal cost was discounted, had I have paid the going rate I think I would have been very disappointed (but maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GaryMoody Thank you so much for your comments on trip advisor would like to take this opportunity to mention all of our rooms are undergoing a soft refurb and should be completed within the next six months We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future don’t forget to book direct we can give... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Stopped at the Devonshire House Hotel For 2 Nights Nov 10-12th Nov 2014 Room 204. As we wanted to see Anfield Stadium. First the Good.. Staff are first class, made us very welcome as soon as we entered the building. The Bedroom was really big so plenty of room to move around, and the beds were very comfortable. Bathroom spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Trevor7772014 Thank you so much for your comments on trip advisor, I have taken your comments on board about the stains on the room carpets I am sure the stain was not what you suggest however I will get housekeeping to remedy the issue. The team at the Devonshire House Hotel are by far the best, as they always... More 

Uk, Midlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014 via mobile

stayed 7-9 November and it rated an ok. Hotel does need modernising, rooms are basic, bedding clean but bathroom shabby. Situated just back from the road, behind a petrol station (pictures are a bit misleading) you avoid traffic noise and whilst it had a conference centre again this was separate and ensured a peaceful nights sleep. Free wifi, strong single... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tallywhistler Thank you so much for leaving you kind comments on TripAdvisor, it always nice to have feedback whether good or bad, all comments are taken on board and used to measure our business and performance. Devonshire House hotel offers real value for money and is very proactive best to meet our guest expectation, I am sorry you felt... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay