We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Liverpool hotels

Devonshire House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Devonshire House Hotel to your Saves list
Devonshire House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #59 of 100 hotels in Liverpool
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
RobJoyF Abertillery, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (444)
  • Photos (118)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (88)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    134
    92
    60
    81
See reviews for
54
162
23
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abertillery, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights for my sons graduation. Having read the reviews we were a little worried. But we needn't have feared, as although the hotel is a little dated in some areas the cleanliness and the helpful staff more than made up for this. There were a couple of little problems in room, ( no hair dryer) but this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RobJoyF Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, most of our guests opt for the taxi in to the city centre as it is convenient. It was pleasant to hear the couple of problems you had were dealt with in a speedy manner once again... More

chesterfield
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last year we changed our energy supply and the carrot that was dangled was a free night in a Hotel in England.So we decided on Liverpool for our away day. I must admit i was a little bit concerned when I read some of the reviews. But going by past experiences some people expect Five stars but not five Star... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine D Many thanks for your kind and honest review, I am so glad your stay with us was an enjoyable and you felt your room was fit for purpose, its always pleasing when people write such good comments about our beautiful city there is so much to see and do. Once again thank you for taking the time... More

Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Don't be fooled by the run down building at the front of this hotel. We pulled up and saw run down building and though what have we down. But we soon found out the actusl hotel was behind it. Staff were friendly and helpful family room was large but dated. Room was clean. Breakfast was great. The price was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John R Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor we do value comments made by our guest and do take on board their comments. I am pleased you found the team to be friendly and helpful. Kind regards John More

Mytchett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived for a 3 night stay. Receptionise was brilliant and friendly and that goes for all the staff. The rooms could do with updating a bit especially the bath room as the soap dish was hanging off the wall but never the less the shower was nice and hot. For wat we paid it was great so remember you only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brian Thank you so much for leaving you kind comments on trip advisor, it is really nice to hear comments praising our staff as they do go that extra mile to ensure our guests are welcomed and feel at home during their stay. It was equally nice to hear you would stay with again, hopefully in the near future... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading the reviews we were a bit aprehensive at staying we were a party of 15 women. We arrived on 26th June for two nights and we pleasantly surprised the grounds and Gardens outside the hotel were lovely and very well kept. Inside the rooms were a nice size very clean. This hotel just needs some updating as can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Claiisi Thank you so much for leaving you kind comments on trip advisor, it’s so kind of you to take the time the out let us know how pleased you were with your stay, I do hope you get the chance to come and stay with us again . Kind regards John Brown More

Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The night before I travelled to this hotel I read the reviews on trip advisor. These reviews were very mixed so I was not sure what to expect when we arrived. I need not have worried we had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. I booked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ali s Thank you so much for leaving you kind comments on trip advisor it’s so nice to hear you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. It’s really lovely to hear how friendly the Staff where towards you and I am pleased to hear they went out of their way our Head housekeeper will be delighted you... More

Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked a two night stay at the Devonshire through wowcher - a great deal for two , b&b , three course meal on one night and tickets for the cavern club to see a tribute beetles act . I love Liverpool so this was ideal . I wasn't expecting much after reading the reviews , but me and my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gilly 50 Thank you for your comments on trip advisor so pleasing to read We are so glad you had a great time here in Liverpool and we that we able to over deliver on your expectations at the hotel. The hotel is going through a soft refurbishment program and should be completed over the next 10 months. It’s... More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Biggest error seems to have been that we booked on an offer from an internet company. I have never experienced such a curt rude receptionist once I showed the voucher. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff first class. However the included meal was again making me feel decidedly a second class guest. The only main I could eat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ray Topple Thank you for your comments on trip advisor though disappointing to read we do take criticism on board good and bad, All guest staying with us on any special offers do have an opportunity to upgrade to the main restaurant menu after investigating this I believe you were offered this option, this would have given plenty of... More

Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

It's not the Hilton and people who expect it to be should pay the price and stay in the Hilton. We travel to Liverpool from Glasgow at least 4 times a year due to having close friends who live in anfield. We stay at the dev every time. We love it. Friendly staff, a Clean bed and great breakfast... What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Polly 187 Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor We are so pleased to receive such kind and honest comments and we are so please you enjoy staying with us. Such a shame we could not accommodate you for the weekend but I do hope you get somewhere soon. We look... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A fleeting visit to Liverpool last year made us want to return to this interesting city and, on seeing a Wowcher offer for two nights B&B, dinner on the first night, with tickets for the Cavern - it all seemed too good to be true at less than £100 for two people. However, they always say 'The proof is in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
MH1974, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nouveu 2014 Thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor Wow what lovely comments for the team and the hotel not mention this great city of ours. I am so pleased you had a wonderful time and it made you feel like teenagers again that was so nice to hear. Once again thank you so much for taking... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Devonshire House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Devonshire House is known for its friendly service, welcoming atmosphere and attention to detail. Set in one and half acres of landscaped gardens and ideally situated on A5047 just over 1 mile from both Liverpool City Centre and the M62 Motorway. Our customers will enjoy fine hospitality during their stay in one of our 54 spacious bedrooms. We offer affordable accommodation, free guest parking, friendly personal service and helpful staff. Our amenities include the Lounge Bar, and the Four Seasons restaurant. The hotel has a number of function rooms equipped for conferences, banquets and weddings. Our professional team is on hand and ready to cater for your individual requirements.Liverpool and Everton Football Clubs are a few minutes drive from the Devonshire House Hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
54

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer