We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devonshire House Hotel

3.0 of 5 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Devonshire House Hotel
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    152
    102
    65
    92
See reviews for
68
176
26
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (495)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (116)
All months
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the hotel on 20th January for 1 night and paid £38 for a twin room. We were visiting Anfield for the football and needed a bed before our long journey back the following morning. The hotel reception staff were excellent on arrival and advised us on the best route to anfield (25 minute walk). The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Never Again - dreadful! Put in a formal letter of complaint to the management on Boxing Day with regards to the very poor quality and standard of food served on Christmas day, and today John Brown (Hotel Manager) has totally dismissed my complaint and will not give me details of his line manager to escalate my complaint further. I totally... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving your feedback on trip adviser we welcome all feedback whether good or bad, I would like to take this opportunity to say we did 650 covers on Christmas day and it has to be said the only 2 complaints we had was yours and the one below. I am sorry we did not manage... More 

liverpool
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My sisters wedding at this hotel was ruined by the food!!! The sit down meal - no choice all day guests need to eat the same meal. For example if you order chicken roast and have 50 days guests it is 50 chicken roast. This was not an option for my sister because not everyone liked the same meal. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear winter Liverpool My thanks for leaving your feedback on TripAdvisor, I am perplexed at your compliant about the food at your sister’s wedding the food that was served on the day was the food that your sister had chosen. Weddings guests are always served the same meals as the bride and groom it would be almost impossible for us... More 

Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had booked this hotel for a NYE event for a party of 4. Read some of the reviews which were passable. On NYE morning, after several worrying phone calls from someone in the party who had read dreadful reviews and seen 'awful photos' I was ready to call it off and even forgo the payment! We were first to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Veggiemite Thank you so much for your kind and honest comments and I am so glad your experience was over what your expectations were, I Also attended the Gala dinner and I have to say the food was so nice and the waiting on staff were very efficient. I have taken on board your comments about the music being... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went for our Christmas Dinner as we do each year. I recommend this place and their excellent Christmas Dinner to everyone. They do a lovely carvery with 3 meats (one gammon which is excellent), all the trimmimgs including baby potatoes (which I am very fond of as I'm quite pucly when it comes to roasties but here I usually end... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LuM I am sorry we did not manage your expectations this Christmas, I have to say this is the only complaint we have received to date about Christmas day in fact, all the comments we received were quite to the contrary. I am sorry you felt you had issues with the meals and didn’t feel it was not the... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

Good location, scenic and quiet surroundings, nice rooms and best of all very nice and friendly staff especially John brown who's one of the management team and the lovely receptionist who was so helpful and pleasant who made us so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for her. Value for money and yes I will return 😃

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nivek Thank you so much for you kind and wonderful comments on your stay at The Devonshire House hotel, I am so glad you like your room we are in the process of a soft refurb of all our rooms. Kind regards John Brown More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

we went for a night out with a club to the devonshire for a meal and entertainment the meal was ok but the entertainment was so loud i sat with my fingers in my ears all night. I would have enjoyed the night but for the noise. we were not the only people to complain about it. Even the background... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue C Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor, though disappointing to read, I am sorry you did not enjoy yourself at your Christmas party I have taken your comments on board and I will ensure this will not happen this Christmas Kind regards John Brown More 

Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay at the Devonshire from Monday to Friday for a period of 8 months whilst working away in lovely Liverpool. I cannot express how wicked the management and staff are - It was like a family, such lovely people. The room was so comfortable the views of the gardens are great given this is only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shell098 thank you so much for wonderful comments on trip advior i am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. i do hope you get a chance to come and stay with us again soon Kind regards John Brown More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Stayed at the hotel because there was very little affordable accommodation closer to the city centre. The hotel was a short drive to the city centre, but no taxi would give us a ride back. In the end we had to beg a taxi to give us a lift and pay well over the odds (not the fault of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ricky637 Thank you so much for leaving your comments n TripAdvisor, I am disappointed to hear you did not get a cab back to the hotel, the hotel use a preferred cab company we could have arranged to get you a cab back to the hotel, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards John More 

High Peak
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night on 21 November 2014. I chose it based on the budget price, the free parking and its proximity to the town centre. We arrived at about 9.00am, told the lady on reception that we'd arrived. She advised us that we could book in any time after 2pm as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DucknUmp Thank you so much for leaving your kind and honest comments on trip advisor, it’s always a pleasure to read such kind comments it was lovely to hear you we pleased with your stay and the free car parking, Getting into the city is easier and cost effective using the bus or a taxi. Once again thank you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

135 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay