We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 100 Liverpool hotels

Devonshire House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Devonshire House Hotel to your Saves list
Devonshire House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
49%
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Liverpool
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
LauraAaron92 Manchester, United Kingdom
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    141
    94
    62
    85
See reviews for
59
168
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Me and my boyfriend visited here for our anniversary, we stayed for two nights and room was basic along with bathroom. Perfect if you're planning on staying for a couple nights! and Gardens were stunning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Devonshire as we were at a wedding at the hotel. The wedding room and grounds were beautiul, however I cannot say the same about the hotel itself. As you walk into the hotel the reception area is lovely this unfortunately does not continue throught the hotel. The corridors need serious updating they are like a throwback... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed in the Devonshire House Hotel, Liverpool for 2 nights for a wedding being held in house. We were a little worried as I had read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor and they didn't sound very complimentary. However, whilst it is a little basic in the bedroom accommodation, the room was clean and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here on the 10th sept for one night as my son was having treatment at alder hey. The room was truly shocking carpets where torn, duvets torn, plaster coming of the walls! Mouldy bathroom ceiling! The beds Weren't Very comfy I hardly slept a wink! This hotel is nothing like it shows on the website! I felt like... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying at the Devonshire for a week was truly satisfying with all the comforts of a good hotel room! We were given a large room with views over the garden through huge bay windows! The bed was so comfortable with a soft soft duvet! Our room was also cleaned everyday with new fresh towels and vast quantities of tea and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shantz c Thank you so much for leaving you such kind comments on trip, we are so please your stay was an enjoyable one it makes all the effort worthwhile when a guests takes the opportunity leave excellent feedback. I am so pleased you would return and stay with us we look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is within walking distance from Liverpool centre. Spacious and clean rooms, reasonably priced, helpful and expedient staff. Slightly worn out interior in the rooms, e.g. temperamental room door lock and bad WiFi. Plenty of space in the car park outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gordana Thank you so much for leaving you such kind comments on trip advisor most of our guest enjoy staying with due to the fact we are so close to the city centre, average cost of a taxi is £5.00, I do hope you get the opportunity to stay with us in the near future. Kind regards John Brown More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I should've realised the hotel wasn't up to scratch when I first made contact to make pay for our room! The female receptionist was abrupt and was very vague. I did email the hotel manager and had an immediate response, however this does not justify what we were met with when we entered our room! The carpet was threadbare and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicki H Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, though disappointing to read such a shame you didn’t take up the offer of staying with us in a other room we would have done our upmost to ensure your stay was an enjoyable one. I have taken on board your comments in relation to housekeeping issues and I... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Worst hotel ever stayed in, onto our second room, our first one was disgusting, in second one now not much better, mould in bathroom, dirty and mouldy windows, a pungent smell of drugs drifting into our room under the door from the corridor. Staff unwilling to do anything apart from offer two twin rooms for our party of three (... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Micky Y Thank you for your comments on trip advisor although disappointing to read we endeavour to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible. On your arrival the room you were allocated was not up to your standards and you were given the opportunity to look at other rooms that you would be happy to stay in... More

Liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This was the most shambolic hotel I've ever had the misfortune to stay at. Right from the off the "manager" John came out of his office and greeted us with "yeah", like I was inconveniencing him by wanting to check in! Later we wanted a drink from the bar and was treated like it was another inconvenience as the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graigando Liverpool Thank you so much for your comments on trip advisor, , though disappointing to read I feel I must take this opportunity to set the record straight, at no time ever, do our guest become an inconvenience to us at the hotel all previous the comments on trip advisor would substantiate that. The hotel bar does not... More

Londin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our stay was fantastic. The room was spacious, bathroom was up to date, the staff where very friendly and the room was very comfortable. We ate several times in the restaurant and the food was pleasant and the prices where very reasonable. I'd stay there again anytime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abie 1k Thank you so much for your kind comments on trip advisor, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt the food was pleasant, our staff always welcome good comments about their friendliness, they do pride themselves on making our guest comfortable and welcoming. Once again thank you so much for taking... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Devonshire House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

122 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (107)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Liverpool with
any amenities