We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Devonshire House Hotel

3.0 of 5 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Devonshire House Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Devonshire House Hotel
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    154
    103
    67
    95
See reviews for
70
178
27
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (504)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (129)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (138)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (125)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have just recently stayed at this hotel and I thought that there was nothing bad I could say about it, the service in the reception was given with a smile and the atmosphere of it was good all around, I had no problems when it came to the rooms as everything was straight forward and there were no glitches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 651sharon Thank you for your comments on trip adviser. I will ensure all of the team are made aware of your kind comments. I am so pleased the team looked after you so well, once again thank you so much for taking the time to leave such honest feed back. Kind regards John Brown More 

Thrapston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Despite the mixed (mainly bad) reviews of this hotel, I decided to give it the benefit of the doubt as the outside looked gorgeous and the distance to the centre was great. I'm all for giving hotels a chance, sometimes you can be surprised! I really wish I hadn't though. This is, by far, one of the worst hotels I've... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria_kirk Thank you so much for your kind comments, on TripAdvisor I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us what a shame you didn’t make us aware of you dissatisfaction. It really is frustrating when a guest leaves without giving us the opportunity put right the wrongs, I am sorry we did not meet with your expectations... More 

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed in this hotel for 2 week on a business trip. It was cheap and I didn't expect much and I was correct. The hotel decor is stuck in the 1980's with floral wallpaper everywhere. The thing is that it's peeling off the wall and torn in places. The reception is a barren expanse of nothing and not welcoming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stuart C Thank you so much for your comments, on TripAdvisor I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us what a shame you didn’t make us aware of you dissatisfaction. It really is frustrating when a guest leaves without giving us the opportunity put right the wrongs, I am sorry we did not meet with your expectations... More 

La Nucia, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at The Devonshire House Hotel with my 15-year-old-son, a bit of dad and son time if you like. The hotel was easy to find and only a 10 minute drive to the things you'd expect to find in a city. We usually stay in pricey hotels (brands) but took a gamble on this hotel as it looked really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Duncan O Thank you so much for your kind comments, on TripAdvisor I have taken on board your comments on the issue relating to the pillows All Pillows and quilts have been replaced in the hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to say I am sorry if we caused you any discomfort during your stay I do... More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a s**t hole. Reception was an old woman with no personality. The lift was redicliously slow. Room we had was 251 just off the lift, all night all we heard was a door squeaking, doors banging, everybody walking through the corridor. Windows didn't block much noise from traffic. The room was basic, bathroom smelt like dirt stale water. Windows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Macca Many thanks for your comments on trip advisor, firstly your comment on the staff member on shift being old was unfair and ageist and offensive. The fact the hotel was not what you had expected did not warrant the personal attack. We do welcome feedback at the Devonshire house hotel, but more of the honest kind and less... More 

uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just got back from the devonshire hotel and have got to say this is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in especially for the price! The staff at reception were welcoming and the breakfast was ok but that's all I can say to compliment the hotel. We changed rooms as soon as we where given the key as the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Newyourkuk Thank you for your comments on trip advisor I am sorry we did not manage your expectations at the hotel and I am sorry you were still not happy with the second room, if you had told us this at the time we would have found a room somewhere else in the city. I would like to take... More 

Corby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived at this hotel the first thing we noticed was how run down the area was, which I know is no fault of the hotel but it put a downer on it straight away. The reception area was ok but a little bit sterile looking and one of the days we were there we noticed something had been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Irig Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, Edge Lane is one of the main thoroughfare into the city centre of Liverpool, Edge Lane is currently undergoing redevelopment am sure you would have noticed the hoardings with the images of how Edge Lane will look. I am sorry you felt the bed was uncomfortable, had you let us... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and 3 friends stayed here 17th January 2015 as we were celebrating my 28th birthday. we booked a quad room which had 1 double bed and 2 singles. the hotel is lovely very clean and set in lovely gardens. we were expecting our room to be rather small as it was for 4 however we were surprised to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear miss_devil_miss Thank you for your comments on trip advisor, thank you so much for your kind comments it’s so nice when people take the time to leave kind and honest comments, we look forward to welcoming back in the future Kind regards John Brown More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

stayed over xmas to be with family. phoned day before to check booking was told no booking by a very rude lady but she could keep telling me she had worked there 7 years and she knew what she was talking about!!! I phoned booking company who sorted it with her, I was booked in, she had put wrong dates... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dave d Thank you so much for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor I am surprised at your comments about the staff’s attitude as most of our comments we get about the staff are always very complimentary. The hotel use electronic keys, these keys can fail at times and I do appreciate when this happens it’s frustrating please accept... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed at the hotel on 20th January for 1 night and paid £38 for a twin room. We were visiting Anfield for the football and needed a bed before our long journey back the following morning. The hotel reception staff were excellent on arrival and advised us on the best route to anfield (25 minute walk). The room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
acer40, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Newyourkuk Thank you for your feedback on trip advisor, your comments about the team and hotel are refreshing, It pleases me when our guests who have had really nice experience, take the time to tell us about it I do hope you come back and stay with us soon John Brown Hotel manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Devonshire House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonshire House Hotel

Address: 293 - 297 Edge Lane, Liverpool L7 9LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Devonshire House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Devonshire House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devonshire Hotel Liverpool

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Room/suite (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay