We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 98 Liverpool hotels

Britannia Adelphi Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England (Central Liverpool)
Hotel amenities
Britannia Adelphi Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #64 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Alison74 Yorkshire
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    872
    739
    511
    853
See reviews for
366
1,183
160
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (914)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3342)
  • Mar-May only
    (647)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (803)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (975)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (917)
All months
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Poor old Britannia Adelphi. It was obviously a smart place to stay in a former life but now it's old and dirty and everyone wants to give it a bad name. Although I do agree with everything that has been written about it, we paid very little on a groupon deal so I guess you get what you pay for.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have stayed here approx 9 times in total,I absolutely love it.The staff are all lovely and we usually pick a sunday night to stay,the lady on the reception with the short dark hair and glasses is so genuine and very warm in manner.Lovely evening meal,my Husband is a vegan and there is always something he can eat,at breakfast they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel as it is well located for transport links on this trip to see relatives in this area. The hotel public areas are very impressive with very high ceilings and furnished to a good standard. The ensuite bedrooms are large and also furnished to a good standard with plenty of storage. This is only a three star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou so much for your lovely comments after staying with us recently. We are a 3 star hotel and like to think we deserve this grading and can operate comfortable with this. We actually have 3 lifts in reception area and the lift which was out of order whilst waiting for parts coming from the manufacturer, fortunately it... More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Brought a package on Groupon for me and my husband which was for room breakfast evening meal and wine for £79 on arriving to hotel thought the entrance was grand swiftly checked in early which was great as lady stated before the lifts facing reception one was out of order went to room to find windows was cracked so had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us earlier this month. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time here and were disappointed in the hotel. More 

Bradford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for one night on a 'deal' for one night which included, bed, breakfast, evening dinner, bottle of wine. All for £49 for 2 people. Yes, that's right - 2 people, which works out at £24.50 for BBED and half a bottle of wine. Can't complain at that....... you might think! The hotel is large, very large, equipped with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us in January. I am so pleased you enjoyed yourself and delighted that you would return to us and recommend us to others. Many thanks once again. More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

we stayed here for one night in January. Check in quick with very helpful staff. Our bedroom was large with lovely comfy beds,bathroom was also large if a little dated but both where very clean. Central location, ideal for shopping & sightseeing. I would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thankyou for your somewhat mixed review after staying with us recently. We have some amazing offers and I was pleased you were able to book on one of them. I am not sure why dinner was average and breakfast poor, but thank you anyway for your comments. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Having read 'sassyNorthWest' comments I fully agree with everything they have said about this run down hotel. Our stay was purchased as a gift by my mother otherwise we would have driven straight back home. The hotel, lifts, bedroom etc. were all old and dirty but the spa and gym facilities were far worse and were disgusting! We had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us recently. I am really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and apologise that the sauna and steam room were not working. I will pass your review onto the leisure club manager and can only say once again how sorry we are. More 

staffs
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

First impressions weren't great, as we entered reception, the smell hit us, musty & reminded us of an old peoples home. Check in was fine, only one lift was working & we waited ages for the lift to the 4th floor. The room was spacious, but an overwhelming smell of stale smoke spoilt it. The bedding was clean but as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments following your stay here earlier this month. The front reception area is absolutely huge and there is no way any musty smell is prevalent in this huge area. We have 3 lifts off reception and there has not been 2 out of order at any time, so I do not understand why you... More 

north west
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Well where do I start.... I have stayed in lots of hotels and admittedly at times been spoilt with some fantastic accommodation however this was beyond awful. It started when I rang up to book a spa treatment, which was included in my package. The girl on the phone was rude and made me feel bad about not booking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after staying with us recently. I am sorry you were disappointed in your stay and particularly with your spa treatment. I will let the health club manager know of your comments and apologise that what should have been a lovely break was spoilt. This is not our usual standard and im sorry you left without... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I wasn't staying here, this review is about the service and the place. Their was a delay in serving the food at the function, but that was not the hotel fault. The food for the event was ok, not fantastic but ok, from the silver service received from one member of staff during the main course, I would have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after attending the Chinese New Year celebrations, which we have been hosting for over 15 years now. It is a very prestigious event with over 400 guests attending and I am sorry if the service was not as efficient as you expected it to be. I have spoken with the Conference Manager who overseen the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Adelphi Hotel

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Adelphi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, EasyToBook, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

874 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (742)
Viewed
Room/suite (246)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (109)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (84)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (215)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (106)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Suite with Jacuzzi (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay