We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Adelphi Hotel

Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Hotel amenities
Britannia Adelphi Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ranked #64 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Mrsgoggins14
Add Photo

3,706 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    419
    962
    834
    569
    922
See reviews for
407
1,332
185
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3706)
  • Mar-May only
    (925)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (887)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (974)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (920)
All months
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I loved this hotel, the architecture is amazing. It is a very big place but extremely friendly, the carpet was a bit threadbare in places but the whole place was spotlessly clean. Would definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Well kept, tidy and presentable will defiantly be staying again, stayed here before and has always been a top standard hotel to stay in top points to the Adelphi! Advise anyone who wants a nice and price efficient place to stay to stay here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for 3 nights, changed rooms twice, no wifi on top floor, rooms dirty, food just about ok and a long queue for breakfast, went out for breakfast eventually. Lovely building but very tired decor.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here as part of a coach trip, and will most certainly not be back! Came home early last night, made myself a quick bite to eat, had a bath and went to bed at 8.30pm. Went straight to sleep and slept for 10 hours - I needed it after two sleepless nights at the Adelphi! There was a children's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us last weekend. I am sorry you found the Student end of term Prom disruptive, but I can assure you they were most certainly not drunken teens. They were a group of extremely well behaved young people enjoying themselves from a local school with a number of teachers in attendance... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights in April for the accordion championships. The room I had was lovely, clean and comfy but the wallpaper was really dated and if the room had a revamp it could be incredible! Our friends had bathrooms that were from the 80s rather than more modern and again their rooms were clean just need updated.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us in April. The Accordion conference has been held here for many years, so the organisers are well aware that we are a very old hotel, but they feel the positives by far outweigh the negatives, which is why they continue to come here. Our breakfast buffet offers over 30... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is beautiful but completely in need of an overhaul, staff were friendly, had afternoon tea there was lovely, went on a groupon voucher, but then we went to our room! It was clean but still the same decor from 30 years ago, needs money throwing at it to make it glamorous again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us earlier this month. I am pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea, we are very popular with residents and locals for our cream teas and I am delighted you are another fan we can add to our ever growing list. Our bedrooms are in the process of being refurbished, so... More 

Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is a genuine piece of history. If you are interested in history, don't miss the chance to stay at this hotel, if you are in Liverpool. The building, although could use some restoration, is wonderful and the staff is very accommodating. I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and it has always been a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review after staying with us last month. Our building is fantastic and visitors from all over the world come to stay here and are amazed at the history value the hotel offers. Our little book of history is very popular with all our guests and is a complimentary gesture of good will... More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed one night on half board with 2 for 1 bar tariff. Room was lovely ,clean with a good view over Liverpool. Food very good , staff very nice too. Ideal location for centre of city. Will definately go back to Adelphi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and many thanks for your lovely comments after staying with us earlier this month. I am so pleased you took the time to write such a lovely review and to follow that with 5* rating, what more could we ask? A big thank you from us all.. More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we stayed here on the 21st june 2014 for 1 night was a great old hotel in its day. but looking tired and needs a facelift the room 109 was very hot and windows could not open, but it was clean but only one set ot towels for both of us luckly i had a set of my own, well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us last Sunday. We are currently having a refurbishment of some of our bedrooms, so you should notice a difference if you stay with us again. We do have spare towels, pillows and bed linen in the wardrobe. We are an ideal location and Britannia do have some amazingly good... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location is brilliant access to all Liverpool's best shops bars etc. the staff let us down with awful attitude towards us and just not wanting to help. The main disappointment was with a lady in the restaurant with a long plait in her hair; at breakfast who was hosting and sending people to tables as soon as you asked her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us recently. Our location is amazing, so close to everything. I am really sorry our restaurant staff let us down. Please accept my apologies the lady you mention has been with us many years and we have never had a complaint made against her before. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,034 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (902)
Viewed
Room/suite (284)
Viewed
Dining (53)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (104)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (288)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (106)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (20)
Viewed
Suite with Jacuzzi (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay