We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 99 Liverpool hotels

Britannia Adelphi Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England (Central Liverpool)
Hotel amenities
Britannia Adelphi Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #64 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Liz A Bradford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

3,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    850
    718
    496
    834
See reviews for
360
1,146
155
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3250)
  • Mar-May only
    (647)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (803)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (975)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (825)
All months
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
10 hotel reviews
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I have just spent a five day break at the Adelphi with National Holidays. My review is based upon the fact that I had a single room for four nights, bed,breakfast and evening meal,return coach travel and day trips to Chester and Southport for £141.00. My room (216) was clean and spacious. It had two single beds and the bed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Had a great stay. Location where we wanted to be. Pipes need sorting as when flush in our room was pulled it was very noisy. There was a room near by that made a really loud noise when there's was flushed. The major problem was Sunday morning breakfast..... We had paid for bed & breakfast but could not get near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just spent a night at the Adelphi Hotel, it was a Medieval themed Banquet event, a party of 20 Of us enjoyed a warm welcome here. From checking in to leaving nothing was too much trouble for all staff. All rooms were in keeping with age of this building but very clean, well appointed and very cosy and warm. Food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great location, 5 minute walk from train station, 5 minute walk to the heart of the shopping centre, outside hotel is imposing and historic, but go inside and its downhill I am sorry to say. The rates are not cheap, the rooms are thread ear, curtains stained, bathroom dated. It was clean but many other economy hotels are better value,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wales
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Last August I booked 4 twin bedded rooms ( for 8 females) and 1 single room for a function (Medieval Banquet) on Jan 24. I asked the organiser during the booking conversation to confirm that the rooms were twin. This she did verbally. on arrival at the check in we were greeted with total mayhem. Having received our room keys... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Adelphi for a two night break. Positives - superb location, parking to rear £12 per day and not secure but good to have car close by in city centre, and if you appreciate the architecture and history of this kind of hotel, then you might be able to overlook the negatives - for me it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitehaven, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Fantastic location, imposing building. But like other reviews it does need updating . Carpets are really worn. Small old CRT TV with no freeview from about 20 yrs ago. Gym / pool change rooms were absolutely disgusting . Meal in the restaurant was spoiled by frozen veg and desserts. Dust on table in the room. To be offered a smoking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
stoke-on-trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Ali W "Don't stay here" obviously has a problem with all things old (including fellow guests). If so much wrong with the accomodation why not inform the staff. As for the Old dinner buffet Turkey - how long had they been watching said "cooked to death" bird? Ikorel "Just worth the cheap rate" if the room smelt of smoke why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

pros - famous old hotel, note old Cons- old and exhausted Two old lifts for six floors Old decorated Old carpet Old pipes that clank in the night Old bathroom with broken toilet Old shower which couldn't get temperature it then burnt me Old dinner buffet, Turkey still on buffet, cooked to death I give up its old, most residents... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, many thanks for your comments after your recent stay with us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us, we celebrated our 100th birthday last year, so yes we are old. We actually have 5 lifts, 3 in reception and 2 at the rear of the hotel. Apologies that the toilet was broken in your room... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
83 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Nothing terminally wrong with this place, for £38 a night, (other than the rooms smelling of smoke) but frankly, I would rather stay at a Travelodge. It is very very tired, ill fitting, worn carpets, hundred year old beds, shower worked eventually, you get the picture. For a Victorian Hotel in the middle of town, its OK,

Was this review helpful? Yes
adelphimanager1, Director of Sales at Britannia Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your comments after staying with us. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us and apologise you had problems with your shower, I would, however, question the hundred year old bed comment. It would appear that like the review above you prefer the more modern type of hotel such as The Travel... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Britannia Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Adelphi Hotel

Address: Ranelagh Place, Liverpool L3 5UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Adelphi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Adelphi Liverpool
Adelphi Hotel Liverpool
Hotel Britannia Adelphi

746 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (720)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (232)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (108)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (83)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
2:18
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (211)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay