We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 78 Liverpool accommodations

Hatters Hostel Liverpool

3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   56-60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool L3 5SH, England (Central Liverpool)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Hatters Hostel Liverpool to your Saves list
Hatters Hostel Liverpool
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
56%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Dani K
  • Overview
  • Reviews (304)
  • Photos (85)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    108
    70
    30
    36
See reviews for
12
61
52
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed for a weekend in an 8-bed room. It was apparent that they do not vacuum or dust from walking up the stairs to the rooms, the halls or the rooms themselves. I did not see it, but my roommate mentioned that there had been a cockroach in the room as well. At the time, there must have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tivoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been in this hostel in July for five days. The structure is near Lime Street station and Liverpool Central station, outside it looks like something coming from the Middle Age, very beautiful. The staff is good, and the hostel is enough clean. The rooms are a little bit hot in the summer, and they aren't large, sometimes there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for one night in a private ensuite room, it was exactly as you would expect (and better than some!) For a private hostel room. The shower was warm with standard pressure, the bed was comfy. Our neighbours were a little noisy (also to be expected from a hostel!) The price (£85) for a night was quite high for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HatterManagement, Manager at Hatters Hostel Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us we really appreciate your review. Our Hatters Complimentary Breakfast is a must for all our guest we love making sure your day starts on the right foot. We always keep our rates the lowest in the City (Well we try). We are happy to see you liked the room and the atmosphere.... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Out side looks not to bad. Got to our room and was awful. Bedside light didn't work as the switch was jammed and not replaced, the other bed side light not even plugged in and couldn't see any were to plug it in The bathroom was very poorly decorated still paint on the floor. The blind in the bathroom wouldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HatterManagement, Manager at Hatters Hostel Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks for reviewing. Your comments have been taken aboard. Please always let our 24hour Reception team know if you are not 100% satisfied so that we can assist you and make sure you enjoy your stay. More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had my stag in Liverpool in July and stayed in hatters .... Staff were friendly and funny , bar was nice and rooms were acceptable . Location was perfect for the city center assault..... Great result for a stag !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HatterManagement, Manager at Hatters Hostel Liverpool, responded to this review

We were happy to have your guys! Great to see you had fun. Thanks for the review Short and Sweet we love it! Have an Awesome wedding. More

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in the Hatters Hostel while we spent the weekend exploring Liverpool. The location is fantastic. We were able to walk to all sights and attractions from where Hatters is based. On arrival check in was quick and easy. We took this opportunity to ask the staff about our plans and what they would recommend. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HatterManagement, Manager at Hatters Hostel Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your fantastic and thorough review. Your feedback is very important to us and will be put to good use. We will relay the message to the staff member in question we are really proud of our friendly staff. We are happy to see you enjoyed our Yummy Hatters Complimentary Breakfast it’s the least we can do... More

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a weekend here that I'll never forget. The staff were rude on arrival and unhelpful through out our stay. The room was filthy. The walls were covered in damp. The carpet smelt like vomit. The shower had hair and soap scum all over the basin. The corners of the tiled area were black with dirty. We couldn't even open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time I get this type of experience in a hotel. I saw the pictures on the internet and planned a 2 day stay. I even booked accommodation for my friend as well by seeing the pictures. First of all the people in the reception should learn some good manners to welcome people. They behave as if we booked room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HatterManagement, Reception at Hatters Hostel Liverpool, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us! We are disheartened to hear you did not have a good time as we want all our guest to have a lovely stay. We can assure you that we only ever want the best for our guests and we do our very best to make them feel welcome. The numerous reviews regarding staff... More

Leiden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed a few nights in Hatters, in a private room. The room was small but ok. Clean. I think it has been repainted recently, so that was nice. The bed was a bit too small for me (I'm 1.85). Breakfast is very basic (but, as they say at the reception: "It's a hostal"). The staff is nice and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HatterManagement, Reception at Hatters Hostel Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us great feedback! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're steadily improving and updating the entire hostel, so you must have got one of our newly decorated rooms (we hope you liked it!). Thanks again! Hopefully we will see you back at Hatters Liverpool in the future. More

Witmarsum
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had a very good stay in this old building, with a good breakfast, close to the city-centre, no bus to take, everyone helpful in the hostel. Nice personnel who helped you if you got any question about everything you needed to know

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
HatterManagement, Reception at Hatters Hostel Liverpool, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We really are lucky to be in such a perfect location, right in the centre of Liverpool. It means that our guests can explore so much of what the city has to offer, all without ever stepping foot onto a bus or paying precious... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hatters Hostel Liverpool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hatters Hostel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatters Hostel Liverpool

Address: 56-60 Mount Pleasant, Liverpool L3 5SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatters Hostel Liverpool 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hatters Hostel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatters Hostel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Liverpool with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Hatters Hostel Liverpool and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hatters Hostel Liverpool staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer