We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stalbridge Guest House

134 St Marys Road Garston, Liverpool L19 2JG, England
Hotel amenities
The Stalbridge Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #40 of 69 Liverpool B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015
TBagalag
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    18
    15
    5
    3
    19
See reviews for
6
7
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (60)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for just one night with 3 others the night before a stag do. The owner made a courtesy call whilst on the way and was very pleasant and courteous. On arrival the place looked a little downtrodden. You cannot just walk in and go to reception, you have to phone on arrival and he lets you in The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Did not even end up staying within this 'Guest House' due to the dispicable manner as in It is run, All Staff 'Management' or not are imensely rude. Whitnessed what can onlt be described as verbal abuse and discrimination based on several members of the majority male group I was in the company of... Aggression was mentioned in the previous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Owner at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

(THIS REVIEWER HAS NEVER BEEN TO OUR ESTABLISHMENT NEITHER OUTSIDE OUR ESTABLISHMENT, THIS REVIWER HAS TAKEN IT UPON THEM SELVES TO WRITE A REVIEW ON BEHALF OF THE RICKY MOORE 2 REVIEWS BELOW, WHICH WAS A "LADS NIGHT OUT") We at the Stalbridge Guesthouse try our upmost to make every persons stay enjoyable and comfortable. After reading your review I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

On the photos on this website the photos show en suite room with showers and baths in them when we arrived at the hotel we were then told that it was a shared bathroom obviously it didn't matter much but I just think personally you should get what you see in photographs, customer service wasn't up to scratch he was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there BladenSheedy. Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers on Trip advisor. We also noticed another one of person from your group "Coleheidi" had left a review We are sorry that our hotel has not fulfilled your expectations. When booking through online 3rd party agents you get a picture of your room which you have booked, out... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We arrived here in a group - run down area & location is miles away from centre. Says online en suite rooms - got there to a shared bathroom (towels at an extra charge) very run down both outside and inside. Not worth £50 for a night at all. Staff weren't friendly or at all helpful in any way as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there Coleheidi . Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers on Trip advisor. We also noticed another one of person from your group "BladenSheedy" had left a review We are sorry that our hotel has not fulfilled your expectations. When booking through online 3rd party agents you get a picture of your room which you have booked,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

Unbelievable experience. This owner/manager has no customer service skills what so ever the guest house is unclean and after explaining that our one of the rooms smelled of urine. And the the two guest in that room wasn't prepared to stay in the guest house (15 people) after a heated discussion we have to leave the guest house. This guest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Rickymoore28, Thank you very much for your review. We also appreciate that you've taken your time to share your experience with other travellers. We at the Stalbridge guesthouse try our upmost to make every persons stay enjoyable and comfortable. After reading your brief review I must completely disagree with it, as the manager was very respectful and courteous with... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Myself and two friends had to book here due to the particularly high demand for hotels/guest houses the weekend we visited Liverpool. We were pleasantly surprised after reading some poor reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites. The owner was very friendly when we arrived and gave us some info about local taxi firms and eateries. I shared a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
stalbridgehotel, General Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear TBagalag, Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We also appreciate that you've taken your time to share your experience with other travellers. The Stalbridge Guest house is happy that you had such a great time in our hotel. We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and would be pleased to welcoming you back in a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

A few of us stayed here for a couple of nights, as we was going to a convention in the city center. After reading the reviews on trip advisor, I was a bit skeptical. The owner was very nice, as we got lost as my gps failed on us we got lost. I contacted the guesthouse and he was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Teresa We are glad to learn you had a nice stay and that you found something suitable for every guest. I am sure your comment wll be helpful to other readers. Thanks again for your nice review. Kind Regards More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

I booked a family room at this hotel as me and my family was getting an early flight from liverpool airport and this was a ideal location and price. When first arriving at the hotel I wasn't to sure where I had booked as it looks like a really old building, but when in reception checking in I thought straight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Kristine, On behalf of the Stalbridge Guesthouse, I would like to thank you for your very friendly review on TripAdvisor. As the satisfaction of our guests is most important to us, it is a real pleasure to find out that you really enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind Regards More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels but this is thee worst one I have EVER stayed at in my life. The man to greet us was so rude it was unbelievable how rude he was. I was disgusted with his attitude towards us. We then went up to our room and yet again disgusting, how this place is still going... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Lindatyr, Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that our hotel has not fulfilled your expectations thats why we have sent a message through tripadvisor to your self, as we don't have any recollection of your name staying with are selves and would like to get to the bottom of this matter.... More 

huddersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

Left 3 people including 91 yr old with nowhere to stay because 10 min late. 8.10pm ID#: 271414663 My brother and I plus my 91 yr old mother were delayed by terrible weather and dreadful traffic but were told " sorry mate I have to leave and you were supposed to be here before 8pm." He then went on to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Diane, Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor. We are sorry that our hotel has not fulfilled your expectations but if you remember correctly we contacted your self at 11am in the morning to get your estimated time of arrival, you said that you was in Liverpool at that moment and that you would be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay