We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Stalbridge Guest House

134 St Marys Road Garston, Liverpool L19 2JG, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Stalbridge Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    20
    16
    5
    3
    19
See reviews for
7
7
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (63)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

I stayed here a couple weeks back with family, as we was going to a wedding in Liverpool. I found this place very homely with fantastic staff. After reading other reviews on this place I wasn't sure but after staying here I would recommend it to anyone. Its a home from home, it had everything we needed and very cheap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

I stayed there on the 11th of July. I found the place very clean and quiet and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. The wifi was great and free and there was tea and coffee availble in the room. I would reconmend this place to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2015

A lovely warm welcome, good banter and greeted with a smile. Beds where clean and comfortable. No noise to annoy us in the night and was so nice a toasty to sleep in. Very happy and would definitely stay again. Would only say they could do with more mirrors in the rooms but that's just me :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2015

Stayed here for just one night with 3 others the night before a stag do. The owner made a courtesy call whilst on the way and was very pleasant and courteous. On arrival the place looked a little downtrodden. You cannot just walk in and go to reception, you have to phone on arrival and he lets you in The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

Did not even end up staying within this 'Guest House' due to the dispicable manner as in It is run, All Staff 'Management' or not are imensely rude. Whitnessed what can onlt be described as verbal abuse and discrimination based on several members of the majority male group I was in the company of... Aggression was mentioned in the previous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Owner at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

(THIS REVIEWER HAS NEVER BEEN TO OUR ESTABLISHMENT NEITHER OUTSIDE OUR ESTABLISHMENT, THIS REVIWER HAS TAKEN IT UPON THEM SELVES TO WRITE A REVIEW ON BEHALF OF THE RICKY MOORE 2 REVIEWS BELOW, WHICH WAS A "LADS NIGHT OUT") We at the Stalbridge Guesthouse try our upmost to make every persons stay enjoyable and comfortable. After reading your review I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

On the photos on this website the photos show en suite room with showers and baths in them when we arrived at the hotel we were then told that it was a shared bathroom obviously it didn't matter much but I just think personally you should get what you see in photographs, customer service wasn't up to scratch he was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there BladenSheedy. Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers on Trip advisor. We also noticed another one of person from your group "Coleheidi" had left a review We are sorry that our hotel has not fulfilled your expectations. When booking through online 3rd party agents you get a picture of your room which you have booked, out... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We arrived here in a group - run down area & location is miles away from centre. Says online en suite rooms - got there to a shared bathroom (towels at an extra charge) very run down both outside and inside. Not worth £50 for a night at all. Staff weren't friendly or at all helpful in any way as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Hi there Coleheidi . Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers on Trip advisor. We also noticed another one of person from your group "BladenSheedy" had left a review We are sorry that our hotel has not fulfilled your expectations. When booking through online 3rd party agents you get a picture of your room which you have booked,... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

Unbelievable experience. This owner/manager has no customer service skills what so ever the guest house is unclean and after explaining that our one of the rooms smelled of urine. And the the two guest in that room wasn't prepared to stay in the guest house (15 people) after a heated discussion we have to leave the guest house. This guest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Rickymoore28, Thank you very much for your review. We also appreciate that you've taken your time to share your experience with other travellers. We at the Stalbridge guesthouse try our upmost to make every persons stay enjoyable and comfortable. After reading your brief review I must completely disagree with it, as the manager was very respectful and courteous with... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Myself and two friends had to book here due to the particularly high demand for hotels/guest houses the weekend we visited Liverpool. We were pleasantly surprised after reading some poor reviews on Trip Advisor and other sites. The owner was very friendly when we arrived and gave us some info about local taxi firms and eateries. I shared a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
stalbridgehotel, General Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear TBagalag, Thank you very much for your fantastic review. We also appreciate that you've taken your time to share your experience with other travellers. The Stalbridge Guest house is happy that you had such a great time in our hotel. We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and would be pleased to welcoming you back in a... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

A few of us stayed here for a couple of nights, as we was going to a convention in the city center. After reading the reviews on trip advisor, I was a bit skeptical. The owner was very nice, as we got lost as my gps failed on us we got lost. I contacted the guesthouse and he was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
stalbridgehotel, Manager at The Stalbridge Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Teresa We are glad to learn you had a nice stay and that you found something suitable for every guest. I am sure your comment wll be helpful to other readers. Thanks again for your nice review. Kind Regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Liverpool/John Lennon Airport
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Liverpool Airport
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool-John Lennon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#61 of 100 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
3.8 mi away
Liverpool Gateway Limited
Liverpool Gateway Limited
#12 of 71 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay