We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charlotte House

The Lawns, Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BL, England
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charlotte House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charlotte House
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    59
    26
    25
    23
See reviews for
38
122
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (241)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I don't understand the negative reviews of the hotel. As soon as I arrived I was greeted personally and in a very friendly manner. I was shown to my room on the second floor which was very nice, so might be worth paying more for those rooms. I was greeted a note written Dear Paul outlining what the hotel had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

When we arrived, and went into the reception we were greeted, very friendly, staff dressed immaculate. was very happy for us to park in the grounds of the hotel. was shown to the room. only disadvantage there was no lift, but was told that this was a listed building so no lift could be added. beds were comfy, memory pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I dont where to start first impressions when we entered was a strange smell it is hard to explain it may well be down to the fact its very old there is parking directly outside the front door There is a lounge bar down the hall downstairs and reception area once in the room there is ample space and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. More 

Lincoln England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we had a family meal here before xmas the service was good but the beef which was just one thick chunk had a large piece of gristle around it which was not pleasant the meal was a set meal for our party

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. It always surprises me to hear comments such as your own, when there were no criticisms immediately post event. The blade of beef has fast become chefs & guests favourite cut of beef, slow braised (as you had it) we have only received positive comments. Contrary to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not the brightest greeting at reception, hardly spoke apart from the necessary information relayed. Initial impression, disappointing. Our room was dark and smaller than we expected. Good quality furniture, although it did over crowd the room. Good size bathroom but toilet right on top of the shower door. Large mirror that sat back In an alcove and obviously difficult to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Apologies that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here with us. Towels will be replaced as per our in room instructions/guidance. For hygiene reasons (avoiding confusion as to whom each towel belongs to) we will not fold towels that are still in use. As for the size of the room, the images on our website accurately display the size of... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed 2 nights in Charlotte House which we found delightful. The staff were friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in the service they provided. The rooms were spacious with loads of drawers and a capacious wardrobe. Very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom with modern fittings. Nice to have a bathroom cabinet instead of having to delve into one's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing us! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us. Please continue to spread the word, and consider staying with us next time you're in the area. Kind regards More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely room. Great bathroom. Beds very firm! Nice area. Might have been nice to see more staff as I found it a little impersonal. Beware! Breakfast is either continental, or traditional English! Extra charges may be added if you want both. Never known that before, it's usually a buffet and you can help yourself. However, this was reasonably priced for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Hi there folks, many thanks for taking the time to review our offering. Just as a note to the Beware statement, please not that we have different charges here. We offer continental, cooked, or both options. This is in response to popular demand for each of these pricing choices: as detailed on our breakfast menu continental: £4.75 (including tea/coffee) cooked:... More 

Sandy, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this gorgeous hotel, just totally perfect and not too expensive. Very friendly helpful staff, we wanted an ice bucket for our own sparkling stuff that we had brought with us and this was not a problem. Rooms very spacious, very tastefully decorated, comfy beds & pillows. Shower was awesome (big enough for 2). We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on our offering here at Charlotte House. We will of course be delighted if you consider us next time you are in the area. Regards More 

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 via mobile

This was a great find. The staff ( quite minimal) were very attentive. A shame the restaurant was not open because if the breakfast was anything to go by the dinners would have been lovely. Wish we had stayed longer here and less in Leicester! Great location, Indian restaurant over the road is a lovely place. Walked into the main... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Sadly we do not operate a restaurant here, however I am sure that you were able to dine in one of Lincolns many excellent eateries. Kindest regards & hopefully see you again, for a longer stay ;0) More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My dad, sister, and I stayed overnight at The Charlotte Hotel whilst in Lincoln for a family wedding, with the evening reception also being held at the hotel. The staff were attentive and friendly, the rooms were well presented, clean and spacious, and the night went off without a hitch! All I'd say to improve the experience would be when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel and services. I apologise if the 'Z bed' was not to your liking, it;s the first that I have heard of it/them being uncomfortable,, I shall investigate without delay! Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Charlotte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Address: The Lawns, Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay