We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charlotte House

The Lawns, Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BL, England
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charlotte House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charlotte House
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    59
    28
    24
    23
See reviews for
39
122
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Ipswich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked one night here a few months ago and chose the hotel for it's location and style - which were both excellent. We liked the quirky nature of the decor, and found the staff really helpful. The room was large and comfortable but was slightly tired - it is one of the few hotels we have has an enormous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response. We do not advertise or price ourselves as a 5* hotel. Please let me know where you saw this so that I might have it removed. I trust your review would be slightly different with this new information. Kind regards More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed Charlotte House so much in 2013 that my daughter and I decided to stay there again on this trip. It didn't disappoint. We stayed 4 nights, but had to change rooms half way through due to other bookings. This was no problem and gave us the chance to try another room as the first we stayed in was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that we left a lasting impression with you. Please do continue to support us in future visits. Kindest regards More 

Leeds
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As we checked in a very uninterested receptionist greeted us. He spoke when spoken to! Parking is payable at £5 but i'd rather that be built into the price of the room. I do understand that not everyone has a car. Charlotte house is extremely well located close to the castle and cathedral. The cooked breakfast was disappointing. The tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I feel very disappointed that comments have been made regarding the quality of your breakfast service, something that we pride ourselves on. It seems that you enjoyed your actual stay, the quality of the room etc etc, I would have expected your review 'score' to be somewhat fairer. It is common place for hotels to... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

I don't understand the negative reviews of the hotel. As soon as I arrived I was greeted personally and in a very friendly manner. I was shown to my room on the second floor which was very nice, so might be worth paying more for those rooms. I was greeted a note written Dear Paul outlining what the hotel had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, it is a testament to the work that we are doing here! Kindest regards More 

Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

When we arrived, and went into the reception we were greeted, very friendly, staff dressed immaculate. was very happy for us to park in the grounds of the hotel. was shown to the room. only disadvantage there was no lift, but was told that this was a listed building so no lift could be added. beds were comfy, memory pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. Please do consider us for future visits to lincoln. More 

Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I dont where to start first impressions when we entered was a strange smell it is hard to explain it may well be down to the fact its very old there is parking directly outside the front door There is a lounge bar down the hall downstairs and reception area once in the room there is ample space and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. More 

Lincoln England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

we had a family meal here before xmas the service was good but the beef which was just one thick chunk had a large piece of gristle around it which was not pleasant the meal was a set meal for our party

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. It always surprises me to hear comments such as your own, when there were no criticisms immediately post event. The blade of beef has fast become chefs & guests favourite cut of beef, slow braised (as you had it) we have only received positive comments. Contrary to... More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

Not the brightest greeting at reception, hardly spoke apart from the necessary information relayed. Initial impression, disappointing. Our room was dark and smaller than we expected. Good quality furniture, although it did over crowd the room. Good size bathroom but toilet right on top of the shower door. Large mirror that sat back In an alcove and obviously difficult to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Apologies that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here with us. Towels will be replaced as per our in room instructions/guidance. For hygiene reasons (avoiding confusion as to whom each towel belongs to) we will not fold towels that are still in use. As for the size of the room, the images on our website accurately display the size of... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We stayed 2 nights in Charlotte House which we found delightful. The staff were friendly and helpful and genuinely interested in the service they provided. The rooms were spacious with loads of drawers and a capacious wardrobe. Very comfortable bed and a huge bathroom with modern fittings. Nice to have a bathroom cabinet instead of having to delve into one's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for reviewing us! We're delighted that you enjoyed your time here with us. Please continue to spread the word, and consider staying with us next time you're in the area. Kind regards More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014 via mobile

Lovely room. Great bathroom. Beds very firm! Nice area. Might have been nice to see more staff as I found it a little impersonal. Beware! Breakfast is either continental, or traditional English! Extra charges may be added if you want both. Never known that before, it's usually a buffet and you can help yourself. However, this was reasonably priced for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Hi there folks, many thanks for taking the time to review our offering. Just as a note to the Beware statement, please not that we have different charges here. We offer continental, cooked, or both options. This is in response to popular demand for each of these pricing choices: as detailed on our breakfast menu continental: £4.75 (including tea/coffee) cooked:... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Charlotte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Address: The Lawns, Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay