We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Charlotte House

Hotel website
Affiliate website
The Lawns, Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BL, England
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charlotte House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Charlotte House
Rate this Hotel

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    60
    28
    24
    23
See reviews for
40
123
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (247)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (55)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (69)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Formby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you like grade 2 listed buildings and traditional good hospitality this is the place for you. Only stayed one night on business - staff are so helpful and friendly. Delicious breakfast set me up for a busy day. Will be back for a short break very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yorkshire Dales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location is just great and the hotel was just as described. Had a welcome and very unexpected, free, upgrade to our room which meant we were now in an apartment...........Huge bathroom with stand alone bath and a shower cubicle that was enormous. Bedroom with four poster and an enormous wall mounted television. Comfortable bed, warm and cozy and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We held my daughter's 21st birthday party in the orangery. It is a stunning party venue, the disco lights reflected off the big glass windows in the darkness which made a brilliant display and the in-house DJ did a fantastic job keeping everyone on the dance floor. David and his staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Right from the first email the Staff at charlottes house hotel were fantastic! Especially David who I'm sure I drove mad with my emails! Each visit we made to charlottes house we was made to feel welcomed and comfortable, as the bride to be I had 101 things to organise and remember and couldn't thank David enough for being so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you on your special day. Please do continue to spread the word, we welcome reviews from wedding guests also ;0) Kindest regards David More 

Ipswich
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We booked one night here a few months ago and chose the hotel for it's location and style - which were both excellent. We liked the quirky nature of the decor, and found the staff really helpful. The room was large and comfortable but was slightly tired - it is one of the few hotels we have has an enormous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your response. We do not advertise or price ourselves as a 5* hotel. Please let me know where you saw this so that I might have it removed. I trust your review would be slightly different with this new information. Kind regards More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

We enjoyed Charlotte House so much in 2013 that my daughter and I decided to stay there again on this trip. It didn't disappoint. We stayed 4 nights, but had to change rooms half way through due to other bookings. This was no problem and gave us the chance to try another room as the first we stayed in was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that we left a lasting impression with you. Please do continue to support us in future visits. Kindest regards More 

Leeds
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

As we checked in a very uninterested receptionist greeted us. He spoke when spoken to! Parking is payable at £5 but i'd rather that be built into the price of the room. I do understand that not everyone has a car. Charlotte house is extremely well located close to the castle and cathedral. The cooked breakfast was disappointing. The tea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I feel very disappointed that comments have been made regarding the quality of your breakfast service, something that we pride ourselves on. It seems that you enjoyed your actual stay, the quality of the room etc etc, I would have expected your review 'score' to be somewhat fairer. It is common place for hotels to... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

I don't understand the negative reviews of the hotel. As soon as I arrived I was greeted personally and in a very friendly manner. I was shown to my room on the second floor which was very nice, so might be worth paying more for those rooms. I was greeted a note written Dear Paul outlining what the hotel had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, it is a testament to the work that we are doing here! Kindest regards More 

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

When we arrived, and went into the reception we were greeted, very friendly, staff dressed immaculate. was very happy for us to park in the grounds of the hotel. was shown to the room. only disadvantage there was no lift, but was told that this was a listed building so no lift could be added. beds were comfy, memory pillows... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us. Please do consider us for future visits to lincoln. More 

Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

I dont where to start first impressions when we entered was a strange smell it is hard to explain it may well be down to the fact its very old there is parking directly outside the front door There is a lounge bar down the hall downstairs and reception area once in the room there is ample space and were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question