We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Poplars

Upper Beaumont Fee, Lincoln LN1 1EZ, England
Hotel amenities
The Poplars
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #30 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
marble_co Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    50
    34
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
15
43
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (126)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (47)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We opted for the Poplars for a short notice one night trip to Lincoln, specifically to see the castle and cathedral. So glad we did. Location is brilliant - in the midst of the medieval part of the city and literally two minutes walk from the cathedral. A warm but casual welcome awaited, following on from helpful directions in an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found this place easily with the directions given by the owners and navigated the steep drive with no problem. Our twin room was on the top floor up 34 steps, but well worth the climb! It was a beautifully decorated room with everything we needed - be aware though that this room shares a bathroom with 2 other rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

Very welcoming and helpful. Lovely house and garden with good views. Very handy for exploring historic Lincoln. Kindly provided soya yogurt on request as part of the help-your-self breakfast. Room very clean and comfortable with a newly equipped shared bathroom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

The welcome we got when we arrived was very good. Martin was very chatty when showing us to our rooms. Bedrooms were clean and tidy with tea making facilities plus a TV. Breakfast is continental but there was a wide variety of things to eat. Hotel is a short distance from the castle which we had come to visit. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

First time visit to Lincoln and we were fortunate in booking this B&B, prime location in walking distance from the castle and cathedral. The accommodation is not easy to find so get directions and ask. It is a steep drive ascending from a one way street. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast good for 'continental' style and the manager very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015 via mobile

A clean and tidy bed and breakfast located close to the city centre and a short walk from the castle area. Rooms a comfy with tea making facilities and a TV. Breakfast is a d.i.y. affair, and there is no full English that some expect from a B&B, not an issue for this reviewer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Welcomed very nicely, had a good sleep, no trouble, was really comfy and the breakfast was great! Came to Lincoln to go to a wedding nearby and the bed and breakfast was in a really good location, by lots of pubs, by the castle and cathedral. If anyone is visiting Lincoln I really recommend this place to stay in! Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
czimmerl, Manager at The Poplars, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed our B&B, thank you for such a nice review, best wishes Martin and Heike More 

Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

I recently stayed a night at the Poplars B&B in Lincoln and had a first rate time. My booking at another place had fallen through and I was glad that it did as I found this lovely place instead. Martin gave me a warm welcome when I arrived. Their website was excellent and made it easy to find the place.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and from such an experienced reviewer, hope to see you again. many thanks Martin More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Customer service was poor. The lady landlord was incredibly rude. Never staying there ever again. Although the actual rooms were very pleasent and the surroundings were amazing. Get rid of that women, she was horrid. She made me feel so unwelcome and my friends. She made the atmosphere unsettling. I stayed for a night, and a night was enough. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Thanks Levi, for your review, I think the 1star review is a bit harsh (in fact very harsh) I did offer you all including the lady in other review the a late check out as you might be in very late from Moda, so we didn't want you to F!! But when furniture starts to get broken things need to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

The male receptionist who greeted us was excellent, very friendly. There was four of us staying in two twin rooms. The female owner then came up stairs but instead of what we thought was to greet us, she instead had the worst attitude I have ever come across and was the rudest women any of us have ever met. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay