We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Poplars

Upper Beaumont Fee, Lincoln LN1 1EZ, England
Hotel amenities
The Poplars
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #32 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
757woody Spilsby, United Kingdom
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    33
    21
    11
    10
See reviews for
15
42
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Spilsby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The welcome we got when we arrived was very good. Martin was very chatty when showing us to our rooms. Bedrooms were clean and tidy with tea making facilities plus a TV. Breakfast is continental but there was a wide variety of things to eat. Hotel is a short distance from the castle which we had come to visit. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time visit to Lincoln and we were fortunate in booking this B&B, prime location in walking distance from the castle and cathedral. The accommodation is not easy to find so get directions and ask. It is a steep drive ascending from a one way street. The rooms are comfortable, the breakfast good for 'continental' style and the manager very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A clean and tidy bed and breakfast located close to the city centre and a short walk from the castle area. Rooms a comfy with tea making facilities and a TV. Breakfast is a d.i.y. affair, and there is no full English that some expect from a B&B, not an issue for this reviewer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Welcomed very nicely, had a good sleep, no trouble, was really comfy and the breakfast was great! Came to Lincoln to go to a wedding nearby and the bed and breakfast was in a really good location, by lots of pubs, by the castle and cathedral. If anyone is visiting Lincoln I really recommend this place to stay in! Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
czimmerl, Manager at The Poplars, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed our B&B, thank you for such a nice review, best wishes Martin and Heike More 

Dunkeld, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed a night at the Poplars B&B in Lincoln and had a first rate time. My booking at another place had fallen through and I was glad that it did as I found this lovely place instead. Martin gave me a warm welcome when I arrived. Their website was excellent and made it easy to find the place.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words and from such an experienced reviewer, hope to see you again. many thanks Martin More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

Customer service was poor. The lady landlord was incredibly rude. Never staying there ever again. Although the actual rooms were very pleasent and the surroundings were amazing. Get rid of that women, she was horrid. She made me feel so unwelcome and my friends. She made the atmosphere unsettling. I stayed for a night, and a night was enough. She... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Thanks Levi, for your review, I think the 1star review is a bit harsh (in fact very harsh) I did offer you all including the lady in other review the a late check out as you might be in very late from Moda, so we didn't want you to F!! But when furniture starts to get broken things need to... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

The male receptionist who greeted us was excellent, very friendly. There was four of us staying in two twin rooms. The female owner then came up stairs but instead of what we thought was to greet us, she instead had the worst attitude I have ever come across and was the rudest women any of us have ever met. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights around a do at RAF Cranwell. Loved the location - very central, minutes from the cathedral and lots of lovely independent restaurants, pubs and cafes. Very welcoming owners, great to have a 'help yourself' breakfast. Super comfortable room with fantastic views over Lincoln, bed probably not good if you have back problems but ideal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Thanks Charlie, was great to have all four of you stay, we are so glad you enjoyed it. More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

if your looking for somewhere to stay in lincoln center try the poplars ,i have just spent 4 weeks working in the city and really enjoyed my stay ,the staff are really nice ,very knowledgeable poplars stands on a really steep hill but the views are worth the walk ..if you use the backgate you can be in the historic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this review

Hi Jonny, thank you so much for kind words pretty much sums up what we are about, nice to have met you More 

Cork, County Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Comfortable, clean and conveniently placed at the doorstep of the historic cathedral and Steep Hill area as well within stumbling distance of the city’s best pub The Tap & Spile. Breakfast is a help yourself affair and i’d rather that than wait for someone to finish cooking for me as well as put up with the smell of a thousand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question