We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 51 Lincoln B&Bs / inns

Bail House & Mews

34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bail House & Mews to your Saves list
Bail House & Mews
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
66%
Ranked #31 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Magpies7 York, United Kingdom
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    67
    37
    23
    17
See reviews for
41
101
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed just one night. The room was clean and spacious, overlooking the road, but not noisy at night.Location was good, about 200 yards from the cathedral, surrounded by many restaurants an bars. Staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble. The honesty bar in the residents lounge was great, offering a selection of beers, wines, snacks and spirits at very reasonable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Seven of us stayed over a long weekend. The staff were amazingly helpful. The location is ideal for sightseeing in Lincoln. However, the front rooms overlooking the Bailgate have to contend with late night revellers at the Weekend. Pity really! Take your ear plugs! Phill

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked two-bedroomed apartment for one night for a city break to celebrate my mum's birthday. First impressions of the main hotel were generally positive and staff pleasant but the apartment was really disappointing. Beds and bedroom furniture were adequate but the whole set-up was shabby and tired: curtain hanging off a rail, battered and uncomfortable sofa, kitchen taps broken, noisy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Beautiful rooms, very kind service, good breakfast in adjacent restaurant, relaxed atmosphere and perfectly friendly staff. Perfect for a short trip to Lincoln. The Lounge with drinks is fantastic! Definitely worth a stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Bail House. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kindest regards Ella Watmore Reception Supervisor Bail House & Mews More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nice room with four poster bed and ensuite. Nice hotel settings. Great location. No complaints other than the hotel is not staffed after 9pm which we thought was a little odd. But overall a good comfortable stay for our weekend in lincoln.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews. We hope to welcome you again soon and increase your 4 star rating to 5 stars. Kindest regards Ella Watmore Reception Supervisor Bail... More

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Service was great, hotel has plenty of charm. I really enjoyed my stay here, close to everything in this cute little town. Staff were very friendly and quick to help. Easy access to the cathedral and castle. I will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the staff friendly and helpful and we are very lucky to be situated in such a wonderful part of Lincoln. We look forward to your next stay with us here at... More

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Booked one night for my husbands birthday suprise. Got the four poster room with en suite and we were not dissapointed. Lovely staff beautiful room the bed was stunning what a centre piece. The room was big light and airy. The coutyard was lovely to sit in you could help yourself to free tea and coffee in the lounge which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews. Kindest regards Ella Watmore Reception Supervisor Bail House & Mews More

Louth
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Love Lincoln and usually stay at number 7 but was fully booked so thought we would give this one a try as sounded lovely! Arrived and checked in then shown the apartment which we was notified that the kitchen, dining area was also in use by another party! The kitchen was very dirty and our rooms had not been hoovered,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We apologise that on this occasion you did not enjoy your visit. In regards to the shared kitchen and dining area, I can clarify that this is outlined both on Laterooms.com as well as in the confirmation email that we sent to you on the 18th March 2014... More

Gioux
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years and will continue to but it is sadly starting to lack the charm it once had! Whilst the tired rooms really aren't an issue the new lack of attention when it comes to house keeping is! Over a three night period the room was never hoovered, toiletries never replenished nor the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you will continue to stay with us here at the Bail House and do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we did not meet our usual standards. Having taken your comments of board, we hope that on your next... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Had a very comfy sleep in my massive four poster bed!!! The room was huge with a high ceiling. Stayed in a non en suite room (I thought it was a little pricey for a mid week stay and sharing a bathroom) but luckily I was just around the corner from the bathroom, although I felt as though I needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay with us here at the Bail House. We hope to welcome you again soon and increase your 4 star rating to 5 stars. Kindest regards Ella Watmore Reception Supervisor Bail House &... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bail House & Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Lincoln with
any amenities