We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bail House & Mews

Hotel website
Affiliate website
34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Bail House & Mews
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #27 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
paulf166666 Reading, United Kingdom
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    86
    45
    27
    18
See reviews for
46
134
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (277)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great atmosphere located in historic centre of Lincoln , lots of charm and individual restaurants and cafes close by . Everything in a few minutes walk. Good size lounge area and facilities , friendly staff , convenient parking , good price , individualistic rooms

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the lovely review about the hotel and staff. I am glad to hear you took advantage of the lounge area in the hotel as well as the Bailgate location for its unique cafes and restaurants. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards Rachel Meager Reception Supervisor More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Excellent place for a short stay , very polite and helpful young lady who answered the door and sorted our stay , lovely spacious room with the same said for the en suite , loved the idea for a honesty bar , cracking little breakfast the following morning all served with very helpful staff , the hotel is centered in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for such a lovely review of the hotel and the staff. I am pleased to hear you took advantage of our honesty bar and enjoyed your breakfast. We hope to welcome you back again. Kind Regards Rachel Meager Reception Supervisor More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed overnight in the Bail House celebrating my partner's birthday. The feature room is amazing. The antique furniture and accent lighting really brought history to life. The staff were very polite, courteous and friendly. I have already recommended this hotel to my friends. Thank you for a memorable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, All of the staff at the Bail House would like to thank you for the lovely comments about their service and are very pleased you enjoyed and appreciated our Feature Room. We all look forward to welcoming you and your friends very soon and hope you visit us again for another memorable stay for a special occasion. Kind... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A lovely hotel in the heart of historic lincoln. Two minutes walk from the castle and cathedral. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent and the communal areas and honesty bar were very handy. highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou very much for such a lovely review about the staff, hotel and location. I am glad you took advantage of our prime location and enjoyed your breakfast with us. We hope to welcome you again very soon. Kind Regards Rachel Meager Reception Supervisor More 

Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Excellent location in really interesting city. Staff great, rooms good size, lounge area good. Plenty of parking. Only gripe was weak shower. Breakfast in adjoining restaurant was good and no hassle to go there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for your lovely review about the staff, hotel and the facilities at the Bail House. We hope to welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards Rachel Meager Reception Supervisor More 

Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ground floor very welcoming with lounge area and honesty bar. The staff were very friendly and helpful. BUT very disapointed when shown to our 'superior' room. The furniture looked as if it had just come from a second hand shop, one of the chairs was that rickety I didn't even try to use it. The next surprise was the double... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely feedback about our staff and the lounge area. I am pleased you enjoyed our location within the Bailgate. I am sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your room. We do decorate and furnish the rooms to fit with the history of the building, however we do appreciate all feedback and will... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this bed and breakfast as the pictures of the four poster beds looked welcoming. Thought we were going to stay in a luxury room. Total cost for room £104 and then £10 for two breakfasts in the tapas bar next door( the mews has no cooking facilities so you pay for breakfast when booking then go next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback about your stay. I am sorry that you did not find the room to your liking. We find our decoration in keeping with the style and history of the building in muted colours to complement any beams or brickwork visible in the hotel and rooms. We do find our prices competitive with the rest... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a great hotel full of charm and class. The rooms are immaculate and the furniture is opulent without being garish and overdone. The bar is an honesty bar so you just write on a slip what you have had and then they add it to your bill. The Hotel has a recreation area on the first floor complete... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about our hotel! I am glad you find the style of the hotel and rooms to your taste and took full advantage of our guest lounge area. We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us. Kind Regards Rachel Meager Reception Supervisor More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at The Bail House over Easter and the price may have reflected this. We stayed in the "feature" room which was dark and overcrowded with occasional furniture. The "feature" was the original timber which lost their appeal when you had to continually crouch to avoid hitting your head. All in all the room was not comfortable. The staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for your comments about the hotel. Your feedback is always welcome on check-out about any issues you think need addressing or suggestions. We find that our prices are competitive with the rates in Lincoln as a whole and particularly the Bailgate area of Lincoln, which is a prime location due to the picturesque location and proximity to... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this hotel due to its close proximity to both the Castle and Cathedral. The hotel is small and staff are really friendly. There is a communal area beyond reception, where you can make cups of tea and coffee etc. There is no hotel bar, as such, but an "honesty" system means that you can help your self to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rachel M, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, All the staff would like to thankyou for your lovely comments about the hotel. I am glad you found your room spacious and took advantage of our excellent location. Your comments about redecoration and modern touches will be noted and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind Regards Rachel Meager Reception Supervisor More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question