We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 50 Lincoln B&Bs / inns

Bail House & Mews

34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Hotel website
Affiliate website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bail House & Mews to your Saves list
Bail House & Mews
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #27 of 50 Lincoln B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Sunjayc Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (208)
  • Photos (83)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (39)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    64
    35
    21
    17
See reviews for
37
97
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Service was great, hotel has plenty of charm. I really enjoyed my stay here, close to everything in this cute little town. Staff were very friendly and quick to help. Easy access to the cathedral and castle. I will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and found the staff friendly and helpful and we are very lucky to be situated in such a wonderful part of Lincoln. We look forward to your next stay with us here at... More

Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked one night for my husbands birthday suprise. Got the four poster room with en suite and we were not dissapointed. Lovely staff beautiful room the bed was stunning what a centre piece. The room was big light and airy. The coutyard was lovely to sit in you could help yourself to free tea and coffee in the lounge which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff helpful. We look forward to your next stay with us here at the Bail House & Mews. Kindest regards Ella Watmore Reception Supervisor Bail House & Mews More

Louth
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Love Lincoln and usually stay at number 7 but was fully booked so thought we would give this one a try as sounded lovely! Arrived and checked in then shown the apartment which we was notified that the kitchen, dining area was also in use by another party! The kitchen was very dirty and our rooms had not been hoovered,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We apologise that on this occasion you did not enjoy your visit. In regards to the shared kitchen and dining area, I can clarify that this is outlined both on Laterooms.com as well as in the confirmation email that we sent to you on the 18th March 2014... More

Gioux
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed here many times over the years and will continue to but it is sadly starting to lack the charm it once had! Whilst the tired rooms really aren't an issue the new lack of attention when it comes to house keeping is! Over a three night period the room was never hoovered, toiletries never replenished nor the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you will continue to stay with us here at the Bail House and do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we did not meet our usual standards. Having taken your comments of board, we hope that on your next... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a very comfy sleep in my massive four poster bed!!! The room was huge with a high ceiling. Stayed in a non en suite room (I thought it was a little pricey for a mid week stay and sharing a bathroom) but luckily I was just around the corner from the bathroom, although I felt as though I needed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay with us here at the Bail House. We hope to welcome you again soon and increase your 4 star rating to 5 stars. Kindest regards Ella Watmore Reception Supervisor Bail House &... More

Harleston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a weekend in Lincoln, a first visit. The hotel is right in the centre although on a fairly quiet road. Our room (on first floor) was above average size and very comfortable. Cleanliness was good and everything was of a good quality. We had a good view of the cathedral from our room.The reception staff were exceptional and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews. We will ensure that your comments regarding the breakfast are passed on to the staff at Ole Ole, who I’m sure will be very pleased. It was a pleasure to have you and we do hope to see you next time you... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel in a wonderful location. Staff were very nice and helpful. Wonderful little communal area to sit and have a hot drink and relax. Breakfast was very nice. Only real complaints were the shower and the parking. The shower was poor and the bathroom could do with an overhaul. The parking is not great. Get there early so you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay and would happily return. I can confirm that we have now got the shower head fixed and the bathroom has undergone a deep clean. Thank you again for your review and we aim to turn... More

Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OK so the décor was tired, particularly in the en-suite, so if you want chain hotel uniformity, don't stay here. But if you want a terrific location right in the heart of Lincoln's old town, friendly staff, a comfortable bed and some nice touches like the honesty bar and the range of different teas to help yourself to, then this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your stay. We appreciate all feedback given, good and bad, so that we can be continuously improving. We do appreciate your comments and we aim to turn your 4 star review into 5 stars for your next... More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a night here for our 33rd wedding anniversary..... The receptionist was lovely and made us feel so welcome... We had the beamed bedroom which was lovely ... En suit bathroom.. And a separate all singing all dancing shower, the tea/coffee making facilities in the room was good..... The coffee machine in the public lounge/ kitchen area was ideal after... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay at the Bail House & Mews. We will ensure that your comments regarding the breakfast are passed on to the staff at Ole Ole, who I’m sure will be very pleased. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we do hope to see you... More

uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four poster superior room was stunning, the location could not be better a few minutes from the cathedral and castle, loads of pubs and places to eat, there is a lovely Thai place nearby food was first class. Only thing to remember..you will be charged extra for breakfast and also charged extra for parking ( which you would think would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ella W, Reception Supervisor at Bail House & Mews, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the most of your time in Lincoln. We appreciate all feedback given, good and bad, so that we can be continuously improving. We do appreciate your comments and we aim to turn your 4 star review into 5 stars... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bail House & Mews, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bail House & Mews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bail House & Mews

Address: 34 Bailgate, Lincoln LN1 3AP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bail House & Mews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bail House & Mews Hotel Lincoln
Bail House And Mews

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
1:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bail House Hotel is a luxury small boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lincoln. This historic building dates back to 1350 and enjoys an enviable location in Lincolns Cathedral Quarter with its wealth of independent retailers, bars and restaurants.Our spacious bedrooms, most with king size beds and en-suites, have been sympathetically decorated to compliment the architecture and history of the building. Each room has a unique view of the Castle, Cathedral spires or the Bailgate. All our rooms benefit from tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free local and national phone calls. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer