We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FL, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Professional photos View all
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
Add Your Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    107
    74
    28
    17
See reviews for
56
54
24
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (285)
  • Mar-May only
    (64)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (89)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (64)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Bed was small and hard. Aircon was noisy. Not the hotels fault, but we had noisy neighbours. Breakfast was chaotic and slow. Not a great experience and would not recommend it unless you can get a really cheap deal. Find somewhere else

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hi Trevor C Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay, we are taking on board the comments made with regards to the beds and we are looking to replace these, obviously this does not happen overnight and will be an ongoing process. On a weekend breakfast tends to be busy towards the end of service as people often all... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There is no way this place is worth £90 a night. Room had inter connecting door with adjacent room so heard two male occupants chatting all night then waking me up at 0600!?!? When I complained reception sAid unlucky as hotel was full. Rubbish night's sleep. Breakfast bland and dull. Overpriced vanilla rubbish.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hello Dan C I am sorry to read your comments about your stay, I am new to the hotel and going forward our policy on noise will be changing and won't be tolerated. Please accept my apologies for the way this situation was handled and I hope this does not deter you from choosing Holiday Inn Express as a preferred... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dispute my visit being for business and prepaid by my company, the staff at check-in insisted they swipe a card for "pre-authorusation". I explained I did not want to do this, my company was paying and I did not requirements any extras. The staff member was quite rude and said the £1 they would take was an insignificant amount of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Dear Anne-Marie T I apologise that you feel you had a less than satisfactory stay with us, unfortunately your company have not passed on the details to you that we did provide to them. All guests are asked for a pre-authorisation of a card regardless of who made the booking. It is clearly stated on our website that we practice... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed on Friday March 13th before a visit to Leicester City the following day. Perfect for football and had a room over looking the ground. Room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast wasn't spectacular but served it's purpose and the staff were very friendly. Good night's sleep as very peaceful,reasonable price, would visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hello SteveiBrandish1972 Thank you for taking your time to leave a review of our hotel we really appreciate it. Thank you also for mentioning the staff I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Leicester. Kind regards Denise Jennings General Manager More 

Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very tidy hotel next to the football ground with plenty of parking. The staff were very friendly and just as important efficient on check-in and departure. The rooms are in great shape with decent equipment. I had a room overlooking the ground not too near the road. Breakfast was also good. I'd stay again although the price... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hello Martin H I will be sure to pass your positive comments onto the housekeeping staff and my receptionist's, thank you for leaving a good review. Special prices or deals are available sometimes by booking direct with the hotel or our central reservations team on 0800 43 40 40. Kind regards Denise Jennings General Manager More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I usually chose Holidays inn express for my stay in different cities when travelling alone. this ne was quite friendly and helpful like most others. I was by myself when checked in, then later the night my friend joined me, but there was no hassle for registering or anything, the staffs were really friendly,had nice little chit chat with them... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hello Faisal A We really appreciate your kind words about our Hotel and look forward to seeing you again if you visit Leicester. Just to let you know all guests get Free Wifi but your late check out was due to availability and the fact you are an IHG Rewards Club Member. Thank you again for a great review. Kind... More 

South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel many times for business, this was my first stay for a leisure break. The hotel has quite a spaciouse free car park. As always the staff are very helpful and welcoming with a quick and easy check in. All the public areas are clean and airy. The rooms are a reasonable size with an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hello Gary C It is really nice that a regular guest has taken time to write this great review of our Hotel, it would be easy for you to tell us here at the hotel what you think as we see you regularly, but you have used your own time to do this and we really appreciate it. We look... More 

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed over for a Saturday night after watching Leicester Tigers. Hotel was easy to find and has spacious free car park. Reception was clean and responsive with friendly staff. Took lift to room overlooking the canal. Room was neat & tidy with ample room and everything was clean and comfortable. The bathroom with its unique Holiday Inn door closure to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Peter y Thank you so much for your review, I actually love the way the door closes on the toilet in some Express Hotels it is very unique. As a Tigers fan I hope we will be seeing you back here in Leicester and look forward to providing you a great service again. Kind regards Denise Jennings General Manager More 

Walsall, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stated here as it's an ideal location when going to watch leicester tigers. The hotel was clean and the bar was ok priced. Breakfast was lovely and had a good choice of good. Only downside was that we had to make up the sofa bed ourselves for our 6 year old daughter which was quite a chore. Good size... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hi Victoria A I am sorry to read that the sofa was not already made when you entered your room, and apologise for any inconvenience caused. May I suggest next time you book, if you book direct with the hotel we can ensure this is done for you. Many thanks for leaving a great review though, and we look forward... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read quite a few reviews of this hotel which had bad bits but I have nothing bad to say about this place. It is a bit out of the centre of town but a taxi cost £4 and we were able to walk back in about 15 minutes. If you are looking for somewhere close to the Football stadium... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hello Liz D Thank you so much for taking your own time to leave such great feedback on our Hotel, we really appreciate it. Maybe next time we get to welcome you to the hotel you will try the Express start breakfast or maybe have another lay in, the choice is yours :) Once again thank you Kind regards Denise... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (49)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question