We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Leicester City

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Filbert Way | Raw Dykes Road, Leicester LE2 7FL, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Leicester City
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

358 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night, arrived late morning and although could not check in we could park in their free carpark. The hotel and carpark virtually touching the Leicester City football stadium. We comfortably walked into town to meet our friend prior to and after the match. checked into hotel just before attending the match. The town centre is about... More 

Helpful?
Thank travelbugWimborne_UK
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The basics were missing. A comfy bed is number one on my list for when I'm away from home. This bed was perhaps old and worn out definitely not comfortable. There was no room service available due to lack of staff at the restaurant next door who offer the menu. That menu was mostly fatty, meat dishes. I don't eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jodiejodejodes
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Dear Jodiejodejodes I am sorry that your stay was less than satisfactory. I am also sorry but we do not have any control over the restaurant next door to the hotel, they are a separate business that works in conjunction with the hotel, we as a hotel do not offer room service. We also do not provide room service for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Leicester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is conveniently located opposite football stadium so perhaps a big yes to football fan. The hotel booked me a double and at check in provided a twin (shambles), there are no iron in the room but you have to go to a communal ironing room on 3rd floor which to me as business traveller is so inconvenient. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pavan B
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Dear Pavanbali Thank you for taking your time to leave a guest review, I can tell you that when you made your booking the day before arrival your choice was "any available room" as a hotel we only have a certain number of double rooms and I am sure you can appreciate these are usually taken first, that is why... More 

Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked our reservation and were not informed that during a Leicester City home football match you are unable to gain access to the hotel at the beginning and the end of the match. We had to park on a side street for over an hour and a half before we could access the hotel. Information should be provided on... More 

Helpful?
Thank 30lucy1969
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hello 30lucy1969 Thank you for the review and using your own time to complete it. I am sorry for the disruption caused during the football hours, we do try to tweet and use social media to let people know about games but not everyone uses these sites or follow us. Sometimes the road isn't closed at all so we tell... More 

Thornbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Express are not 5* so don't expect 5*! Staff were polite, helpful and smiled! Rooms were clean and welcoming; bed was comfortable but shower wasn't great. While the first night was cold, I turned off air con for the second and it was fine. Bar was reasonably priced but breakfast was shocking - which is the reason for 3* review... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liam W
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hello Liam W Thank you for your review, I can tell you that as a group the Express breakfast is being looked at and should shortly be re-vamped, this is down to feedback like yours and us as managers feeding this back to the group and IHG. I do hope you continue to use the brand and us here at... More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Upon arrival waited ages for someone to come to reception. When someone did come she didn't seem to be very experienced with the check in process. The room is okay but cold, bed is comfortable. Breakfast, aspires to be awful and doesn't even achieve that. It's just terrible !! The yellow stuff could well be a cure for something, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank S-Reviewer-S
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Dear S-Reviewer-S I am sorry you had a less than satisfactory stay, I can tell you that I will be addressing all the issues you have highlighted here. I can also confirm that the air con was not functioning properly downstairs, but has now been fixed. There wasn't the same problem in the rooms so I am not sure why... More 

Truro, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Helpful receptionists. Dire breakfast. Very rude waitress in the attached restaurant but it serves a purpose. Better for one night than three and we have done both. The three night stay was not pleasant and the wifi connection was terrible which made my working life very difficult.

Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Trainers
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hi Travelling_Trainers I am sorry to read that your stay was less than satisfactory. I can only pass your comments on to the restaurant next door as it is not part of the hotel and has different owners. We do take on board all feedback and to prove this we are having our Free WiFi band increased which will alleviate... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for one night with my granddaughter. Dread sleeping in single bed as normally duvets so small but was delighted to find we each had a double duvet so no bare back when turning over. Breakfast was simple but more than enough choice. Will definitely be back again but will check to be sure no football match next door.

Helpful?
Thank HRKGL
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Dear HRKGL Thank you for the review, I also hate the cold back situation, we have increased the size of duvet in preparation for new beds, where the base will be deeper so need the extra size. We hope you and your granddaughter return soon, and avoid the football, as it is not for everyone :) Kind regards Denise Jennings... More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Nice, decent hotel but very noisy neighbours and we kept getting woken up. The whole night we kept being woken up by all sorts of noises. Otherwise, nice simple breakfast, clean rooms, great parking and they nicely accommodated a sofa bed for us which was a brilliant size,

Helpful?
Thank Supersuh
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Dear Supersuh, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with our hotel. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the noise from other guests during your stay last new years eve. I would like to follow up on this situation that is why I have sent you a private message to obtain more information. I... More 

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

Booked this hotel with a friend to watch Leicester-Man City match. The hotel is literally behind the stadium. There is an American restaurant just behind it, and it's 10 minutes by foot from a big supermarket and a commercial zone with some restaurants. It is far from the city center. The hotel itself is old and it's noticeable however well... More 

Helpful?
Thank yoyothe10
Denise J, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Leicester City, responded to this review

Hi yoyothe10 I am so glad you like the hotel and surroundings, it's nice to see the staff being mentioned to and that they were helpful. I hope we see you again for the next Leicester v Man City game? Kind regards Denise Jennings General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leicester hotels
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Leicester City Centre Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leicester
Holiday Inn Leicester
#17 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Leicester
Ibis Leicester
#16 of 41 in Leicester
3.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Belmont Hotel
The Belmont Hotel
#10 of 41 in Leicester
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Leicester City Centre
2.5 mi away
Leicester Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay