We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Campanile Leicester

Hotel website
Hotel deals
St Matthews Way | Bedford Street North, Leicester LE1 3JE, England
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL £7 DISCOUNT
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Campanile Leicester
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Campanile Leicester
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    91
    60
    17
    28
See reviews for
22
57
26
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Raipur, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I had initially booked the hotel but moved out soon. The room allocated to me was next to the lift and everytime the lift opened I felt someone was opening my door. It is a good 10 minutes walk from the train station and again 15-20 minute from the train centre.Not that great place to stay. Would suggest to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Suzie and I stayed here on the night of a friends birthday party 11 April 2015. We booked in at about 4pm and Amy, the receptionist, couldn't have been more helpful. She gave us all the information we needed and asked for and showed us the way to walk into Leicester centre on a local map, this is just 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Campanile Hotel Leicester. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, and that you received a great service from the reception and restaurant staff. I am also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast in the morning, and found it to be a good selection and good... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have never stayed in a Campanile before and needless to say I'll never stay in one again. Room stunk of smoke, even though is has no smoking signs everywhere. Rooms are very hot at night, yet due to the location on a busy dual carriageway, if you open the window the traffic noise keeps you awake Advertises free WiFi,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clearly a budget hotel, but a thorough cleaning - including washing the walls - and some re-painting would make a vast improvement. So would new pillows. Best to bring your own. it's located in a dreary part of town next to a motorway, but a quick ten minute walk gets you to the market square. The staff were its best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oundle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Welcoming reception and free on site parking walking distance from city shopping. Nice, clean, and comfortable rooms, but in room WiFi is pricey. Friendly, well presented staff. Clean dining room with surprisingly good menu. Bar closes at 11pm. Good breakfast. Overall good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Campanile Hotel Leicester. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found both the hotel and restaurant service to be good value for money. We hope that we will see you again on your next stay in Leicester. More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a budget hotel and it shows, it's a bit tired and in need of a refurb. The area is a little out of town but a 10 minute walk will get you to the centre of the city which is pretty good. The reception and bar area are quite small but perfectly adequate. We had a twin room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 2 nights with husband. At first we werent at all impressed with room- immediately moved to other which was a little better - but not much! Very clean facilities +bedding but bathroom smelt very strongly of cigarette smoke - we think coming from drains as we were in a Non Smoking part of the hotel. We made sure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Campanile Leicester. I am sorry to hear of the issues with your bedroom once you’d checked in. Please be assured that the Hotel is a non-smoking hotel and we do aim to eliminate such issues as soon as they arise. I am pleased however to read of your experience with... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am mist impressed with this chain.although not in the flashest area of Leicester, it was a short distance to the city centre on foot. Nothing was a problem, such as changing my room when i had noise issues. In fact i got a better room. The restaurant served a great breakfast and was open for other meals. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Campanile Hotel Leicester. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here, and that your questions were easily resolved. I am delighted that you found the staff to be helpful and attentive and we hope to be welcoming you back soon! More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only booked in because all other hotels full due to Richard 111. Worst night's sleep ever as the bed, which was so knackered, seemed to have been slept in by a small army of rugby teams all at the same time. The breakfast was poor for what you paid and the staff, apart from the manager, seemed distracted and unhelpful.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, General Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review. Im sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. To allow me understand your issues in more detail could I please ask you to contact me at manager,leicester@campanile.com. Kind Regards Steve Powell General Manager More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Absolutely fantastic hotel and staff. Have been here since Saturday due to my father having a major operation. They have made me feel very welcome and asked each time a staff member has seen me how he is. This may not seem much but trust me it is when you are own your own lonely and love him like I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve P, Manager at Campanile Leicester, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your 5 star review! I was delighted to hear about your positive experiences at Campanile Leicester, particularly that the staff were attentive and professional whilst being attentive to your own personal requirements. I am also pleased that you found the hotel itself to be clean and well kept, and that you have enjoyed the meals... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question