We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Leicester B&Bs / inns

Abinger Guest House

Save
You added Abinger Guest House to your Saves list
175 Hinckley Road, Leicester LE3 0TF , England
Hotel amenities
Abinger Guest House
Ranked #2 of 20 Leicester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leicester
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    32
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
27
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (123)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When I saw the room rates at the guesthouse website (after a fortnight or so of frustrating search for budget accomodation in Leicester), I'm afraid I thought, "Something must be wrong here - it can't be so inexpensive, with a central location like that". Well, absolutely nothing was wrong, quite the contrary - it by far exceeded my most optimistic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Ksenia Many thanks for your fabulous review - and yes we do have TV's in the room, but they are flat against the wall and easy to overlook. I know I said it at the time, but it was fantastic for us to host your group and show you that hospitality and comfort can still be achieved on a... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my mam would like to thank all the staff in abinger guest house for a lovely stay an making us feel so welcome. They were so helpful with us.It was like going home from home. The rooms are lovely and always kept so clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Brilliant guests too. Sorry that the circumstances of your visit weren't more uplifting and I hope the patient soon recovers, but it's always a pleasure looking after Dubliners as it gives us a chance to stop talking and listen. We had a great time looking after you and your mam and look forward to your return. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the Abinger on an overnight trip to Leicester and was very pleasantly surprised and delighted with the whole experience. It is obvious that they have given a great deal of thought to the detail of organising the room and public areas, and as a lone traveller it was good that the owner was glad to chat over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Have just stayed for the fourth time at the Abinger Guest House and each time has been great. Very well equipped bedrooms with everything that you need for a comfortable stay. I'm not sure why recent reviewers have had cause to complain about the guest house being cold because even when it was only a few degrees outside the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

I've stayed here about 15 times in the last three years and will continue to do so while attending study weekends at nearby De Montfort University. Over this time I've stayed in nearly all of the rooms and have found them all to be very comfortable, both in terms of the beds and the facilities - a sink in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

I stayed here with a friend in october, for a convention taking place in Leicester. I've been completely blown away by the quality of the rooms and how nice the owners are, considering it being one of the cheapest places in Leicester. I can honestly recommend this place to everybody, the standard is higher than any *budget* 2-star hotel (priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Guys, I'm sorry I haven't responded sooner, but I have been fighting off Trolls! My daughter had the pleasure of looking after you and she told me that your gear was amazing - you are truly Rocking Horses! I am delighted that you had such good time and appreciate your kind words. We both look forward to your next visit. More 

Crewkerne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We had a very good night's sleep, on a comfy bed. It was warm once the heating came on, and we were glad we paid extra for the en-suite bathroom with great shower. Breakfast was most welcome, and tasty, although a little slow being made and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Bob the host was very chatty, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

My advice to anyone staying here is to avoid doing so in the winter months, considering how cold it is. You may also want to consider whether you wish to stay in an establishment who’s Basel Forte esq owner is extremely rude about his guests on trip advisor, as amusing as his wild flights of fantasy might be. Not only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

It doesn't matter what you say about me Mark because in the morning I'll still have a good business and you'll still be crazy. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Stayed at b and b for two nights was going to be a further three and then Monday to Friday but we were shicering in bed at night. Heating is only switched on 6am to 8.30am and 5pm to 8pm and 9pm to 11pm. Hot water was also switched off after these times as no hot water in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

As you can see from our many positive reviews all year round, we don't ration either heating or hot water but if, like this couple, you leave the window ajar all night in the dead of winter and fail to turn the thermostat on the radiator up to a temperature which makes you comfortable, I guess you will shiver. It's... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I read great reviews about this b&b but had a less than satisfactory experience just making an enquiry on the phone. I intended to stay one night, leaving at 8.15 the next morning to attend a course locally. From the website I saw that breakfast begins at 8.30 on weekends so I phoned ahead (as advised by the website) to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Tripadvisor is a fabulous site when used judiciously, however, every now and again, some self-important egotistical blowhard will use the service to tell the world how important they are. When this caller disturbed my slumbers to bark at me down the phone, insisting I set my alarm extra early so she could be fed outside normal breakfast hours, I at... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Abinger Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abinger Guest House

Address: 175 Hinckley Road, Leicester LE3 0TF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay