We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Leicester B&Bs / inns

Abinger Guest House

Save
You added Abinger Guest House to your Saves list
175 Hinckley Road, Leicester LE3 0TF , England
Hotel amenities
Abinger Guest House
Ranked #3 of 20 Leicester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leicester
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    31
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
26
17
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My advice to anyone staying here is to avoid doing so in the winter months, considering how cold it is. You may also want to consider whether you wish to stay in an establishment who’s Basel Forte esq owner is extremely rude about his guests on trip advisor, as amusing as his wild flights of fantasy might be. Not only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

It doesn't matter what you say about me Mark because in the morning I'll still have a good business and you'll still be crazy. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at b and b for two nights was going to be a further three and then Monday to Friday but we were shicering in bed at night. Heating is only switched on 6am to 8.30am and 5pm to 8pm and 9pm to 11pm. Hot water was also switched off after these times as no hot water in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

As you can see from our many positive reviews all year round, we don't ration either heating or hot water but if, like this couple, you leave the window ajar all night in the dead of winter and fail to turn the thermostat on the radiator up to a temperature which makes you comfortable, I guess you will shiver. It's... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read great reviews about this b&b but had a less than satisfactory experience just making an enquiry on the phone. I intended to stay one night, leaving at 8.15 the next morning to attend a course locally. From the website I saw that breakfast begins at 8.30 on weekends so I phoned ahead (as advised by the website) to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Tripadvisor is a fabulous site when used judiciously, however, every now and again, some self-important egotistical blowhard will use the service to tell the world how important they are. When this caller disturbed my slumbers to bark at me down the phone, insisting I set my alarm extra early so she could be fed outside normal breakfast hours, I at... More 

Standlake, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My daughter (age 11) and I arrive around 9pm on a Friday night. We were tired and we were very much looking forward to some good quality sleep and an early, hearty breakfast. Overall the guesthouse is clean, spotless. Our room was big spacious and the beds were very comfortable with thick downy duvets, proper pillows and the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Inge It was a pleasure to look after you and your daughter, and, due to the ample notice (9 days), preparing an early breakfast on Saturday was no problem. I'm delighted you found the beds comfortable and the room warm. Hopefully your daughter triumphed in the pool after such a good night's sleep. Bob More 

Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

I stay in a single room, very quiet, and enabled me a necessary pause to return in a good journey of work. The breakfast in bombastic! Everything is hot, and the environment is like in family. Highly recommendable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

I've just returned home from a three week stay at The Abinger for work purposes. I found the room very spacious and the bed most comfortable. It was a large bay windowed room on the ground floor which, despite being at the front of the building was very quiet at night. Bathroom was shared which was not a problem only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure looking after you Highball and I appreciate the kind words and compliments Bob More 

Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Me and two friends stayed at the guest house on Saturday 18th 2014 in a triple room (room 6) Absolutely delighted with the house, very clean, tidy and well maintained, excellent breakfast in the morning and there was plenty of tea/coffee/milk in our room. The room we stayed in was spacious, comfy, warm and clean, the beds were great! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Darren I'm glad you had a good time at the Abinger and I hope the war games went to plan. Thanks for the kind words Bob More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We stayed at Abinger for one night to attend our son's graduation ceremony in Leicester. We found the property easily and there was plenty of free on road parking. In fact we left the car there and walked everywhere. We received a call from our host while we were enough route to give us the security code to access the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night to attend a friend's wedding - it was on the list of places suggested by our friends. We had no idea what to expect but we needn't have worried - it was great! We had room 3, a double with ensuite and it was lovely, with a bed so comfortable we didn't want to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I've stayed at Abinger for one week and I can say it was a really good one. The guest house is conveniently close to city center, the railway station and the universities, has quiet and clean rooms, and a friendly, helpful staff. I strongly recommended for short and business stays.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Abinger Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abinger Guest House

Address: 175 Hinckley Road, Leicester LE3 0TF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

9 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay