We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Leicester B&Bs / inns

Abinger Guest House

Save
You added Abinger Guest House to your Saves list
175 Hinckley Road, Leicester LE3 0TF , England
Hotel amenities
Abinger Guest House
Ranked #3 of 20 Leicester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leicester
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    32
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
27
27
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (122)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and my mam would like to thank all the staff in abinger guest house for a lovely stay an making us feel so welcome. They were so helpful with us.It was like going home from home. The rooms are lovely and always kept so clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Abinger on an overnight trip to Leicester and was very pleasantly surprised and delighted with the whole experience. It is obvious that they have given a great deal of thought to the detail of organising the room and public areas, and as a lone traveller it was good that the owner was glad to chat over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just stayed for the fourth time at the Abinger Guest House and each time has been great. Very well equipped bedrooms with everything that you need for a comfortable stay. I'm not sure why recent reviewers have had cause to complain about the guest house being cold because even when it was only a few degrees outside the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I've stayed here about 15 times in the last three years and will continue to do so while attending study weekends at nearby De Montfort University. Over this time I've stayed in nearly all of the rooms and have found them all to be very comfortable, both in terms of the beds and the facilities - a sink in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

I stayed here with a friend in october, for a convention taking place in Leicester. I've been completely blown away by the quality of the rooms and how nice the owners are, considering it being one of the cheapest places in Leicester. I can honestly recommend this place to everybody, the standard is higher than any *budget* 2-star hotel (priced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We had a very good night's sleep, on a comfy bed. It was warm once the heating came on, and we were glad we paid extra for the en-suite bathroom with great shower. Breakfast was most welcome, and tasty, although a little slow being made and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Bob the host was very chatty, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

My advice to anyone staying here is to avoid doing so in the winter months, considering how cold it is. You may also want to consider whether you wish to stay in an establishment who’s Basel Forte esq owner is extremely rude about his guests on trip advisor, as amusing as his wild flights of fantasy might be. Not only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

It doesn't matter what you say about me Mark because in the morning I'll still have a good business and you'll still be crazy. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

Stayed at b and b for two nights was going to be a further three and then Monday to Friday but we were shicering in bed at night. Heating is only switched on 6am to 8.30am and 5pm to 8pm and 9pm to 11pm. Hot water was also switched off after these times as no hot water in the bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

As you can see from our many positive reviews all year round, we don't ration either heating or hot water but if, like this couple, you leave the window ajar all night in the dead of winter and fail to turn the thermostat on the radiator up to a temperature which makes you comfortable, I guess you will shiver. It's... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2014

I read great reviews about this b&b but had a less than satisfactory experience just making an enquiry on the phone. I intended to stay one night, leaving at 8.15 the next morning to attend a course locally. From the website I saw that breakfast begins at 8.30 on weekends so I phoned ahead (as advised by the website) to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Tripadvisor is a fabulous site when used judiciously, however, every now and again, some self-important egotistical blowhard will use the service to tell the world how important they are. When this caller disturbed my slumbers to bark at me down the phone, insisting I set my alarm extra early so she could be fed outside normal breakfast hours, I at... More 

Standlake, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

My daughter (age 11) and I arrive around 9pm on a Friday night. We were tired and we were very much looking forward to some good quality sleep and an early, hearty breakfast. Overall the guesthouse is clean, spotless. Our room was big spacious and the beds were very comfortable with thick downy duvets, proper pillows and the room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
yodekid, Owner at Abinger Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Inge It was a pleasure to look after you and your daughter, and, due to the ample notice (9 days), preparing an early breakfast on Saturday was no problem. I'm delighted you found the beds comfortable and the room warm. Hopefully your daughter triumphed in the pool after such a good night's sleep. Bob More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Abinger Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abinger Guest House

Address: 175 Hinckley Road, Leicester LE3 0TF , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Leicester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8

10 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay