We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thornhill Hotel

3.0 of 5 14 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Hotel website
Special Rate
£100.00 2 NIGHTS
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Thornhill Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Thornhill Hotel
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
73
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (170)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Stayed here one night on the 15th November. . Run by a lovely couple who Couldn't do enough to make our stay enjoy able. . . Free secure parking so No worries about leaving the car. . Nice clean bright room and a perfectly cooked breakfast. . . Would recommended to every one

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking time to write your review of your stay with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your weekend and look forward to seeing you again in 2015. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Booked last minute for illumination weekend, made a good choice. Car safely parked at rear of Hotel which is a bonus to start with. The room was excellent, clean, tidy and very well decorated with small but adequate shower and toilet. The hotel was situated in the central of Blackpool just off the seafront so away from the hustle and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. It was so nice having you stay with us and that you were happy with your stay, I will certainly book a lower floor for you next time, just give me a call. More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

I should make it clear from the outset that I do not wish to detract from the pros of this hotel (and there are many), but merely wished to share my opinion. Booking this B&B for a short stay in Blackpool seemed like a no-brainer when I read the glowing TA reviews, especially after a previous disappointing stay elsewhere, however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations, I think that you can not please everyone all the time, ! ! However I do think that we provide good value for your money . More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Stayed during half term holidays for 3 nights. There is parking at back of hotel which is brilliant no worrying about where to park. We had a lovely top floor en-suite room which was very comfortable and spotless. Breakfast was at 9 o'clock and we were asked what we would like on arrival;I am unable to eat fried eggs and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Guests, Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. We do offer guests other options with their breakfasts so this is not a problem Hope to see you again next year. More 

Horden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We picked this hotel on the strength of reviews that we had read. Everything that was written was true. We honestly could not of chosen a better hotel than this one. We were greeted at the door by the lovely Gaynor and then Steve, who was the other half of the perfect pair of hosts even parked my car at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you so very much for your really great review. We were happy to hear from you both that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Thornhill, and that the Ground Floor was up to your expectations. Look forward to seeing you again. More 

Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Just came returned home from the thornhill after a 2 night stay on the 26 & 27 of october. On arrival we were greeted by gaynor and steve who are both great hosts, happy to either stop and chat or to leave you to do as you please, Steve took our cases up to the room, When we entered the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to do us a really great review. We appreciate your comments and it was our pleasure having you stay with us, especially as you were both so Thankful of what we offer at the Thornhill. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Just back from the Thornhill and have to say this place is an absolute pleasure to stay in .Very warm and welcoming .The hotel is absolutely spotless the room we had was a very good size and has everything you require for your weekend break. The hosts are two of the most nicest people you could wish to meet and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Guests, Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate your comments and glad that you choose to stay with us at the Thornhill. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights in August whilst visiting family. The room was on the small side but was clean and had everything we could want. It was also quiet at night. The car parking out the back is very helpful. The hosts were not intrusive but were available if we needed them. The interior is nicely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your detailed review we really do appreciate the time you have taken. We look forward to seeing you both again in Blackpool. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Just returned home from a great stay with steve and gaynor. As all other reviews it was fantastic! I won't be staying anywhere else when I'm in Blackpool again. They were both very welcoming and if steve didn't have to cook my breakfast in the morning id buy him a pint or 2! Cheers guys!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests. Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that The Thornhill met your expectation's and that you celebrated your Anniversary with great memories. See you next year. More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

I enjoyed my fourth stay at the Thornhill. Gaynor and Steve are great hosts and really look after you. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Steve's breakfasts are legendary!! I stayed in a different room this time, room 6 which was just as comfortable as room 2 and immaculately clean as is the whole hotel. The free car park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
gaynor01, Owner at Thornhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, A very big thank you from us both at the Thornhill for your superb review again. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us once again. I do agree the Fireworks were really superb and can highly recommend seeing them from North Pier . See you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Thornhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Hotel

Address: 14 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Thornhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay