We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Colonial Hotel

465 South Promenade, Blackpool FY4 1AR , England
Hotel amenities
Colonial Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #67 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
HaleyBeth
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    4
    3
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (0)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Myself and my family come back to this hotel every year. First time we have visited since it has been taken over. Staff are lovely, entertainment is great, drinks/ food reasonable prices. Rooms are basic but good enough to get a decent nights sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The only positives about this hotel are - great location on the sea front near The Pleasure Beach. Free parking. Friendly staff and the breakfast was OK... As for the building itself - old filthy carpets throughout, windows hadn't been scrubbed for years! Toilet leaking, taps & shower didn't work properly and broken glass found under the single bed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we found this place whilst looking for a place to stay the charge was £60 for both of us for an overnight stay has in house entertainment free parking rooms are cheap and cheerful but if you are out all day who cares. Breakfast is the usual fruit juice cereal and full English. Staff are very friendly and welcoming we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We moved from a bad hotel and decided to try a seafront hotel, OMG where do I start room was of good size BUT wallpaper torn,curtains torn and dirty, furniture broken and falling apart, we were there 10 days as they refused to give us our money back, place smelt musty and damp, the only evening entertainment was my 9... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
jaz2015on, Owner at Colonial Hotel, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry to see that you didn't enjoy your stay here at the Colonial Hotel. However the hotel has been under new management from March 2015 and the standards have improved. We would encourage you to book again if you visit Blackpool and I am sure you would notice a significant improvement in all areas of the hotel. Regards The... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Took a notion to.go to blackpool for the day .ended up staying the night with my granddaughter and a friend .. basic hotel clean tidy.resonable price .goid entertainment the night i stayed .overal enjoyable stay friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked in here as part of a group for a football tourament ,were do I begin , The smell of decay and damp ,sticky carpets,rooms are smelly nothing works you get a better room In a bostel .with that in mind I was scared to eat the food but was told that was the best bit of it. Book in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Shropshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel's decor is a bit out-dated but is very clean and well kept. There is no smell of damp or mould mildew that you would expect from an old building. Clean fresh air threw out. Our room was a small enough room but it had a nice en-suite and we wanted for nothing. Most the staff I encountered were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

Stayed for a tournament weekend, was absolutely dreading it due to previous reviews but was proved wrong. Staff were great, provided a meal even though we were late, the waiter in the dining room was quick and efficient. Room was fine, clean only problem was draughty window and no hot water. I wouldn't normally go in a communal shower but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

We all went with are football team to a tournament the staff were sound with the kids running around the place like wild animals, I went with no high standards so was not disappointed it is blackpool after all the only thing I would say if you have bump beds don't sleep on the top bunk drunk as the is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2015

It was useful for us that is very close to Blackpool South train station but it has also parking if anyone needs. Food was good and plenty of it. Just a nice walk to Sandcastle and North Blackpool attractions - we could go on foot with our small daughter both directions.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#42 of 74 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 2,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#10 of 74 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,061 reviews
2.7 mi away
Queens Promenade Hotel
Queens Promenade Hotel
#2 of 74 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#1 of 74 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.7 mi away
By the Beach Hotel
By the Beach Hotel
#66 of 74 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#36 of 74 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay