We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Blackpool hotels

Melville Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 - 72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Melville Hotel to your Saves list
Melville Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
57%
Ranked #58 of 72 hotels in Blackpool
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
yarniedeboer Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (238)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (60)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    61
    32
    26
    45
See reviews for
46
57
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my second stay at the Melville and it's by no means the Hyatt but it does exactly what you want it to do. The rooms are decent enough yet I've never seen any of the rooms as shown in the pictures? The lift didn't work and neither did the card reader so you had to pay by cash.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very poor staff on arrival was very Cock sure of her self no manners what so ever the rooms not ready for us and a big mix up with some of are groups rooms very rude staff would not be booking there again the one good thing. Was the night staff and the dining room staff and service

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived as a hen party (which I've just seen from the manager that they do not admit hen and stag parties..UNTRUE.. We were one of 2 parties.. the other being 25 stags.) on Saturday at around 12.30, we were unable to get into all of our rooms as they were still being cleaned, but 3 were available so we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cheshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff at the Melville are very friendly and helpful and the place is reasonably clean, but the room that we were in (room 51) was at the far end of the 2nd floor (not good when I had asked about disabled access when booking) the room was very small and in the heat it was stifling. The bathroom was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

so, many of you read my reviews. so i'm going to be honest and use part of this contribution from my fiancee who wants to ensure we capture all aspects of the visit. Booked this weekend through a Voucher Deal and it was the first time we'd done things this way. The description of "luxury sea-front hotel" raised my expectations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
shipley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me n the wife stayed for 2 nights on a wowcher deal that she got off the net and form the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were just brilliant, from telling us where the best car parking was to be had , to sorting taxis and giving information and directions to where the best shows and local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for one night at weekend. Rooms a bit dated but very clean and had everything you needed. Staff were excellent and brekkie was tasty. Hotel was right in town so perfect for our night out. Very good price. Will deffo be back next time I am in Blackpool. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a break at this Hotel 8th 9th July ..on Wowcher offer £59 for two nights 2 ppl ,with breakfast ,location is excellent to all theatres,restaurants,shopping galore.hotel is clean and comfortable,very friendly pleasant staff..could not fault it,beautiful dining room,breakfast excellent,,lovely bar,would definantly book this hotel again,,Thankyou Melville for a lovely stay..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On a recent visit to blackpool we had the misfortune to book the melville as our hotel for the night after a theatre visit. The room was more akin to a hostel fixtures fittings all in disrepair room missing toilet roll and tea and milk this room was also dirty empty coke bottles dead moths and clumps of what may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you Mr Langton for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.. Good or Bad we always welcome the comments of the guests that have stayed with us..I would like to offer our apologies that on this occasion you did not receive The fantastic Melville Experience that i know we do so well..... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took a gamble on this budget hotel for a quick short break in Blackpool, and so glad I did! I do not associate my experience with the recent reviews. It isn't really fair to judge an hotel based on the stupidity of other guests. It is not the Hilton, but it is a taste of the old-school Blackpool, and it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Melville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Address: 70 - 72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Melville Hotel and other travelers.
1 question

See which rooms travelers prefer