We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Blackpool hotels

Melville Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 - 72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Melville Hotel to your Saves list
Melville Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
58%
Ranked #58 of 72 hotels in Blackpool
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (234)
  • Photos (6)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (59)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    61
    30
    25
    44
See reviews for
46
56
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

so, many of you read my reviews. so i'm going to be honest and use part of this contribution from my fiancee who wants to ensure we capture all aspects of the visit. Booked this weekend through a Voucher Deal and it was the first time we'd done things this way. The description of "luxury sea-front hotel" raised my expectations... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shipley
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Me n the wife stayed for 2 nights on a wowcher deal that she got off the net and form the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were just brilliant, from telling us where the best car parking was to be had , to sorting taxis and giving information and directions to where the best shows and local... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night at weekend. Rooms a bit dated but very clean and had everything you needed. Staff were excellent and brekkie was tasty. Hotel was right in town so perfect for our night out. Very good price. Will deffo be back next time I am in Blackpool. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had a break at this Hotel 8th 9th July ..on Wowcher offer £59 for two nights 2 ppl ,with breakfast ,location is excellent to all theatres,restaurants,shopping galore.hotel is clean and comfortable,very friendly pleasant staff..could not fault it,beautiful dining room,breakfast excellent,,lovely bar,would definantly book this hotel again,,Thankyou Melville for a lovely stay..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On a recent visit to blackpool we had the misfortune to book the melville as our hotel for the night after a theatre visit. The room was more akin to a hostel fixtures fittings all in disrepair room missing toilet roll and tea and milk this room was also dirty empty coke bottles dead moths and clumps of what may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to thank you Mr Langton for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.. Good or Bad we always welcome the comments of the guests that have stayed with us..I would like to offer our apologies that on this occasion you did not receive The fantastic Melville Experience that i know we do so well..... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a gamble on this budget hotel for a quick short break in Blackpool, and so glad I did! I do not associate my experience with the recent reviews. It isn't really fair to judge an hotel based on the stupidity of other guests. It is not the Hilton, but it is a taste of the old-school Blackpool, and it's... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Northants
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

4 of us had a weekend-2 nights staying at this hotel. The staff were really lovely and so was the breakfast. The rooms were clean and adequate for the money we paid. It was such a shame the very drunk large 'old enough to know better' rugby team staying there at the same time were so badly behaved banging on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments here, firstly i would like to thank you for your positive comments in regards to the staff and the hotel itself, it makes a big difference to us all to know that people notice when we are trying our best and really WANT to make the experience as... More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is not what it looks like on the pictures. Its really small, old fashioned and the bed was so uncomfortable, it was like sleeping on springs. Staff arguing really loudly at breakfast time, of an evening it was understaffed same person on receptions as the bar. I also had a dead fly on my fried egg at breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review following your stay with us here at The Melville Hotel. Having looked back through our Daily Diary i cannot see any entries from yourself in regards to any complaints as mentioned within your write up. In regards to being understaffed, we are a family run hotel and try our best... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On first arriving we got to reception and the duty manager went to book us in after telling us that the hotel car park was full, £10 or £7 depending on days. While my friend moved the car to the outdoor car park just up the road i started checking us in. We had a Go-Groopy voucher £69 for 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your writing your very detailed review. Unfortunatley when a booking is made via an outside booking channel such as booking.com, we are NOT allowed to just cancel a room off we have to either put it down as No Show to them or let the customer know that to cancel it this must be done via booking.com... More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my wife for two nights, our room was like a box room with a back street view we got in our room at 3.30 to see a couple making out at the back of another hotel in broad daylight I'm glad we didn't have our grandchildren with us, the noise at 5.30 in the morning from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I can only apologies for the problems that you incurred during your stay here at The Melville Hotel that are actually out of our control.. I have spoken to the hotel at the back of us to inform them of what you saw from your room and have requested that... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Melville Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Melville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Hotel

Address: 70 - 72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Melville Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Melville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Hotel Blackpool

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
57

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer