We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melville Hotel

70 - 72 Adelaide Street, Blackpool FY1 4LA, England
Hotel amenities
Melville Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #61 of 74 Hotels in Blackpool
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Stacey C
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    86
    51
    36
    62
See reviews for
54
93
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (326)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very friendly day and night staff.very comfy beds.best nights sleep ever.altho the inside does need a good clean and decorating. I can see past that so i will be staying there again as its just behind the blackpool tower.should maybe think about getting a games room for kids as my son needed something to do on the night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Before booking at the Melville for the first time, I read many reviews which were a real mixed bag. Many slating it as being old and tired etc, with not many positives. I have thoroughly enjoyed both stays here. One in February and one this weekend in May. We did a wowcher deal which cost £59 for 2 adults for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Rude arrogant receptionist Don't take card payment had to walk with kids n cases to nearest cash machine No parking Filthy room huge hair ball in middle of room made kids keep shoes on it was so dirty Couldn't wait to leave awful decor like a bad bedsit never again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The trollop of a receptionist from this hotel decided to take it upon herself to try and show my husband 'a good time'. Even though she knew he had a 9 month pregnant wife. Stay at your own peril but keep your husbands close.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was a bit small but spotless clean. Bed was very comfy and good breakfast. You get what you pay for.If you want the Dorchester then go and pay 5 star prices. Would deffo recommended. Nothing wrong with the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in this hotel in a party of 33 for 3 nights , staff couldn't do enough for us, extremely friendly and the breakfast was excellent. Rooms were clean and the maid visited every day. Not one of our party had a bad word to say during our stay and thoroughly enjoyed the long weekend. We would highly recommend you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is perfectly located with a 2 minute walk to the shops and a 5 minute walk to the beach front and tower. The rooms are dry, warm and clean, maybe not the most modern and ours lacked a shower but for the price paid what else would you expect. For a group of lads it was perfect. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at the Melville in December, we had stayed there before and that was are reason for staying again! Room wasn't very big, no much room for manoeuvring! Bathroom is dates definately needs updating! Bed was too low.. Not very comfortable but overall was cheap and cheerful only stayed the 1 night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Very friendly Helen& Sean we're so helpful. All staff cheerful& smiling.room was clean, tidy& comfy beds. Clean towels daily. Looking forward to our next stay. Great experience for my first visit to Blackpool.

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

The worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. I strayed in a few youth hostels as a student and they were better. Not cheap either, you can stay at the Hilton for the same or less. Don't be fooled by the pictures, take your money elsewhere, thankfully I had packed cleaning wipes, I certainly needed them!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
melville70-72, Manager at Melville Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, i knew that after your husband had been to see me on the morning AFTER you had stayed with us in the hotel demanding a refund as he said you were UNABLE to stay that we would receive a review like this from yourselves. Having explained to your husband, and offered our apology that the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay