We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 878 Blackpool B&Bs / inns

The World Hotel

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Lansdowne Place | Northshore, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The World Hotel to your Saves list
The World Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
78%
Ranked #436 of 878 Blackpool B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    14
    4
    3
    8
See reviews for
13
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of 16 ladies stayed here this weekend for my sisters 40th. Hotel was lovely and clean. Staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough for us. Breakfast was lovely. Will definitely book here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My first thoughts when I opened the door to the B&B was "oh my god, it smells so bad". The family seem nice but should think about their appearance and really need to sort the smell out in the hall. The rooms are clean and smell nice so I don't know why this can't be done in the rest of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wrexham
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

As we walk through main entrance family member was stood smoking.. the hall stank of stail smoke... the rooms are nothing like the photos are shown... the rooms smelt awful and had no refreshners in there only empty ones... all the staff were to busy on the laptop when our friends stood outside waited 10 mins until I went down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-world-hotel-bpl, Manager at The World Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly Thank you for your review, there are a few comments i would like to respond to, the "smoking" Yes we do sometimes smoke outside the front of the building as we live on site and do not smoke inside the building i am sorry this has offended you. the rooms look nothing like the photo`s, the only room that... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I stay over in Blackpool at least 2/4 times a year and have stayed in many of the B&B's, Guest Houses and Hotels. This hotel is obviously a budget hotel, and offers average service and facilities for a budget price. The Service was OK, and breakfast was nice although very crammed into a very small basement room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-world-hotel-bpl, Manager at The World Hotel, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review, our dining room does seat enough people for when we are at full capacity however this makes it slightly cramped therefore in the busy periods we do sometimes need to ask people to wait a little while to be seated as this is sometimes the case we allow 1 hour sometimes... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just got back from a 2night stay with my two friends. The family who own the hotel are lovely and they all made us feel welcome and were all polite. The rooms were clean and tidy and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was gorgeous and I'm usually fussy, but there breakfast was definitely first class. I would definitely recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Just back from 4 nights with my wife and 2 girls,had a resort pass and was just looking for a place to get my head down.This place was the cheapest place on late rooms so booked it and didnt expect much.It was above expectations. was advertised as continental breakfast but got the best choice of breakfast Ive had at a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My son and I stayed here for 3 nights in august the family which run it were all very friendly and helpful rooms were clean and tidy.They kept asking us if there was anything they could do for us.As they were just new to the business they were wanting feedback good or bad although I could find nothing to complain... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Just left today after our 2nd great spell here and once again we were met by lovely friendly family friends , we were down for 3 nights just to get away from home and the kids haha . Top marks from us again 10 out of 10. See you all soon and tell the chef great omellette once again .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Not usually where we would stay but perfect location for what we wanted. Bargain stay with breakfast included which was great. Rooms in the hotel overall do need updating but the new owners know that and are trying to build their customer base up first. Owners can't do enough to help and nothing is too much trouble! Can't complain really,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-world-hotel-bpl, Manager at The World Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review Laura you were a pleasure to have stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future, we are sorry the bar was not open during your stay we are hoping to get this up and running as soon as possible, we are aware that areas need updating we are looking at... More

Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and was VERY disappointed of how the hotel looked in day light compared to the photos on trivargo. Our room was very small and not what we expected. The owners have recently taken over this year apparently so are perhaps finding their feet. As soon as you arrive there is a sign which says... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
The-world-hotel-bpl, Manager at The World Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your review however i would like to point out we don't have a sign that says "NO REFUNDS" im not sure where you saw that, the only information we have up regarding anything similar is the booking regulations which is standard cancellation. I`m not 100% sure which room you stayed in, the odd shaped broom cupboard as... More

Been to The World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The World Hotel

Address: 1 Lansdowne Place | Northshore, Blackpool FY1 1SB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 878 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The World Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The world hotel is under new management as of 16th january 2013 (we are nothing to do with the new world hotel)we have 10 en-suite bedrooms, this hotel was previously run as a woman only hotel, we have decided to change this to couples and families and female groups sorry no stag parties! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.