We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Metropole Hotel

Princess Parade, Blackpool FY1 1RQ, England
Hotel amenities
Grand Metropole Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #65 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Roger K Accrington, United Kingdom
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    520
    436
    338
    673
See reviews for
476
1,017
87
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2283)
  • Mar-May only
    (525)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (617)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (647)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (494)
All months
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Positives: location is gorgeous right on the see front. But to be honest that's were it ends. Negatives: Upon arrival (which was a late one seen as the check in time was a very out dated 3PM) there was a slight wait in a very small queue as the receptionist were very slow and lacking in energy ( this however... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bedlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel needs closing down ! Bedrooms are filthy and need a full refurbishment. IE stained ceilings where rain has leaked in, plaster coving missing in parts,filter tips behind beds,duvet covers split, six requests over 2 days for heating to be switched on as room was freezing, I could go on. Bathroom, no hot water despite several complaints, black mould... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. More 

bradford
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

just had four days here I asked for adapted room when we arrived checked in found out the room was not adapted went back to reception told they didn't have one .why did they take my booking if they didn't have what I ask for .was told we could go to a sister hotel but it was too far out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. More 

Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the Metropole Hotel three times on short breaks, and had three different rooms and have been pleased with all three. The food in the restaurant is good and varied, with a buffet type breakfast. The Victorian features throughout the hotel are stunning and well maintained. We love it and will be returning, and would recommend a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. I was pleased to read that you... More 

huddersfield
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

6 months since we visited the Metropole and the difference in standards is obvious. The place was freezing cold everywhere. Porridge was taken off the menu while we were there. Dinner menus and breakfast menus were ok but fat laden. Not healthy. Entertainment was up to standard and most of the staff went the extra mile but I fear its... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
durham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went on a weekend break with my wife and another couple we booked through National Holidays i believe the same person owns them both.We stayed for two nights bed breakfast and evening meal the food was very good rooms simple but clean and comfortable.It is a large old hotel in need of updating like lots of accommodation in Blackpool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. I was pleased to read that you... More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

One positive about this hotel is the location and that's it. Over priced and old fashioned, rooms really poor standard with a TV the size of a postage stamp with 5 fuzzy channels on it. Walked in and booked just be aware check booking.com first because found it at a cheaper rate. Breakfast was vile don't even bother I suggest... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. More 

Blyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have just come back from visiting the Grand National at Aintree, which was great. The weekend was booked with National Holidays. We stayed at a the Grand Metropole hotel in Blackpool. I did not expect this place to be very good as some reviews were not complimentary. To be honest this does not pretend to be a four star... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been passed on to the Staff. Its good to get a balanced view on these matters. Sometimes one has to experience the Hotel for them selves rather than rely on dubious inaccurate reports. I was pleased to read that you... More 

1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An absolute joke of an establishment! 1. Management who can't manage. 2. Rude reception staff who can't admit to been liable for money been stolen out of my room, because they checked in a couple of young lads and gave them our room!! Long story but it was a police matter. 3. No offer of any sort of apology when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the BRITANNIA GRAND METROPOLE hotel for the convenience of location to a show we where going to see for my in-laws birthday, as walking a distance is a bit problematic. I had read many reviews on the hotel and thought it was worth a punt. A plus for the hotel - plenty of parking - at £3 a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joepiper, General Manager at Grand Metropole Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies for those aspects of your stay that you were un-happy with. Your comments about the disappointing elements of you stay have been de-briefed with the appropriate personnel and corrective action taken as necessary. Regards, Francis Sheridan. General Manager. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

426 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (413)
Viewed
Room/suite (118)
Viewed
Bathroom (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (60)
Viewed
View from room (20)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Other (146)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question