We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Newlands Hotel

40 Bairstow street, Blackpool FY1 5BN, England
The Newlands Hotel
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
33
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (140)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (45)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (46)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time here but will certainly be going back, very clean and comfortable and phill and heather made us very welcome. Breakfast was lovely and service excellent, lovely hotel and lovely people hope to see you soon cathy and bryce

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind review Cathy / Bryce; it's great to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us at The Newlands. We certainly had a great crowd in for Easter this year. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future. All the best & take care, Phil & Heather. More 

Chatham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

A big thankyou to Phil and Heather for being so welcoming and accomodating. made my stay in Blackpool so enjoyable. Room was clean and cosy with all you need ; tea/coffee, TV,en-suite and very comfortable bed at a very reasonable price and central location.Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Loved the real ales too!! Cheers guys

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind review Helga. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we helped to make your first ever visit to Blackpool an enjoyable one. Hope to see you again some time in the future. Best wishes, Phil & Heather. More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015 via mobile

Our stay at the Newlands hotel was absolutely brill.... Stayed here quite a few times now n wouldn't stop anywhere else in Blackpool. Heather n Phil are lovely friendly people n make you feel so welcome n nothing is to much for them.... The rooms are clean with lovely decor, the food is lovely to ya can't beat their full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your kind comments. We always appreciate it when guests take time from their busy schedules to add a review for us. Great to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us & hopefully you will enjoy many more in the future. All the best and hope to see you again soon. Phil & Heather More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We stayed at the Newlands for two nights. We went as strangers but left as friends. We would recommend staying here with its warm and friendly atmosphere and the rooms are clean and nice decor. The food is excellent as are the host's Heather and Phil. They went out of there way to help . Thank you for a truly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review Sarah / Dan, we appreciate it. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Valentines break with us and we hope to see you both again in the near future (perhaps with the kids)? All the best, Phil & Heather More 

liverpool
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
874 helpful votes 874 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

me and other half stayed at newlands hotel over new years 3 nytes in room 8 we stayes lovely family room heather and phill looked after us they even got me on karioke machine that was funny great nytes in the bar they also put a spread of food on for us wich was amazen we had plenty of food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for leaving us another review Ronnie / Carla, it is nice to know that you are still enjoying your visits to the Newlands. We really enjoyed your company over the New Year period & we are looking forward to seeing you again Valentines weekend. Take care both of you. Phil & Heather. More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

We stayed at the newlanbds for the first time this year and it was the best Xmas break we have ever had in Blackpool, the hosts are brilliant the food was first class, great. entertainment, we will never stay anywhere else when we visit Blackpool in the future and would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave a comment for us Pat / Ken, it is appreciated. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over the Christmas period, we always enjoy the Xmas break (especially when we get a great crowd of people in like we had this year). We both enjoyed your company & hope... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Phil and Heather fantastic people who run a home from home service nothing to much trouble. Feel as though we have known them years. Certainly will be going back to stay and would recommend a holiday with them to anyone. Food really good. You can see your food being prepared. Rooms very clean hospitality. Second to none. Thanks to Phil... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving us such a kind review, we are always happy to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. Glad that you liked being able to see your food being cooked. We removed the door to the kitchen for that reason, everyone can see exactly where & how their food is cooked & can see... More 

Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Yet again phil and heather excel themselves in the service they provide this was my 5th 6th or 7th visit I'm not sure which one but the service and the hospitality are second to none a lovely cosy room and bar and fantastic breakfasts every day I can't say enough good things about the Newlands you would be a fool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review Barry, it's always great to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us here at the Newlands. We've had a quick check back & it was your sixth stay with us since 2009 (71 days in total). We both enjoy your company & we look forward to seeing you again next October - don't... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Stayed at the Newlands hotel from the 2nd october this year till 7th october we came up to see the lights as we like phil and heather food as allways was great from breakfast to if you would like to eat in the bar be it pie chips and beans too a pasta dish or just a burger and chips... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind comments Glenn, it was great to see Wendy and yourself again. Checked out your last review; it was 2004 - we can't believe that you have been coming for 10 years now, how time flies. See you both next year...........and have a good Christmas & New Year yourselves. Cheers, Phil & Heather. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Myself and my wife have stayed at the Newlands hotel a good few times now and it has always been excellent this time we took our 2 girls and they loved it Phil and heather once again made us all welcome couldn't ask for a better hotel and the breakfasts are always amazing. A massive thanks to Phil and heather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phil_Heather, Owner at The Newlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving a review Dougie / Clair, we appreciate it. Great to see you both again & to meet the girls - hope they enjoyed Blackpool. Look forward to seeing you again soon - let us know when baby 'Dougie' gets here! Take care, Phil & Heather. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/play areas (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question