We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

New Douglas Hotel

9-11 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
New Douglas Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    38
    8
    1
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (57)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (14)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed August for one night as a large group of women cheap price and obviously no frills for such low price we shared a room which was clean but basic, bed not very comfy however only staying one night it was bearable the people who run the place are kind and friendly and the bar is decent. Has Wi-fi.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was reassured by the landlady that I would not hear any music after 11.00pm. I asked about residents wanting to use the bar after that time, she again said it doesn't happen at this time of year. Saturday night was dreadful, with a large hen party and other groups staying over night, drink was obviously being served. Why put... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here as part of a hen weekend deal. The staff bent over backwards for us, very friendly, very kind. The bar was nice and great prices, the breakfast was perfect for such a good price, the rooms were clean and tidy and had all we needed. We really enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Croxton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Stayed for a couple of nights in June. As a gay couple I was a little apprehensive but I need not have worried. We had a very warm welcome, and invited in to deal with paperwork. Our room was very clean and tidy and the bed was nice and confortable. The owners could not have been more helpfull and nothing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

The only place I know, that knew there was a party of 20 booked in, expecting a full English breakfast on the Sunday morning, who were told on arriving down to breakfast that there were NO eggs. Beans and tomatoes served with the breakfast were cold. Basic roof over your head for the night B & B have stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015 via mobile

We went to Blackpool for my sisters hen night, we booked the hotel through awesome weekends,please don't bother. On arrival we were met by the manager who was still in her pjs not impressed we we had to pay £10 good behaviour bound which we were never told about by awesome weekends, we wemt to our rooms basic which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Just got back from staying at the New Douglas hotel for my hen weekend. Myself and 17 of my friends had booked through an organisation which specialises in hen weekends. To be honest I knew we would be staying in a basic hotel, but did expect the basics to be met. I had contacted the hotel prior to arrival to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DawnTurnbull, Manager at New Douglas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you booked through a party specialist(Awesome Weekend)s you would expect a basic bed and breakfast which is what we are, however I don't know what you would expect for expect for £17.50. It is standard policy to ask for a bond and check rooms before before returning bond, from... More 

Brundall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

Stayed here recently for a large family gathering. Received a very warm welcome on arrival. Hotel was lovely and clean. Music and a sing song in the bar before we headed out. Breakfast was lovely. central based which is really good. Thanks to the staff for a great weekend. I will be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

stayed in Blackpool for our hen do had to pay a bond but we understood handed our £10 each back the next day hotel was fine we were offered karaoke and sung after a few drinks some of us had smoking rooms which was a great releaf nice breakfast to wake up to i might book again in the winter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 via mobile

Hen weekend with the girls on a cheap package deal so wasn't expecting the Hilton. Not impressed at all none of our rooms had been cleaned bathroom floors filthy and hairy??? Bed sheets stained. Splatters of something up bathroom doors. Overall musty smell on landings. Breakfast was ok but again cutlery and crockery dirty. None of the kettles worked in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DawnTurnbull, Manager at New Douglas Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you was not happy with your stay with us, however I feel the review you left was unfair. If the accommodation was not to your liking you should have spoken to the staff right away. All rooms are cleaned and checked before guest arrival, the rooms were all clean and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#10 of 74 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#37 of 74 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 917 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#1 of 74 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#43 of 74 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 2,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#186 of 914 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#357 of 914 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay