We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 Alexandra Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Holmlea to your Saves list
Holmlea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
98%
Ranked #89 of 889 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Tracie_Ryan Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (75)
  • Photos (8)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (16)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Big thanks to Andy and Irene for our lovely break at the Holmlea. We stayed for 2 nights and the room was spacious, clean with comfortable beds and ample storage space. Andy and Irene were helpful and friendly throughout our stay and the breakfast was great. Cereal, juice and a full English were just what we needed prior to hitting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Just arrived back from our second family stay at the Holmlea and once again we had an amazing time. We enjoyed ourselves so much last time that we booked for two nights this time rather than one and was so glad that we did, our little lady wants to stay for 10 nights next time so you've got her vote... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Holmlea last weekend in a family room ,it was lovely and clean and very spacious :) We got a lovely welcome from Andy and nothing was too much trouble . Sue and Irene are great with the kids at breakfast. The breakfast choice is great and my partner enjoyed the big fry ups . It's great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SCOTLAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from few days staying at the b&b. Very difficult to find a good b&b in Blackpool suitable for kids, with big family rooms, car parking, central and good value but this did all that. Very impressed with the brand spanking new refurbished room, few snagging still required but Andy let us know this as soon as we arrived... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Holmlea. Sue,Andy and Irene are perfect and will do anything to make your stay at Blackpool as comfortable and pleasurable as possible. Excellent place to stay. Holmlea is a "grand old lady" that's in safe hands. Full breakfast is awesome. Hope we get back again soon The watts family

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this review

We love the idea of being 'local legends'! What a lovely review :-) Feedback like yours makes all our hard work so worthwhile! We all work super hard to make a visit to our home something special, and it's so lovely to know that it is appreciated - thank you! We believe Blackpool has all you could want, from theatre,... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have to say the welcome is spot on but was actually very disappointed in Blackpool overall.The room was very clean but the old fashioned shower was very outdated..and not electric as you would expect.The breakfast was average but plenty on offer considering the very fair price.All in all Holmlea is a good Bed and Breakfast but 5 stars..not so sure

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this review

Hello Tony! Thank you for taking time to offer us some feedback! We always take feedback very seriously, as it tells us where we do well and where we can improve. It's difficult isn't it - balancing value for money with expectation? We welcome everyone in the same enthusiastic way - honestly! Because we really do love having guests come... More

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights excellent location,lovely room nicely decorated and a great breakfast. The nicest staff I have ever met in a b and b anywhere really friendly and welcoming. Thanks for a lovely stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this review

Well we're beaming! We certainly want to be the best we can, and as Andrew has only been opened 12 months it's so nice to hear guests say we're their best! He has lots of plans so that bit by bit he can make Holmlea even nicer - so come back again and watch what he does! He's in the... More

cumbria
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here Thursday night , the b&b is lovely & very clean to. Andy was very friendly & I think his wife very nice to. In the evening we sat in lounge for a hour & she brought us a tray of tea in & chatted to us. Breakfast was lovely lots to choose from. Our room was a family... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this review

How nice to hear such lovely words! We really do love welcoming our guests to our home, and chatting to them - that's what we like to do! We try to exceed expectations, and making parking available is part of that -we don't charge you on top of your holiday cost. We want all our guests to come and enjoy... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stopped 31st July with a friend & our 2 children for the night (Shopping trip). The B&B is beautiful & Clean. Our room was bright & very roomy. Andy was a lovely man & did everything he could nothing was to much. The bonus is having parking at the b&b to. Breakfast was very nice with lots of choice. Will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this review

Thanks Dawn! Andrew works super hard to give guests a super time, so it's really appreciated that you took time out to say how much you valued that. And we love changing people's perceptions of what a Blackpool B&B can be like! As you found, Blackpool is also great for a shopping break - there's so much to do here!... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked in for 2 days on the 20th July...hadn't been to Blackpool for over 10 years last time b&b was old fashioned smelled and had really bad decor...After reading reviews booked and thought would give it a go...homelea itself is very clean tidy and modern staff were great always happy and eager to help...when was shown to room it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this review

Well Lynne - what can I say? Sounds like we got the kiddy seal of approval! brilliant! And thank you for all the kind words! Irene :-) More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holmlea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holmlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlea

Address: 21 Alexandra Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Holmlea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Blackpool with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blackpool has a newly re-opened Guesthouse - and already with fab reviews! Look at our pictures and you'll see why - generous and well proportioned rooms, new beds, crisp white sheets, relaxing decor. No beds against walls here! And all our Superior Double rooms have Kingsize beds. Every room is ensuite. Even children get proper beds! You get free access to WiFi, and we give you free off road parking (but book quick - places go fast!)Book direct and get our best deals.Better still - No seasonal increases! And 2 Children under 12 go FREE ALL YEAR in our family rooms. Yes - you heard right. That's why we're quickly becoming very popular! Read our reviews on here, also on our Facebook page - Holmlea Guesthouse Blackpool, and you'll hear just how hard we work to give you what you want: great rooms, great value, and great customer care. At Holmlea you'll be well-fed, well-treated, and well cared for; because we want to make sure that you come back again and again and again..... We're small and family run, so you know you'll get our undivided attention. Re-opened by father and son - Andrew and Rick; they are passionate about making Holmlea a first class Blackpool B&B. They use their experience of running pubs, a restaurant, and a countryside Inn in Wales, as well as large Scout camps! Holmlea is an inviting and traditional Edwardian building, still retaining some of its original features; and located in one of the popular, quieter, and traditional holiday streets based in South Shore - ideally located between the Pleasure beach and Tower, and for the many attractions that range from the Opera House, the Winter Gardens, The Ice Shows, Concerts, the Illuminations ....The list goes on ! Then return and relax in comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, or in our inviting lounge. All our rooms have ensuite facilities, TV, tea & coffee making facilities, plentiful towels, complementary toiletries, and a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
6

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holmlea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer