We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   383 - 385 South Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BH, England
Hotel amenities
Hotel Athol
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Athol to your Saves list
Ranked #649 of 894 Blackpool B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nigel L Bromley, United Kingdom
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    10
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (52)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Look if you want 5 star accommodation and gourmet food this is not for you but if what you are looking for is amazing value a great location and a really friendly hotel then you can't go too far wrong. The rooms are basic and if I had one real bit advise, Karl sort the showers out mine never really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Both my husband and myself would just like to say a big "Thank you" to Chris, Carl and all the lovely Staff for making our weekend stay so great. Even though our coach finally pulled up outside Hotel Athol over 4 hours late for dinner, the Staff had stayed late to serve our 3 course evening meal which was greatly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
rotherham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at this hotel several times, every one is friendly. The food is not bad, never had cold food only salad, If you dont like what is on the menu they will do their best to accommodate you.We did find this time however that the hotel is looking very tired, and the house maids could do a better... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had never been to Blackpool before, and prior to leaving, we were advised by colleagues, to lower our expectations of the Hotel, since it would not be like hotels that we are accustomed to. With this in mind, we were not expecting 5 star standards, but thought at the least the basics would be adequate. Hospitality; the male owner... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a lovely time at the Athol,couldn't have wished for more lovely owners,friendly staff,good food,great entertainment,all for next to nothing with coach pick up thrown in too.....shall we be returning,no doubt about it,see you next year!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I wasn't impressed with hotel athol. I found the rooms to be basic and not particularly clean. The food was not to a great standard so I didn't take all of my meals there. My main complaint though is about the owner. I found the tone in which she spoke to me to be unacceptable and as a previous comment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I haven't stayed here, but I was due to arrive in 8 days time, the manager rang me from her mobile for my security number as the fax from late rooms had missed it off. She left a voicemail telling me she was taking payment now as they were busy, although late rooms states payment 2 days prior to arrival.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chris V, Owner at Hotel Athol, responded to this review

I am really sorry that this has happened to you,but I know it was not this hotel,I think you have the wrong Athol hotel as there are 2 .We are on the promenade.Hope you get it sorted. Thanks Chris More

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This weekend I travelled to Blackpool with Britannia Coaches. Having never visited Blackpool I was quite excited. We arrived Hotel Athol to a warm welcome from hotel owners Chris & Carl who through out our groups stay were always at hand always helpful & quite honestly a very genuine friendly couple. The rooms are of a good size, clean &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Positives... Entertainment in the evenings was good and the bar stayed open as long as the residents wanted. Unfortunately that is where the positives end! A group of us stayed in the athol for the weekend and never ever do I wish to step foot in such a dive again. The hotel was filthy dirty and the manageress was nothing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Chris V, Owner at Hotel Athol, responded to this review

I feel I must reply to your comment as it is a total pack of lies,just to clear up a few points you have raised.Firstly this hotel is definitely not Filthy dirty,we employ cleaners who work very hard everyday to keep the hotel clean. We find it strange that you were the only couple who found cause for complaint out... More

Valley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Athol with my family of 4 (2 Adults and 2 kids age 4 yrs and 10 months) The hotel staff were friendly and did offer local advice. We were asked to leave our car keys in the office as the cars are packed together on a drive way and if someone needs to get out, other cars... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Been to Hotel Athol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Athol

Address: 383 - 385 South Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #649 of 894 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Athol 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Athol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Athol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.