We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cameo

Hotel website
30 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cameo
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Cameo
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (41)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

For the price this hotel is good. When you pay £45 per night you don't expect the Hilton and I think that some people can be far too critical. Janet was very friendly and welcomed us all in a prompt fashion. The room was nice. Small bathroom, but well laid out for the space available. The hotel was also very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the breakfasts! You're right! I can't do anything about the very few establishments in the surrounding area who still take stag and hen parties (who tend to be up until most people's breakfast time) but unfortunately, it only takes one large, rowdy group to keep the whole... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited here for the weekend, on arrival we were locked out the b&b for 30 mins as the owner had gone out. The place is clean and tidy, Janet runs the place alone and does a good job of breakfast although the portions are bit shy. If you drink alcohol your best off telling her in advance as doesn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, even if I do find it unduly negative. The only reason I was out (max. 20 mins.) was because I wasn't expecting you to arrive several hours earlier than you had originally told me. I checked my emails immediately before I went out and the email you sent whilst you were on route hadn't reached... More 

derbyshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2015

Hi what a lovely three days we spent at this b+b rooms spotless food excellent Janet is such a lovely person This b+b allow small dogs as I took mine as long as they are good and don't make to much noise The only prob you will have is parking on the street but I suppose that's blackpool for you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you, Julie for your lovely review. The dogs were no bother! At least Yorkies don't shed hair everywhere! Pleased you enjoyed your stay. More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

I recently stayed at the Cameo with two adults with learning disabilities. I found the owner to be personable, and completely at home talking to my clients like anyone else, which is rare. The breakfast was prompt and good, there is a tight window for breakfast, but as it's all made fresh i understand and it tasted good for it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thanks for your favourable (and very detailed) review! I'm really pleased that you and your 'charges' enjoyed your stay and appreciated the facilities and service. I have a nasty habit of treating people with 'special needs' as normal, run of the mill guests; after all, they've paid to stay here and deserve the same service and courtesy as anyone else!... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Good quality and value for money guest house. Room was clean,tidy,modernised, comfortable bed and ideal en-suite.Breakfast was spot on with plenty of choice.Close to all amenities and shops.will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thanks, Robert, for your positive review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Suggestions for improvements are always welcome! Best Wishes, Janet. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014 via mobile

I have been going to the Cameo for 6 years now and every stay is as good as the first , Janet and her husband are lovely hosts and serve a great breakfast , it's not far from the tower ball room but far enough for it to have a relaxing atmosphere , would recommend highly to all friends and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay! Things have been pretty hectic this year, so it's nice to hear that we have managed to maintain our standards over the years, especially towards the end of a particularly busy season! More 

Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

So glad we decided to stay at the cameo , Janet was very accommodating and the hotel was very clean and well maintained . would definitely recommend it and stay there in the future .we had a lovely break in Blackpool made all the better by our stay with Janet . Breakfast was great ,beds were comfy and bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! It's always nice to know that people appreciate our efforts. More 

Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Cameo for two nights and it's the best hotel I've stayed at in Blackpool. No complaints at all, you get a great deal for your money and I will happily return and reccomend this accomodation to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments Paul. Pleased you had a good weekend! Welcome back any time! More 

Rimini
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

Like one of your other reviewers I tend to go by Tripadvisor reviews. When I looked at the reviews for The Cameo I noted that instead of having a mixture of positive and negative reviews, it mainly had very excellent reviews, which is the reason I went ahead and booked. We and the friends who also booked there on my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Hilary. I previously didn't know anything about the Argentine Tango Festival but was fascinated to hear about it! (Where's the nearest class?!) I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our facilities. You and your party are welcome back anytime! More 

Stafford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

So many bnb's to choose from in Blackpool so I do tend to go by the reviews on Tripadvisor....thankfully they were spot on! An extremely accommodating hostess, spotlessly clean rooms, fab shower and yummy breakfast all contributed to a good experience here. Will return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet D, Owner at The Cameo, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words! It's good to know that people appreciate our food and facilities! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

8 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#10 of 74 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#42 of 74 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belroy Hotel
Belroy Hotel
#47 of 74 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rutlands Hotel
Rutlands Hotel
#240 of 912 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hornby Villa
The Hornby Villa
#60 of 912 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waves Hotel
Waves Hotel
#7 of 912 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay