We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Hotel

57 Clifton Drive | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1NT, England
Hotel amenities
The Royal Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #330 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015
thomas n Liverpool, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    56
    16
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
32
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Great warm welcoming peaple first trip away with partner find it hard to meet new people and they made me feel welcome and comfortable great place for couples and family's and prices are more than reasonable ...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We have just come back from an excellent few days at The Royal Hotel. We were met with great enthusiasm and after a trip into Blackpool saw the new year in with Clare and the family. With karaoke, bingo and games for the children plus lots of generous prizes and lots of dancing we were thoroughly spoilt. This family hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
patblackpool, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for making our New Year a great one, see you all soon More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Thanks again clare and staff for a great weekend can't fault your hotel absolutely spotless the three rooms were perfect and the bar great prices anyone looking for a family hotel its a must its near the pleasure beach and away from all the hustle an bustle its a hundred yards from south tran station as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
patblackpool, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Great to see you all again & thankyou just received a beautiful card and Ian says thankyou for his gift and cannot wait to get to the shops. Hope Buzz is well and have a great Christmas to you and your family More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

1st impressions count and Claire made an excellent impression before we even started our break as we had to reschedule our dates due to unforeseen circumstances which was sorted with no hassle what so ever! We arrived Friday lunchtime and parked onsite with ease and popped in to reception and was welcomed by Claire who informed us our rooms were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
patblackpool, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for your nice comments, we loved having your family stay and we look forward to seeing you all in the future. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

We have just come back from spending a lovely weekend at this friendly, family run hotel. There were 4 adults and 2 children ( aged 8 and 4) in our party and the welcome we received was excellent. Claire was helpful from the word go offering advice on where to take the children. After a busy time in Blackpool itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
patblackpool, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments we hope to see you all again soon, glad you had a good time. More 

Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

we decided to go here as all the reviews were so good, we wasn't bothered by the dated decor, but the heating was unbearable, the room was dirty, yellow stains all over the sheets my daughter wet the bed the first day we were there and we left the sheets on the floor to be changed, well when we got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
patblackpool, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

If so dirty why then after paying the deposit of only £25.00 did you not leave straight away, but you did not leave after 1st night nor the 2nd not even the 3rd or the 4th you stayed all 5 nights. When on 1st night your daughter of 8 wet the bed you said you did not bring suitable night... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

My husband and I stay at the Royal when we are in Blackpool visiting our family. The Royal delivers cleanliness and comfort at a reasonable price and the hospitality is fantastic! Clare and Michael keep us coming back year after year. Very friendly, warm atmosphere in a good area. Walking distance to the pleasure beach! Do not be fooled by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
patblackpool, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Hi to all your family great to see you all again Clare, Michael & Ian More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Room small for a family room ,dirty behind the beds and cupboards,obe electrical socket,on the floor dangerous for young children when the kettle is on,tv unwatchable due to unadjustable wall bracket,light above bed didnt work...but they did supply a lamp.......parking advertised as available.......after negfa argynent they allowed parking away from htl at owners house 500 mtrs away....corridoor doors bang at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
patblackpool, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Car parking is free and not reserved we try to park all guests but expect them to be civil and not to be aggressive and push by people instead of listening to what is being offered, I was told that this is what happens every time you go away. As for door bangs the only ones heard were from yourself... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

From start to finish we had a great stay clean,friendly hotel, no stag or hen parties just family's or couples. We needed a dog friendly hotel and again 5 star nothing was too much trouble, breakfast brilliant,staff could never do enough thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

We arrived in Blackpool on the first leg of our honeymoon and shopped around a few places to stay before settling on the Royal. It was a really lovely warm welcome, and the room was nice and clean, with a small but well-appointed bathroom. What really sold me though was the 4-poster bed! We had a really nice stay here... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay