We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phildene

Certificate of Excellence
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
5-7 St Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Announcement
Special Deal 10% Discount
Phildene
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #191 of 910 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014
adysheff
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    22
    4
    6
    8
See reviews for
21
68
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (144)
  • Mar-May only
    (26)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (46)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (70)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

My title is to redress the review below which I find confusing! This weekend a number of delegates from the Unison National LGBT conference have stayed at this hotel and I found the owners welcoming and friendly. The room was spotless and warm and the bathroom has the best selection of toiletries of anywhere I have ever stayed. Breakfasts were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi adysheff , Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor.com, it was a pleasure to meet you and your colleagues and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future when your in Blackpool. Kind Regards John & Lorna More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

john and lorna were very welcoming on our arrival of our honeymoon and very helpful throughout the stay. the room was immaculate and snow white towel changed every day . the breakfast was great with loads of choice on the menu would defo stay here again and recommend to me it was a 5 star

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Folks , It was a pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.com they are appreciated. Regards John & Lorna More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Booked a last minute weekend away here and we're so glad we came across this hotel! We were very well looked after by John and Lorna and were immediately made to feel welcome. The room was very nice, clean and well presented. The breakfasts are worth staying here for alone! We would definitely look to come back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Jess, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments, we look forward to your return visit. Regards John & Lorna More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Although from outside it doesn't look special the inside of the hotel is lovely. Our room was beautifully appointed and little extras like wine and chocolates made it special. Shower room was immaculate as was the pure white bed linen and towels. Lovely place to stay, owners were very obliging, breakfasts good. Only down side was finding somewhere to park... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Sandra, Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again. Regards John & Lorna More 

county durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay they look after you really well the rooms are beautiful they have coffee maker and others facilities the breakfast are lovely plenty to eat john and lorna are nice people and they look after you really we'll going back next year love Sandra & Kevin from country durham

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Sandra & Kevin, It was a pleasure meeting you both, thank you for your comments on tripadvisor.com we look forward to your return visit. regards John & Lorna More 

Norfolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Stayed here a few weeks ago with the family for a short break. While everything is very clean it just didn't feel very special to us. Lorna is lovely and tries make you feel very welcome - unfortunately we couldn't say the same about Mine Host as the only time he spoke to any of our party was to ask... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Bungal, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com Sorry you were not happy with your visit to our great seaside town, your comments have been noted, As I did not see you apart from when you were checking in, I don't know when Iwas suppose to be able to talk to you. I... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here in September for two nights and had a lovely time. On arrival we were given advice on the best places to view the fireworks and how to get around easily. Everything was clean and tidy and the room was what we expected. Would definitely stay again on our next visit and reccomend to anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Folks Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com Your comments are Appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. Regards John & Lorna More 

Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

My first time to this B&B has been amazing. What a gem of a B&B it is. Lorna and John made myself, my partner and her parents very welcome from the start, even got a coffee and biscuits given to us on arrival. Bedroom was very comfortable and very well decorated and spotless. The breakfast we had was the best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Chris, Karan, John & Maureen, thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. we look forward to your return visit next year. Regards John & Lorna More 

Cumbria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

initially booked 4 superior double rooms but there was only 3 available so was given a free upgrade to a king. Then had to cancel 1 room due to one of our friends being ill. Be aware that they have a 30 day cancellation policy and you will have to pay in full if they don't re-let the room. Luckily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Folks, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com / your comments have been noted, all hotels B&Bs Guest houses have cancellation clauses in their booking procedures, this ensures we are able to offer fair rates. Our showers are not power showers but are gravity fed therefore have limited pressure. Thank you for your... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Just arrived back to scotland last night after our stay with john and Lorna. After being to blackpool over 20 times( love the fun) I found a hotel that's been my favourite. John and Lorna were fab! The rooms sooo clean and modern. Everything you need there. Breakfasts were amazing, all u want really! John and Lorna chatty and great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

Hi Lindsey & Peter, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to your return visit. Regards John & Lorna More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question