We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Phildene

Ranked #186 of 908 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
5-7 St Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Announcement
Best Deals
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Phildene
Professional photos
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    Write a Review

    144 reviews from our community

    Traveler rating
      104
      22
      4
      6
      8
    See reviews for
    21
    68
    2
    4
    Rating summary
    • Sleep Quality
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Location
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4.5 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (144)
    • Mar-May only
      (26)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (46)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (70)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (2)
    All months
    Senior Contributor
    27 reviews 27 reviews
    4 hotel reviews
    13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

    My title is to redress the review below which I find confusing! This weekend a number of delegates from the Unison National LGBT conference have stayed at this hotel and I found the owners welcoming and friendly. The room was spotless and warm and the bathroom has the best selection of toiletries of anywhere I have ever stayed. Breakfasts were... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi adysheff , Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor.com, it was a pleasure to meet you and your colleagues and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future when your in Blackpool. Kind Regards John & Lorna More 

    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    2 reviews
    2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

    john and lorna were very welcoming on our arrival of our honeymoon and very helpful throughout the stay. the room was immaculate and snow white towel changed every day . the breakfast was great with loads of choice on the menu would defo stay here again and recommend to me it was a 5 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Folks , It was a pleasure meeting you both. Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.com they are appreciated. Regards John & Lorna More 

    Leeds, United Kingdom
    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

    Booked a last minute weekend away here and we're so glad we came across this hotel! We were very well looked after by John and Lorna and were immediately made to feel welcome. The room was very nice, clean and well presented. The breakfasts are worth staying here for alone! We would definitely look to come back here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Jess, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments, we look forward to your return visit. Regards John & Lorna More 

    1 review
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

    Although from outside it doesn't look special the inside of the hotel is lovely. Our room was beautifully appointed and little extras like wine and chocolates made it special. Shower room was immaculate as was the pure white bed linen and towels. Lovely place to stay, owners were very obliging, breakfasts good. Only down side was finding somewhere to park... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Sandra, Thank you for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. it was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again. Regards John & Lorna More 

    county durham
    Senior Reviewer
    9 reviews 9 reviews
    7 hotel reviews
    10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

    We really enjoyed our stay they look after you really well the rooms are beautiful they have coffee maker and others facilities the breakfast are lovely plenty to eat john and lorna are nice people and they look after you really we'll going back next year love Sandra & Kevin from country durham

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Sandra & Kevin, It was a pleasure meeting you both, thank you for your comments on tripadvisor.com we look forward to your return visit. regards John & Lorna More 

    Norfolk
    Senior Contributor
    31 reviews 31 reviews
    15 hotel reviews
    24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

    Stayed here a few weeks ago with the family for a short break. While everything is very clean it just didn't feel very special to us. Lorna is lovely and tries make you feel very welcome - unfortunately we couldn't say the same about Mine Host as the only time he spoke to any of our party was to ask... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Bungal, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com Sorry you were not happy with your visit to our great seaside town, your comments have been noted, As I did not see you apart from when you were checking in, I don't know when Iwas suppose to be able to talk to you. I... More 

    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

    Me and my partner stayed here in September for two nights and had a lovely time. On arrival we were given advice on the best places to view the fireworks and how to get around easily. Everything was clean and tidy and the room was what we expected. Would definitely stay again on our next visit and reccomend to anyone... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Folks Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com Your comments are Appreciated and we look forward to your next visit. Regards John & Lorna More 

    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

    My first time to this B&B has been amazing. What a gem of a B&B it is. Lorna and John made myself, my partner and her parents very welcome from the start, even got a coffee and biscuits given to us on arrival. Bedroom was very comfortable and very well decorated and spotless. The breakfast we had was the best... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Chris, Karan, John & Maureen, thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. we look forward to your return visit next year. Regards John & Lorna More 

    Cumbria
    Senior Contributor
    23 reviews 23 reviews
    14 hotel reviews
    27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

    initially booked 4 superior double rooms but there was only 3 available so was given a free upgrade to a king. Then had to cancel 1 room due to one of our friends being ill. Be aware that they have a 30 day cancellation policy and you will have to pay in full if they don't re-let the room. Luckily... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Folks, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com / your comments have been noted, all hotels B&Bs Guest houses have cancellation clauses in their booking procedures, this ensures we are able to offer fair rates. Our showers are not power showers but are gravity fed therefore have limited pressure. Thank you for your... More 

    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    2 reviews
    1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

    Just arrived back to scotland last night after our stay with john and Lorna. After being to blackpool over 20 times( love the fun) I found a hotel that's been my favourite. John and Lorna were fab! The rooms sooo clean and modern. Everything you need there. Breakfasts were amazing, all u want really! John and Lorna chatty and great... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review

    Hi Lindsey & Peter, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we look forward to your return visit. Regards John & Lorna More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
    Owners: What's your side of the story?
    Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
    Manage your listing

    Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

    Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

    Additional Information about Phildene

    Address: 5-7 St Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
    Phone Number:
    Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
    Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
    Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
    Number of rooms: 14
    Reservation Options:
    TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, EasyToBook, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

    9 photo of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (1)
    Viewed
    Other (1)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (8)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (2)
    Viewed
    Other (6)
    Hotels you might also like...
    Check In Check Out
    Price Your Stay

    Amenities

    Highlights
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Breakfast
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    About the property
    • Non-Smoking Hotel
    Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    Room types
    • Suites
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    Internet
    • Free Internet
    • Public Wifi
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    Services
    • Free Breakfast
    Official Description (provided by the hotel)
    The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Questions & Answers

    Questions? Get answers from Phildene staff and past guests.
    Posting guidelines
    Typical questions asked:
    • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
    • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
    • At what time does the pool open each day?

    Hotels around Blackpool

    The Redstone
    The Redstone 5.0 out of 5, 286 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015
    Lyndene Hotel
    Lyndene Hotel 4.0 out of 5, 807 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Salendine House Hotel 5.0 out of 5, 88 reviews
    Last reviewed Mar 1, 2015
    Jesmond Dene Hotel
    Jesmond Dene Hotel 5.0 out of 5, 204 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 25, 2015
    Dering Lodge Hotel
    Dering Lodge Hotel 3.5 out of 5, 65 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 22, 2015
    Manor House Hotel
    Manor House Hotel 4.0 out of 5, 56 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 21, 2015
    St. Chads Hotel
    St. Chads Hotel 4.5 out of 5, 223 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 21, 2015
    The Lady Hamilton
    The Lady Hamilton 5.0 out of 5, 12 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 16, 2015
    Birch Villa Hotel
    Birch Villa Hotel 5.0 out of 5, 132 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 15, 2015
    The New Ryton Hotel
    The New Ryton Hotel 5.0 out of 5, 16 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 15, 2015
    Roselea Hotel 3.5 out of 5, 36 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 12, 2015
    Touchwood Hotel
    Touchwood Hotel 4.5 out of 5, 90 reviews
    Last reviewed Feb 11, 2015
    The Bluebell Hotel
    The Bluebell Hotel 5.0 out of 5, 107 reviews
    Last reviewed Jan 6, 2015
    Lyric Hotel
    Lyric Hotel 4.0 out of 5, 77 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 27, 2014
    Seaview Hotel
    Seaview Hotel 5.0 out of 5, 9 reviews
    Last reviewed Dec 6, 2014