We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 886 Blackpool B&Bs / inns

The Valentine

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   35 Dickson Rd, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Valentine to your Saves list
The Valentine
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #184 of 886 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Rachel W Chelmsford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (88)
  • Photos (14)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (19)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
28
40
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We went to the Hilton last year but this hotel offers everything the Hilton done and lots more. Breakfasts are amazing and rooms incredible and great value for money. Highly recommend this hotel to any couple, needless to say we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Executive Kingsize room, and we thank you for your comments. We look forward to meeting you both again in the future. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a one night stay here. Lovely, clean, comfy rooms. The whole hotel smells lovely and has a great atmosphere. We were made very welcome. Breakfast was fast and taste brilliant they definitely have it down to a tee! Great location and great price. The face wipes in my bathroom were greatly welcomed as I forgot mine! Thank... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind remarks, they are greatly appreciated. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of our rooms have now had fans supplied to them. More

Edinburgh
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

just returned home after a 2 night stay at the Valentine hotel, what can I say, wonderful friendly host, spotless room, and the breakfast was amazing. will certainly stay here again. Thanks for a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

We are both delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us last week. It was a pleasure to meet you both, and we hope that we have an opportunity of seeing you back with us again in the future. More

Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful stay in this perfect B&B - a little oasis in the heart of Blackpool!! Owners Steve and Tony made us feel immediately at home and kept us entertained throughout our stay. Rooms spotlessly clean and well equipped - hot drinks & biscuits very much appreciated as well as the complimentary toiletries in the bathroom! Bed linen and towels pristine.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased that your visit to Blackpool with your daughters was so good. We hope that your trip back home was uneventful, and that we see you all again in the future. More

scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our recent four night stay at the Valentine was very enjoyable. Tony and Steve are excellent hosts - they are friendly, attentive, informative and professional. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and well appointed. The hotel was spotless and breakfast was great! We look forward to staying there again in the near future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

Many thanks for your comments. It was great to hear the Scottish twang here at the weekend, made me feel homesick. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My family stayed at the Valentine end of May 2014 and have to say that the owners Tony and Steve are a pleasure. Looked after us so well and nothing was to much trouble. It was great to have a lovely family room and also know the hotel is looked after in every way, attention to detail is most definitely... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Its a pleasure to know that the family room came up to your expectations. We look forward to seeing you all again in the future. More

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for three nights mid week. The Hotel was lovely and clean, the food was cooked to perfection too, I'm missing our breakfast already. Our hosts were really friendly and full of info, if you need to know of a restaurant or attraction to visit, they have all the info for you even give you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

Its good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you here last week, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

My daughters and I stayed here saturday, Sunday. ..Monday early May. We found the hotel spotless. Our room was the same . However welcoming I feel it was not. overwhelmed at greeting with rules and door management. my main complaint was the shouting at by one of the managers at 10.30 on the Monday. He banged on the door and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and a pleasure it was to meet you all. We are disappointed that you did not find the welcoming to your liking. We only have a few points that we wish our guests to keep to: 1. Breakfast. We ask our guests to come down for breakfast between 0900 and 0930. 2. Keys. We do... More

newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I wouldn't give this a bad review because there was nothing wrong with the place, yes the room and bathroom were small and it had a funny smell but we weren't spending much time in there so this wasn't an issue, the assistant was very helpful with local knowledge and was happy to chat to us, however I can also... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not appreciate the potential of our establishment for your one night booking last weekend. Your aggressive manner when you arrived, demanding to know where to park when the door was opened to you, without introducing yourself, was rather perplexing. You were offered the choice of rooms when booking in, one which was on the... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Room beautifully clean and inviting with crisp and dazzling white bed linen. Bathroom sparkling clean with lots of towels and large shower cubicle. Breakfast lovely and atmosphere friendly and warm. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits provided. Would recommend to everyone and will definitely be staying there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthony P, Owner at The Valentine, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to be able to have your company last weekend, and we hope that your sore feet have recovered. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when your in Blackpool for the Northern Soul weekends. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Valentine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Valentine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Valentine

Address: 35 Dickson Rd, Blackpool FY1 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Valentine 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your The Valentine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Valentine Hotel Blackpool

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cozy traditional accommodation, all rooms en-suite with refreshment facilities, televisions and serviced daily. Comfortable lounge with bar and daily newspapers for you to relax in. Separate dining room offering choice of breakfasts. We only cater for couples and familes, and do not accept bookings from any single sex groups. We like to provide warm comfortable accomodation in a quiet environment, away from the hustle and bustle that Blackpool can provide. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
11

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer