We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 72 Blackpool hotels

The Ambassador Hotel

332-334 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Ambassador Hotel to your Saves list
The Ambassador Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
63%
Ranked #58 of 72 hotels in Blackpool
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
brad4d_traveller Bradford, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (203)
  • Photos (78)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (36)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    61
    24
    24
    29
See reviews for
42
79
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

For the money I wasn't expecting much but this hotel was horrible. I had to ask them to change my sheets on arrival as the ones on the bed were dirty and stained. Location wise its as good as anywhere else and close to a tram stop but that is literally all that this hole has going for it. Little... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You TommyT200 for your comments. Although your sheet may have had a laundry mark on it i can guarantee it was clean. You mention we have little to no parking, absolutely laughable. We have parking for around 20 to 22 cars & best of all its FREE! If our car park wasn't suitable for you then you should have... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our stay at The Ambassador far surpassed expectations as we were originally disappointed to be transferred here as a result of an overbooking at nearby New President Hotel, where we had originally booked and stayed at before. However having enjoyed the hospitality at the Ambassador we will definitely be returning and only wish we had discovered it before! The hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

We're all really glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Ambassador & thank you for taking the time to review us! Its much appreciated. Mathew Greenwood More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here 15th August for one night and wouldn't stay here again. Draft coming from window room was cold, bed un comfy the bath wasn't clean and the shower didn't work right also we didn't have a key for the front door we only had a key for our room door so when we came back from our night... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What can i say? Apologies for the windy weather, the heating was switched on all you had to do was turn on your radiator in your room. Its unusual that you didnt have a frontdoor key on your set & have now made sure all keys are right, apologies again for this mistake. Mathew Greenwood More

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay at lots of hotels all over the country and we are generally happy with a hotel if the room is clean no matter how basic it is. We also believe in 'you get what you paid for', but on this occasion, the room was not what we paid for, nor was it up to a standard that should... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. I have to disagree with your comments about the cleanliness of my hotel. After you gladly departed with a full refund, i inspected your room & bedding and quite simply i couldn't fault the cleanliness. The room was re-let that very evening to a lovely couple & received no complaints. Had you opened the windows vertically... More

Wishaw, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights very clean and tidy staff were very helpful breakfast was amazing buffet style plenty to choose from great location would defo go back ample car parking spaces goo bar prices

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mathew G, Owner at The Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Mathew greenwood More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Room was dirty carpet smells base of beds were absolutely disgusting smell in bathroom was horrendous when running water no electric on the sat night and Sunday morning on leaving no lift working so had to struggle with cases down 3 flights of stairs telly didnt work curtains hanging off the pole its got to be the worst hotel iv... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was actually booked on a National Holiday to stay at the nearby New President Hotel but on arrival I was told the hotel was overbooked so therefore I had been rebooked into the Ambassador. (However a different member of staff told me two rooms had water damage so not sure of the truth there). I wouldn't have booked this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
scarborough
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in,I cannot see any pics on here of the room we stayed in (301 I think it was) but it faced a brick wall and maybe is only used when rest of hotel is booked up.The floor was so uneven in our room especially in the bathroom,it looked like subsidence it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Had a good stay at the hotel the check in wasn t good to start with.They couldn't find the keys for the room that I was allocated was nt the best welcome to start with. They allocated us in another room which wasn't very nice at all. I asked if it was possible to change the room and without any... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed at the Ambassador previously we knew what to expect, granted it was a very cheap room booked at the last minute, but it was very dirty, the bath was full of hair, and shavings! The shower head was disgusting and water barely came out, thick dust on back of toilet and dirty cups! I expected budget but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Ambassador Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambassador Hotel

Address: 332-334 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Blackpool with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the prestigious north Promenade The New Ambassador Hotel offers guests a comfortable and relaxed stay in Blackpool. We are within walking distance to the town centre, under a mile away from the tower and 5 seconds from a tram or bus stop. We have many rooms all of which are en-suite and have a TV, full sized ironing board, welcome tray, shampoo & body wash and fluffy towels. We have irons, hairdryers and a range of different items available at reception. We Look Forward To Welcoming You :) ... more   less 
Number of rooms
28

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer