We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Windermere hotels

Hillthwaite House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Summer Offer £139.00
Save Saved
You added Hillthwaite House Hotel to your Saves list
Hillthwaite House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
cab3g Brighton
  • Overview
  • Reviews (690)
  • Photos (203)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (183)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    156
    57
    36
    16
See reviews for
49
504
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel with great views! The hotel staff were very accommodating and saw to our every need! The hotel and rooms were exceptionally clean and we couldn't wish for a better base to explore lake Windermere from! We loved the fact that the hotel was on the outskirts of town as it got us away from the crowds but yet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Couldn't have selected a better hotel in Windermere! My partner and I came here for a quick weekend break, and booked through Secret Escapes at the last minute. We had selected the Superior room with lake view for two nights. We were accidentally double booked, but the staff at Hillthwaite were wonderful and very quickly rectified this error by booking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
66 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went based on a recommendation from my parents and were a little disappointed. everything was Ok and all the staff were friendly but everything just felt ok as opposed to being anything special that said my parents stay regularly and always really like.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have many guests who arrive on recommendations from friends and relatives so we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We certainly aim to offer the best in hospitality and want to make all of our guests feel welcome and special. We are sorry that you felt that we hadn't achieved it... More

southwest
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite disappointing as a Hotel, expensive for what it is,first night was great the service in the restaurant was excellent even though they were very busy,hoever this changed on the second and third night once we had complained that the shower screen leaked all over the bathroom floor every time we used it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have now fixed the shower screen and apologise for the lack of service in the restaurant on your remaining two nights. This is indeed totally unacceptable and we have spoken to the restaurant manager regarding this matter. I do hope you will visit us again in the future. More

Barnsley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for our honeymoon 10years ago and then again in June this year, the hotel has had some refurbishment, we had a gorgeous room with a lake view, it had a large comfy bed and corner jacuzzi and separate shower cubicle, settee in front of the window and large tv. Jade on reception was really friendly and helpful,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Jade is also delighted by your good comments which I am sure she will tell us about over the next few weeks!! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillthwaite soon. More

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

our stay at this hotel was very pleasant and the staff where very helpful . the room ( No 11 ) was perfect and had a lovely view of the lake.After the evening meal sitting on the terrace with our coffee was very relaxing and peaceful .the dinner menu was well thought out and the food was very well presented... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and we are so pleased that you choose to spend your wedding anniversary with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 2 night break at the hotel which incorporated a lake view room, evening meal with one bottle of free wine, tea and scones on arrival and two breakfasts. Our room was a tad on the small side but perfectly acceptable, it was very clean with a big comfy bed. Our bathroom benefitted from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I apologise for the wait in between courses which I will of course mention to all the restaurant and kitchen team. We will improve on this as this is unacceptable. Thank you for mentioning the staff and we look forward to welcoming... More

Burntwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel on the 3rd and 4th June and I believe it best to summarise our views by reproducing the letter I subsequently wrote to the hotel: Dear Sir, As a treat for my 75th birthday, my daughter booked me and my wife, plus herself and her husband, a two day stay in your hotel on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for your review and I can only apologise if you did not receive the response that was posted to you. We always reply to every guest's comments especially when it is regarding their stay. I do, however, have a feeling that you mixed up the room types as both of the rooms in which you stayed are... More

Chorleywood
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful Windermere hotel overlooking the fells on one side and the lake on the other. Spectacular views, very comfortable bed in large room, first class dining and friendly staff. We hired an electrically motored boat for 2 blissful hours and had a really great time. Later we visited the Beatrix Potter attraction, fascinating for both adults and children alike. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic title! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and discovered some of the local attractions that Bowness has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

guisbough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room dark and needs up dating overlooked a hedge and car park. The food poor veg cold and not cooked enough,, our seat in dining room right next to kitchen surrounded my cooking smells frying and vegetables followed by shout of service , which of course meant door opening and closing as staff went in and out hence constant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SOUTHLAKER, General Manager at Hillthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I was very disappointed to hear about your dining experience. Please rest assured that we will speak to our kitchen team and I apologise for the noise from the kitchen. It does not bode well for your overall dining experience. We are having a revamp of the dining area at the end of the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hillthwaite House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hillthwaite House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillthwaite House Hotel

Address: Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hillthwaite House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hillthwaite House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillthwaite Hotel Windermere
Hillthwaite House Hotel Windermere, Lake District

203 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (189)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#9 Romantic Hotel in Windermere #11 Family Hotel in Windermere
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
You will find Hillthwaite House Hotel is the most ideal accommodation for all types of breaks including short breaks or for use as a base for your walking holiday in the Lake District National Park. Impeccable service and comfort, lovely food sourced from local produce, friendly, attentive staff and the many guests that return to us time after time speak for itself. For Lake District Hotels please look no further than Hillthwaite House Hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
34

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer